We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How could it be better than last time?!”
Review of Casa Olea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Olea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We returned to Casa Olea on 10th March 2012 for 6 nights having had a wonderful experience there in February 2010, shortly after Tim and Claire had opened their doors in late 2009. We knew from the commitment and passion they showed the first time that it would be more than a safe bet for much needed relaxation and recharging. This was our 4th visit to Andalucia so hammering round the sites was not on the agenda this time. For us it was about slowly exploring and taking in more of the local atmosphere. We were treated to fabulous weather for long walks with Ruby (Dog/guide/companion); sighting Eagles and other rare birds on their migration; local restuarants for tasty lunches (particularly La Fuente in Zagrilla Alta where the owner is an absoulute star and should have his own TV show); Claire's great cooking of local seasonal dishes in the evening accompanied by Tim's new finds of the pick of regional wines and Priego di Cordoba's tapas festival. We were supposed to have 2 nights in Malaga on the way home but were so chilled by day 3 that we asked if we could stay 2 more nights, which we did, making it a total of 8!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and the web site gives a true reflection of each of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandJCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

My wife and I have stayed in B&Bs literally all over the world and this beautiful, comfortable house is the best we have found, regardless of price. I have never written a tripadvisor review before, but Casa Olea warrants a special note. The location is stunning and the house is a wonderfully remodeled Andalucian farmhouse, but what really makes the B&B is the owners. Tim and Claire are gracious hosts with a passion for their work, the region, and the culture. They have achieved the difficult balance of being attentive and personable without being intrusive, making for the most relaxing visit we have experienced in years. We only stayed three nights and could have stayed many more. The location is easy to get to from any of the four major cities of Seville, Granada, Cordoba, or Malaga and well worth the short journey. You will not be dissappointed to stay here and you will be dissappointed to have to leave. Ensure to take advantage of the the owners' excellent local recommendations, their meticulously documented walks, knowledge of Spanish wines, local olive oils, and Claire's delectible dinners. Also, Ruby is a friendly, intelligent dog who will greet you warmly and happily act as your guide on walks around the property.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_traveler_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I love staying at B&B's/Inns. They add a unique "local" experience you can't find in chain hotels, plus you often meet delightful people. Casa Olea is now at the top of our list. Tim and Claire are truly gracious hosts. As others have said they do so much to make you welcome. More on that later in the review. We were at first uncertain about the Inn because the directions basically take you off the map. You come through the tiny town of Zamaranos via Tim's excellent directions. We found it quite funny to be told to make a left at the Almond Cooperative for instance. As we were driving through my son noticed a solo horse in the field and remarked "this is truly a one horse town". Most of the towns in the area are small but interesting, lots of castles, forts and squares. As we approached we could tell this was going to be special. We had come from the large city of Barcelona and the medieval town of Seville so to be out in the open air and countryside was a treat. It is a beautifully restored Inn, warm and cozy, we loved the fireplace in the winter. A special treat was the heated floors. We had two lovely rooms because we were travelling with our teenage children, both were so comfortable we wanted to take the beds with us. As I mentioned they are off the grid so the thought of no cell phones or internet was a bit of a shock but after day one it turned out to be really nice. Claire's gourmet dinners were enjoyed by all. It was a thrill to see my son try and love new foods he would not eat at home. We wound up eating there all three nights they were that delicious. The people we met only added to the experience, one of the pluses of staying at these types of accomodations. We wound up staying at the table late in the evening each night. Tim was excellent at giving directions, he soon realized our penchant for getting lost and made sure we knew our way going and coming. Among the highlights of our stay was the tour of the Olive Cooperative in nearby Zubetica where Casa Olea's olives are taken for processing. What a treat to see such an authentic part of Spain's history. The olive oil they produce is delicious, unlike any you would find in the States. When it came time to depart we were sad to leave, it felt like you were leaving family.. Although the rest of our time in Spain was wonderful, this portion of the trip really made the experience so much more. We can not wait to go back someday.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. Ours had a terrace which was very nice. I loved to wake up to the smell o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CBflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I thoroughly recommend this beautiful property set in a stunning part of Spanish countryside. Check the website for full information as it detailed and very accurate - casaolea.com. We visited in August for our first anniversary and had a wonderful time, so much so that we have booked to go again in May. We stayed in Membrillo, which is a lovely but they all seem very nice so we have agreed to try a different one in May at the suggestion of Tim and Claire.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimbhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

If you can get to Casa Olea while in the Granada-Cordoba area do not, we repeat, do not pass up this opportunity. You will love the charm and ambience of the place as well as the owners, Tim and Claire. Claire is a terrific cook so plan to eat your dinners there (breakfasts are included). Tim and Claire have mapped out very detailed hikes which give you awesome views of the area. The rooms are comfortable and the beds are wonderful. Tim even gave me a tour of the local co-op to see what happens to the olives after they are harvested. Their inn is in a beautiful, secluded area yet close to small, wonderful towns where you can enjoy the local flavor of the area. This is truly a taste of Spain you do not want to miss. We wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: No problem here ---all 6 are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keyessj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Casa Olea is a centrally-located B&B is you are visiting Andalucia. We (my husband, best friend and I) were originally going to hotel hop while in Andalucia and so glad de found Casa Olea. Instead, we stay 5 nights and had a genuinely unique experience for several reasons.

Number 1: The B&B proprietors and the location of the B&B were exactly what we wanted. Tim, Claire and their adorable dog Ruby provided the perfect balance of privacy and attentiveness. Many B&B's struggle at providing that balance but they have mastered it. Casa Olea is nestled among olive trees just outside the little town of Zamoranos. Its location is very serene and a wonderful setting for some rest and relaxation by their pool or just walking along the quiet dirt road. Ruby greats you as you drive up to Casa Olea....almost feels like you are coming home. Every morning before we would head out, Tim would have maps of the towns we were going to visit. He gave us parking tips, driving directions, restaurant recommendations...anything we asked and it all helped tremendously as we set out for the day. All of Tim's recommendations were spot on.

Number 2: The food at Casa Olea was excellent. Breakfast is included in the room rate and was a nice start to the morning. It consisted of cereals, greek yogurt, pastries, fresh fruit, ham, cheeses, and this wonderful tomato/garlic relish. Juices, milk, tea, coffee are also available. The spread is plenty to start your day of touring. Casa Olea also has dinner available for an additional cost and it is well worth the money. Each morning you choose from two starters and two main courses. This was often a difficult task because everything that Claire cooks is absolutely delicious. Claire is generally in the kitchen making all of the delicious food but comes out to great the guests. Also, if you have dietary restrictions (vegetarian), Claire has wonderful meals to accommodate you. Tim makes sure everyone has what they need whether its hot tea after a tiring day touring the sights or a perfect red wine from the region to a soothing after dinner drink of Pedro Ximenez to finish the night off perfectly.

Number 3: The guests at Casa Olea allowed us to meet very interesting people form around the world. During our visit we had folks fro Spain ,Ireland and Florida which provided a rich experience in discussing everything to world politics to food recipes. All guests typically stayed at Casa Olea for dinner therefore providing a wonderful opportunity to get to know each guest even better. Towards the end of our stay, we had dinner "Family Style"....one large table with everyone seated. Very enjoyable.

I can go on and on about our stay and as you can see from my review as well as others that Casa Olea is a perfect place to stay. Tim and Claire really have done a great job in making every stay a pleasure and an experience you will not forget. I highly recommend staying here!

One request of future guests.....bring back maps of the cities you visit to replenish Tim's map stash.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank athena381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Well, what can we possibly add to all the glowing reviews out there? Maybe that even 12 days at Casa Olea in October 2011 weren’t enough – we would have liked to stay even longer! Tim and Claire (and Ruby, of course) managed to surpass even our already very high expectations -– our holiday could not have been more perfect!

Apart from that, we can only affirm what others have already said... Claire and Tim are the greatest hosts imaginable: Fun, friendly and always there to help but never intrusive. Not only did they make us feel extremely welcome at Casa Olea but they also had a wealth of information about the surroundings and tips on where to eat / park etc wherever we were heading. Plus Claire’s delicious and imaginative home cooking - not forgetting Tim’s mixing skills at the bar - at the end of the day was something we were looking forward to every single day of our trip. There really is no need to eat out if you don’t especially feel like it, although nobody will give you the evil eye if you decide not to. We soon found that we didn’t want to miss a single dinner while we were there – the food really is that good – and it certainly seemed that the other guests felt just the same as we did. We really enjoyed the evenings mingling out on the terrace, with the amazing views and the bats flying by as darkness started to descend.

Everything at Casa Olea is just beautiful – you can really tell that a lot of thought has gone into everything down to the very last detail. The setting is also fantastic – far enough from everywhere to give you an amazing peace and quiet but close enough to give you plenty of things to do: trips to perfect little white villages in the immediate surroundings, great shopping at Priego de Cordoba just 20 minutes away, the impressive cities of Cordoba and Granada a little further afield and last but not least beautiful and varied walks in the surrounding countryside. With the walks we were spoilt for choice as Claire and Tim have created detailed descriptions complete with little drawings of the best places to go – the best of which were of course the ones leading directly from the house with Ruby as a guide! We also had the most amazing weather – waking up to clear blue skies every morning and nice and cool nights.

Last but not least, Casa Olea is a great place to just hang out and relax enjoying the peace and tranquility in the pool area or under the walnut tree and ordering Claire’s delicious platter of cold meats and cheese for lunch. We will be hard pushed to find such an amazing place elsewhere and are already trying to figure out how we can fit in another visit to Casa Olea!

Room Tip: We stayed in Almendro which is the biggest room and has windows to both sides - but we had a chance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Priego de Cordoba
5.3 mi away
Hotel Museo Patria Chica
Hotel Museo Patria Chica
#2 of 4 in Priego de Cordoba
28 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Paloma...
#3 of 4 in Priego de Cordoba
116 reviews
5.1 mi away
Casa Banos de la Villa
Casa Banos de la Villa
#1 of 4 in Priego de Cordoba
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
La Posada Real
La Posada Real
#3 of 11 in Priego de Cordoba
38 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hospederia la Era
Hospederia la Era
#1 of 3 in Almedinilla
225 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Hospederia San Francisco
Hotel Hospederia San Francisco
#2 of 11 in Priego de Cordoba
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Olea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Olea

Address: Carretera CO-7204 | Parcelas 115 y 116, 14800 Priego de Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Priego de Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Priego de Cordoba
Price Range: £107 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Granada and Cordoba, ideal base for day trips to the Alhambra and Mezquita. Great for olive groves, mountains, walking, home cooking, relaxing, wildlife and nature. Charming Andalucian cortijo (farmhouse) with indulgent touches: under-floor heating, a/c, super-king beds, Egyptian cotton bedding, pool, bikes for hire. Home-cooked evening meals using locally-sourced, fresh, seasonal ingredients. Good selection of Spanish wines. Strong green credentials: 100% of heating/hot water from biomass boiler & solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Olea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Olea Hotel Priego De Cordoba
Casa Olea Spain/Priego De Cordoba, Province Of Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing