We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return!”
Review of Casa Olea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Olea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Casa Olea was recommended to us by friends and it was a recommendation we were so fortunate to receive! The farmhouse has been fantastically restored by Tim and Claire, to create a calm, friendly and stylish environment. We were planning to spend our evenings exploring the local towns, but after a fantastic meal on the first night we had no intentions of being anywhere else for dinner but on the Casa Olea terrace - after some very rich tapas before arriving it was great to enjoy delicious and nutritious food, and in such fabulous surroundings. Tim and Claire have created a wonderful atmosphere at Casa Olea, we really enjoyed chatting with them and the other guests and our trip was much enriched for it. We hope to be back soon and are so grateful for the recommendation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HELEN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

We have just returned from our third vist to Casa Olea - I think we ran out of superlatives writing on this site about our first two visits, but I shall do my best! This was a particularly lovely time to visit, still warm enough to lie by the pool, but just right for walking through the breathtaking local countryside, with the lanes around the casa bursting with ripe pomegranates, figs and quince. Lovely Ruby (the Casa Olea dog and tour guide) was as ever delighted to show us her new favourite walks from the door, taking us to the bronze age hill fort with 360 degree views from the top, a very dramatic gorge , and a river walk - just a few of the many walks in the surrounding countryside. Food as always superlative, evenings on the balcony under the stars, the warmest welcome imaginable and fantastic cocktails (Tim even got me to overcome my lifelong dislike of PImms with his inimitable mixing skills - quite an achievement). This is the perfect place to unwind, deep in the countryside, but there are good local bars and restaurants, (almost entirely tourist free) in the local town a 20 minute drive away. We love Casa Olea with a passion - was it by mistake that we arrived home to find we still had our room key with us....? Yes, we are already planning a fourth trip......

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephfromlondon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Casa Olea was everything we had hoped for and more! Tim and Claire have created a beautiful small B&B in the most glorious setting. They are 2 delightful people who work hard to ensure their guests are very well looked after and nothing is too much trouble. We enjoyed our evenings with a glass of wine on the terrace, sharing experiences with fellow guests and eating lovely food freshly prepared by Claire. We had a delightful week and will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAT2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Casa Olea, nr. Priego del Cordoba, Spain www.casaolea.com
My husband and I recently came back from a 6 night stay at Casa Olea in Andalucia, Spain. What an absolute gem of a B&B.!!
Tim & Claire have done a beautiful job of converting and modernizing an old Andalucian farmhouse, into a very comfortable and serene place with 6 lovely en-suite bedrooms, in the middle of acres of olive groves. The spacious airy rooms have windows overlooking the olive groves and surrounding mountains, all with very comfortable king sized beds, and clean modern bathrooms. There is a nice terrace where drinks and an evening meal are served for those wishing to eat in, as well as a pool and tanning deck enclosed by a wooden safety fence.
The hosts are a delightful couple with a wealth of knowledge about the area, and are always on hand to offer great advice or suggestions for a day out. Granada and Cordoba are about 1 hrs drive from Casa Olea, and there are numerous interesting small villages nearby to explore. This is a great hiking and biking area for those more energetic folks.
The icing on this cake are the delicious 3 course evening meals that Claire offers her guests every evening. She is a wonderful chef and each meal we had was different, tasty, fresh and used all locally sourced products. These were some of the best meals we had in our entire 3 week trip to Spain. Our favorite times were meeting up in the bar each evening before dinner, and chatting with the other guests staying at the B&B, before heading out to the terrace for a truel delicious dinner and watching the sun go down behind the beautiful mountains. This lovely B&B was the perfect choice to use as a base for exploring this part of Spain, and Thank You Tim & Claire for helping to make our holiday so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for Membrillo room which was spacious and has amazing views from the two french doors/windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisewoman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Stayed at Casa Olea for 4 nights. in September. What a great find. Tim & Claire are charming hosts, with a passion for the area and the people. Clare is a great cook so do have your evening meals on the balcony overlooking the olive groves and watching the sunset. Take your walking shoes and Tims maps for some great walks. The gorge walk at Zuheros [4km] was facinating. Look out for Griffon Vultures.

Room Tip: North facing rooms have their own balony and good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inseka28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Tim & Claire make you welcome as soon as you arrive. The location is very rural - wonderful and calm, surrounded by olive groves and craggy hills typical of the Cordoba region. Tim & Claire are very knowledgeable of the local area and will help you find a walk, place or event to visit. In the evenings, stay at Casa Olea and spend an evening with the other guests enjoying the small but well stocked bar and wine list and Claire's exceptional home cooking.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedTicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This is a very special place that turned out to be one of those rare places that is everything you hoped it would be. We banked on the numerous, enthusiastic reviews on this site and reserved seven nights in late September. The reviews were right on the mark. This is a peaceful, rural location conducive to relaxation or exploration; take your pick. We did both. Cordoba, Malaga and Grenada are within 60-90 minutes. Priego de Cordoba, a little gem of a town that is worth a trip on its own, is only 30 minutes away. Or you can take a walk in the hills and groves with Ruby, the resident canine guide. Or you can lounge around the swimming pool with a novel, looking up every so often at the beautiful scenery.

Clair and Tim are the quintessential B&B hosts, smoothly ensuring your stay is everything you would want it to be, answering questions, making suggestions on your days in the towns. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The real surprise, however, is the cuisine. Claire does not get enough credit for the incomparable meals served on the terrace at sunset that invariably cap off an unforgettable day, just when you thought nothing could improve on what you had done. By the second or third day, you will come to realize that dinners at Casa Olea are a highlight, if not the highlight of your days in Andalucia and you look forward to them as much as anything else. Don't miss a dinner while you're there.

I think I can join many, many other reviewers in saying that this is probably the best B&B I have ever stayed at in my life ... If you have any desire to spend time in one of the most interesting and beautiful regions of Europe, this is the place to stay and this is how you should do it ...

Room Tip: They are all comparable and all good ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzfiend979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Priego de Cordoba
5.3 mi away
Hotel Museo Patria Chica
Hotel Museo Patria Chica
#2 of 4 in Priego de Cordoba
28 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Paloma...
#3 of 4 in Priego de Cordoba
116 reviews
5.1 mi away
Casa Banos de la Villa
Casa Banos de la Villa
#1 of 4 in Priego de Cordoba
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
La Posada Real
La Posada Real
#3 of 11 in Priego de Cordoba
38 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hospederia la Era
Hospederia la Era
#1 of 3 in Almedinilla
225 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Hospederia San Francisco
Hotel Hospederia San Francisco
#2 of 11 in Priego de Cordoba
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Olea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Olea

Address: Carretera CO-7204 | Parcelas 115 y 116, 14800 Priego de Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Priego de Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Priego de Cordoba
Price Range: £107 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Granada and Cordoba, ideal base for day trips to the Alhambra and Mezquita. Great for olive groves, mountains, walking, home cooking, relaxing, wildlife and nature. Charming Andalucian cortijo (farmhouse) with indulgent touches: under-floor heating, a/c, super-king beds, Egyptian cotton bedding, pool, bikes for hire. Home-cooked evening meals using locally-sourced, fresh, seasonal ingredients. Good selection of Spanish wines. Strong green credentials: 100% of heating/hot water from biomass boiler & solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Olea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Olea Hotel Priego De Cordoba
Casa Olea Spain/Priego De Cordoba, Province Of Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing