We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful”
Review of Casa Olea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Olea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Our stay with Tim and Claire was just perfect - the only downside was that it was for just 3 nights - wish it had been a lot longer! I can only echo previous reviews - superb hosts, spotlessly clean, great and authentic Andalucian cooking (torron cheesecake was the best), fantastic views lying in bed and watching the swallows swooping. The walks were fab too and a range suitable for all abilities. Part of me wants to keep this place a secret so it doesn't become too popular but the other part of me feels that Casa Olea should be full every night of the year in return for the hard work Tim and Claire put into running this wonderful B&B. Can't wait to return. Inspiring!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CWils60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
There are newer reviews for Casa Olea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2011

It seems a little like carrying coal to New Castle to add another “Excellent” review to the ninety-one already posted. It’s just too bad that there’s not an even higher rating; Casa Olea certainly deserves it. All we can say is that our five day stay last week at Casa Olea exceeded our expectations in every way. The occasion was a family trip for ten of us: my wife and me, two daughters and son-in-laws, and four grandchildren (Ruby age 8 months, Annie 13, Timmy 15, and Marguerite 19 years old. On prior trips, we’ve rented a villa in Tuscany and stayed at a small hotel in Provence. Casa Olea combined the best of both worlds. Although we occupied just four of the six rooms, we felt like this was our home away from home. We also loved the fact that we didn’t have to shop for food and could return every evening to a casual cocktail hour and a terrific dinner, then after dinner drinks, conversation, and watching Real Madrid vs. Barcelona in the lounge.

Others have commented on the accommodations, the pool, the area, the food; all terrific. But it comes back to Tim and Claire who make it so special. Within minutes of arriving and being greeted by Tim, Claire and their Ruby, we knew that Casa Olea was a special place in every way. They seem more like friends than proprietors. Claire arranged the meals so there was always a vegetarian choice for our Marguerite. The only difficulty we had was having to decide each day what choice we would make for our appetizers and main course. Tim is a font of information about the area and an expert on the local wines, cheeses, birds and animals, restaurants, and most of all the walks and hikes in the area. His has detailed turn by turn walk guides that took us through back country as if he was accompanying us along with historical comments. And when we wanted to drive to Cordoba and Grenada for the day to see the Mezquita and the Alhambra, he told us where to park and suggested some great Tapa bars.

By the time we left, we all felt that Tim and Claire were friends and certainly hope that they’ll some day accept our invitations to visit us in the States.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hughw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We said we would be back - and this time we went with friends taking over the whole hotel for a long weekend. Tim and Claire were the perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome. The food, wine, fino, rooms, ambience, location and service provided the ingredients for a simply wonderful and unforgettable "House Party". We have no doubt we will go back again and again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

This is a long overdue review for wahat was a highlight stay for our trip to Andalucia in September 2010.
Casa Olea is in a great location away from it all but close enough to get back to civilisation when you need it. The room we had was large and very comfortable, clean and well furnished. Casa Olea is incredibly clean and local craftsmen have added their personal touches making it a very special place.
Tim and Claire where very welcoming and very knowledgeable about the local area. Claire's cooking was excellent and included local trout with almonds from the almond tree outside our bedroom window.
The grounds around Casa Olea are perfect for hiking and exploring, including the climbs to the look out towers on the surrounding hills and the swimming pool is perfect for cooling off after a days sightseeing.
The Casa is perfectly located for visiting Granada and Cordoba and easily accessible from Malaga.
Many thanks for a great 4 day statr to our trip, the only downside was that nowhere else we stayed in Andalucia was as good as Casa Olea!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stegrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Casa Olea is a retreat away from all the insanity in life. Off an unkempt road, this little hamlet will provide you all the rest and relaxation you can ask for. Yet, it's very close to Granada and Cordoba, so culture and civilization is not that far off. The house itself is clean and brand new. The rooms are simple, but comfortable and cozy. The bedding was plush and gave me and my wife some of the quietest, restful sleep we ever had. At night, there isn't a light besides the stars and the moon. All you'll hear is the occasional owl hooting and the brook running behind the house.

As great as the house is, Tim and Claire (and, of course, Ruby) are really what make Casa Olea a wonderful place. Both are so hospitable and welcoming, my wife and I felt like we were coming home. Dinner is at 8:15ish, and Tim would host a little olive oil tasting or a short cocktail hour before dinner. Claire's cooking was really off the charts, but she's so humble and won't dare admit how good she really is. If or when you decide to take those trips to the cities, they'll show you where the sights are and what the easiest routes are to get there.

The grounds around Casa Olea are great for hiking and exploring rural Andalucia. We took Ruby, their adopted dog, on a hike, and she helped "guide" us through the trails. She's a great little companion to have around or to just watch romp around the grounds. We stayed at Casa Olea just 2 nights, but we wish it were for more. When we go back to Spain, we'll definitely stop back at Casa Olea. If you want a rural getaway in Andalucia, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank humpday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Tim and Claire's welcome at Casa Olea couldn't have been better. Within an hour we were out on mountain bikes, cycling to a great bar that they had called ahead to, to ensure they knew we were coming. On the next days we walked, following their routes, taking their dog - thoroughly brilliant. Chilling out in the afternoon sunshine upon our return was fab, a few beers (honesty bar) and then dinner cooked by Claire and a nice bottle of quality wine. The room was delightfully comfortable with good eco credentials too. An all round wonderful stay - so much so that we are going again in April - the first time that we've ever done that!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaywaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We went to the hotel last year and enjoyed it so much that we went back with a group of friends again this year (as a house party) and took over the hotel for the weekend - six double rooms. Tim and Claire ( the owners) look after you so well and you feel that you feel like a pampered house guest. Breakfast (Continental) is included and dinner is provided at very reasonable cost and Claire is an excellent cook.
Both are excellent hosts and Tim is able to provide good advice on locations to visit, where to park and good places to eat. Although in a quiet location the hotel is well placed for day visits to Cordoba (for the Mesquita) and Grenada (for the Alhambra) and there are many small interesting villages and towns roundabout and if you like walking there are some good walks in the area. Having returned we enjoyed the experience even more and we will be returning again in the future.

Room Tip: A taste or real spain.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbryanmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Priego de Cordoba
5.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Paloma...
#2 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
109 reviews
24.9 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
8.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
#1 of 2 in Zuheros
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hospederia la Era
Hospederia la Era
#1 of 3 in Almedinilla
209 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hacienda Minerva
Hacienda Minerva
#2 of 2 in Zuheros
283 reviews
5.1 mi away
Casa Banos de la Villa
Casa Banos de la Villa
#1 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Olea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Olea

Address: Carretera CO-7204 | Parcelas 115 y 116, 14800 Priego de Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Priego de Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Priego de Cordoba
Price Range: £105 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Granada and Cordoba, ideal base for day trips to the Alhambra and Mezquita. Great for olive groves, mountains, walking, home cooking, relaxing, wildlife and nature. Charming Andalucian cortijo (farmhouse) with indulgent touches: under-floor heating, a/c, super-king beds, Egyptian cotton bedding, pool, bikes for hire. Home-cooked evening meals using locally-sourced, fresh, seasonal ingredients. Good selection of Spanish wines. Strong green credentials: 100% of heating/hot water from biomass boiler & solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Olea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Olea Hotel Priego De Cordoba
Casa Olea Spain/Priego De Cordoba, Province Of Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing