We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE perfect place to host an Andalucian art tour”
Review of Casa Olea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Olea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“THE perfect place to host an Andalucian art tour”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Casa Olea is THE perfect place to host an art tour in Andalucia. We were a group of Australian & English artists wanting to visit the grand cities (Granada/Cordoba) as well as walk through ancient rural towns surrounded by olive groves and moorish towers. Tim & Claire prepared a well researched itinerary which included 2 wonderful drivers - both named Antonio - who know exactly where the best places are for creating art and enjoying spectacular scenery. We discovered authentic white villages such as Zagrilla and Zuheros and were treated to delicious spanish cuisine and long lazy lunches whilst village life went on around us. On other days Casa Olea prepared picnic lunches and briefed us about the local history and traditions before we set off hiking and drawing high up in the limestone mountains. At the beginning and end of the day Casa Olea has a swimming pool for relaxing or if inclement weather - afternoon tea by the log fire and a superb breakfast and dinner menu. Both Tim and Claire have extensive knowledge of the area as well as years of experience with tour guiding and I hope to return and discover even more about this intoxicating area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priscilla c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
292
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband Jimmy and I found a little bit of Heaven deep in the mountains in Southern Spain. So remote was it that the sat nav eventually became confused. The proprietors Tim And Claire had supplied us with written navigational instructions which proved priceless and we put the sat nav aside and looked for the little signs they had given us and that made all the difference. Having driven through thousands of acres of olive groves we arrived at Casa Olea to a rapturous welcome from Ruby the beautiful resident dog followed almost immediately by our host Tim who made us feel at home immediately. Claire arrived on his heels, so we had the most wonderful triple welcome. We had the Olivo room which faces west and has a large terrace overlooking the valley. The tranquility broken only by birdsong was something that's hard to come by. The hospitality of Tim and Claire was beyond compare and the meals were delightful and indeed the company of the other guests was special but unobtrusive. Our evening walks on the peaceful country roads always accompanied by Ruby, where we heard the first cuckoo of the season, was a tonic especially returning in the gloaming, the sun having set and the stars beginning to appear. Our too short a stay is a memory to be treasured and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends. Thank you Tim and Claire and all the best for the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be beautiful and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We spent a fantastic two days at Casa Olea exploring the beautiful area and getting a bit stewed on some well-sourced wine and sherry! This carefully restored house reflects the owners' (Claire and Tim) love of Andalucia and their enthusiasm for the local area was infectious! As well as taking a couple of walks in the late afternoon heat, 'herded' by Ruby the dog, we also spent a long day on the bikes leisurely (i.e. stopping regularly) peddling through the olive groves to nearby villages. It was perfect for blowing off the cobwebs and our jobs back home were soon forgotten! Back at la casa, Claire's cooking was wonderful and she effortlessly catered for our often awkward dietary needs! Both Claire and Tim have an amazing knack of being attentive but not intrusive or obsequious; we were made to feel so welcome that we had to fight the impulse to offer to do the washing up!

It was an unforgettable stay, not least because we got engaged whilst there! Not wanting to make a fuss, we sheepishly kept it quiet but by the next evening, fueled by delicious fino, we had blurted out the happy news to our fellow guests who kindly joined us in celebrating with some bubbles thoughtfully popped open by Tim and Claire on the house!

We highly recommend a stay here and second all the positive comments left by other reviewers! We hope to return there soon, at the very least to improve upon the crap drawing I left scribbled in their guestbook!

p.s. On arriving home we cracked open probably the most delicious olive oil we have ever had the pleasure to dip or drown stuff in. DON'T LEAVE WITHOUT SOME!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We have never stayed before in the southern Spanish countryside. We spent a week at Casa Olea which I will never forget so I'm writing my first review for trip advisor. Tim and Claire are the best hosts we've come across in many years of world travel. They are very relaxed and yet nothing is too much trouble. Their talents are complimentary. Tim is a former travel agent and Claire worked in the hotel trade. So there are many well mapped walks to go on and the food is cooked with the best of local ingredients. Finally the setting is idyllic, The Spanish have not, like the Italians, eaten all the birds so the area is alive with bird song and the sky at night clear of light pollution.From our bedroom window we watched the sun set behind the mountains and directly below our terrace there was an almond tree in flower and the Murray-Walker's olive grove stretching along the empty valley beside the river. We will certainly try to go back,

Room Tip: All the rooms are really nice but our room, Oliva, had a west facing terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyrena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We returned to Casa Olea on 10th March 2012 for 6 nights having had a wonderful experience there in February 2010, shortly after Tim and Claire had opened their doors in late 2009. We knew from the commitment and passion they showed the first time that it would be more than a safe bet for much needed relaxation and recharging. This was our 4th visit to Andalucia so hammering round the sites was not on the agenda this time. For us it was about slowly exploring and taking in more of the local atmosphere. We were treated to fabulous weather for long walks with Ruby (Dog/guide/companion); sighting Eagles and other rare birds on their migration; local restuarants for tasty lunches (particularly La Fuente in Zagrilla Alta where the owner is an absoulute star and should have his own TV show); Claire's great cooking of local seasonal dishes in the evening accompanied by Tim's new finds of the pick of regional wines and Priego di Cordoba's tapas festival. We were supposed to have 2 nights in Malaga on the way home but were so chilled by day 3 that we asked if we could stay 2 more nights, which we did, making it a total of 8!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and the web site gives a true reflection of each of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandJCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My wife and I have stayed in B&Bs literally all over the world and this beautiful, comfortable house is the best we have found, regardless of price. I have never written a tripadvisor review before, but Casa Olea warrants a special note. The location is stunning and the house is a wonderfully remodeled Andalucian farmhouse, but what really makes the B&B is the owners. Tim and Claire are gracious hosts with a passion for their work, the region, and the culture. They have achieved the difficult balance of being attentive and personable without being intrusive, making for the most relaxing visit we have experienced in years. We only stayed three nights and could have stayed many more. The location is easy to get to from any of the four major cities of Seville, Granada, Cordoba, or Malaga and well worth the short journey. You will not be dissappointed to stay here and you will be dissappointed to have to leave. Ensure to take advantage of the the owners' excellent local recommendations, their meticulously documented walks, knowledge of Spanish wines, local olive oils, and Claire's delectible dinners. Also, Ruby is a friendly, intelligent dog who will greet you warmly and happily act as your guide on walks around the property.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_traveler_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I love staying at B&B's/Inns. They add a unique "local" experience you can't find in chain hotels, plus you often meet delightful people. Casa Olea is now at the top of our list. Tim and Claire are truly gracious hosts. As others have said they do so much to make you welcome. More on that later in the review. We were at first uncertain about the Inn because the directions basically take you off the map. You come through the tiny town of Zamaranos via Tim's excellent directions. We found it quite funny to be told to make a left at the Almond Cooperative for instance. As we were driving through my son noticed a solo horse in the field and remarked "this is truly a one horse town". Most of the towns in the area are small but interesting, lots of castles, forts and squares. As we approached we could tell this was going to be special. We had come from the large city of Barcelona and the medieval town of Seville so to be out in the open air and countryside was a treat. It is a beautifully restored Inn, warm and cozy, we loved the fireplace in the winter. A special treat was the heated floors. We had two lovely rooms because we were travelling with our teenage children, both were so comfortable we wanted to take the beds with us. As I mentioned they are off the grid so the thought of no cell phones or internet was a bit of a shock but after day one it turned out to be really nice. Claire's gourmet dinners were enjoyed by all. It was a thrill to see my son try and love new foods he would not eat at home. We wound up eating there all three nights they were that delicious. The people we met only added to the experience, one of the pluses of staying at these types of accomodations. We wound up staying at the table late in the evening each night. Tim was excellent at giving directions, he soon realized our penchant for getting lost and made sure we knew our way going and coming. Among the highlights of our stay was the tour of the Olive Cooperative in nearby Zubetica where Casa Olea's olives are taken for processing. What a treat to see such an authentic part of Spain's history. The olive oil they produce is delicious, unlike any you would find in the States. When it came time to depart we were sad to leave, it felt like you were leaving family.. Although the rest of our time in Spain was wonderful, this portion of the trip really made the experience so much more. We can not wait to go back someday.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. Ours had a terrace which was very nice. I loved to wake up to the smell o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CBflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Priego de Cordoba
8.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
#1 of 2 in Zuheros
130 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Paloma...
#2 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
108 reviews
24.9 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Casa Banos de la Villa
Casa Banos de la Villa
#1 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
183 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hospederia la Era
Hospederia la Era
#1 of 3 in Almedinilla
197 reviews
5.1 mi away
La Posada Real
La Posada Real
#5 of 12 in Priego de Cordoba
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Olea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Olea

Property: Casa Olea
Address: Carretera CO-7204 (Zamoranos to Fuente Alhama) | Parcelas 115 y 116, 14800 Priego de Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Priego de Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Priego de Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Granada and Cordoba, ideal base for day trips to the Alhambra and Mezquita. Great for olive groves, mountains, walking, home cooking, relaxing, wildlife and nature. Charming Andalucian cortijo (farmhouse) with indulgent touches: under-floor heating, a/c, super-king beds, Egyptian cotton bedding, pool, bikes for hire. Home-cooked evening meals using locally-sourced, fresh, seasonal ingredients. Good selection of Spanish wines. Strong green credentials: 100% of heating/hot water from biomass boiler & solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Olea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Olea Hotel Priego De Cordoba
Casa Olea Spain/Priego De Cordoba, Province Of Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing