We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway”
Review of Casa Olea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Olea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

After spending over two weeks visiting several cities in Spain, our visit to Casa Olea was the perfect break from all the other tourists. Casa Olea is in a lovely setting among the olive orchards, and the B&B itself is amazing, much in the tradition of the white villages that are nearby. Tim and Claire are the perfect hosts, giving you their full attention when needed. These two Brits have become very much a part of their "neighborhood". As other reviews point out, Claire is an amazing chef. Dinners there were a favorite for me. Tim is a veritible wealth of knowledge of the surrounding areas. One of the best things about staying there is you are "forced" to get to know the other guests. Our first night there we all gathered on the balcony after dinner and swapped travel stories. It's also amazing to know that two couples were going to be spending two weeks there. I think that says a lot about Casa. Another nice thing about staying in this area are the local towns. Anywhere you go, you are going to be one of the very few tourists. No obnoxious peddlers, no tourist stores or kiosks, just the local flavor. I highly recommend going to the Olive Oil Museum in Baen. A couple of euros to get in, but you also have access to some excellent, yet inexpensive, olive oil. Easier and cheaper gift to take back home. Other highlights and bonuses of staying at Casa Olea are: Ruby the hike-leading dog, the refreshing swimming pool/pool area, large, beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, singing birds, quiet, restful nights
Definitely a place to go back to. It enabled us to recharge our batteries before our final push.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
288
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in early June 2012. Had an absolutely amazing time.

Tips:
* If you can, get up early and do the 4-5 hour hike through the canyon behind the village of Zuheros, then get lunch in the town itself - just a gorgeous, special location

* Unwind in the afternoon with Tim's Sherry/Fino-based cocktails infused with mint - delicious!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YGA_from_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

It is always a pleasure when you return to a special place and find that your expectations are matched, or even exceeded. We have just paid our third visit to Casa Olea, and are happy to report that its magic is just as seductive as it was the first time round. This is a very special hotel – small (only six bedrooms), comfortable, intimate and completely tucked away from the world. It sits amid olive groves alongside a meandering river about 2km outside the village of Zamaranos. Your companions in the outside world are principally birds, bats (at dusk), the odd passing car or tractor, the emerging stars in the darkest night sky and the inimitable Ruby, the Casa’s lovely dog who is always happy to accompany guests when they fancy a walk in the surrounding countryside. But it’s also very convenient for anyone intent on some serious sight-seeing. Granada and Cordoba are about an hour away, while Ronda, Ubeda, Baeza and Malaga are a bit further, but eminently do-able.

The charm of Casa Olea is directly attributable to the personalities of its owners – Claire and Tim. They are a delightful, hard-working and immensely helpful couple and guests quickly feel that they are being greeted as friends, rather than just clients. They are dedicated to running a ‘green’ establishment – water is heated by solar power, the swimming pool is filled from a local water source that is slightly salty which eliminates the need for heavy chemical dosing, the heating runs off a biomass boiler. Claire, who is a superb cook, sources all of her ingredients locally. Even the table water comes from nearby Jaen. Tim is a mine of information about the area: where to go, what to see, how to get there and (importantly) where best to park! He is also a wizard behind the bar – try the ‘new-this-season’ fino spritzer if you need a reviver after a long walk or a day’s sight-seeing.

The fact that several of the guests that we met during our stay were second-timers tells its own story. Once they’ve discovered it, people love going back to Casa Olea. We’ve just booked for holiday number 4. Actions, as they say, speak louder than words.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carduelis_Clayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Casa Olea is simply exquisite and manages to achieve the rare feat of exceeding heightened expectations. The property is beautiful, the rooms are lovely, the pool area stunning and the terrace for breakfast and dinner is wonderful. The owners Tim and Claire strike the balance perfectly between personal attention and unobtrusiveness which is rarely achieved. The standard of food and wine is excellent and well priced and dining on the terrace in the evening is both wonderful and memorable. Casa Olea is well positioned for day trips to Cordoba and Granada and the white villages and those who like walking are well catered for by excellent walking and very detailed walking guides provided. I've visited many similar establishments in Spain - this is the best.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JMB532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Following a visit in August 2011, we decided to visit again in May when the climate is cooler and the Andalusian countryside is a little greener. Once again we had a brilliant holiday. Some improvements to Casa Olea since our last visit include new bases for the beds, organic shampoos and body wash in the en suites, some comfy new deckchairs a replacement fence around the pool which gives a great view across the countryside. We stayed in Almendro, another beautiful room with views of the valley and to the front of the casa. We ventured on enjoyable trips to Granada, Cordoba and Baena - Tim's directions and tips on things to do and places to eat and drink were spot on as ever. When we weren't out and about we chilled out by the pool, hiked in the hills with Ruby the lovely house dog and indulged in Claire's wonderful cooking. Thanks to Claire, Tim and Ruby for another wonderful holiday!

Room Tip: Now stayed in Membrillo and Almendro - both lovely rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I recently visited Casa Olea with 9 other 'artists' to enjoy a memorable time in the Andalucian countryside. It was a wonderful experience in so many ways but staying at Casa Olea made it a trip not to be forgotten. The owners, Tim and Claire, were warm and friendly hosts providing great suggestions of things to do in the area and further afield if we wanted it. The rooms were all different and lovely in their own way. The food was delicious with Claire producing wonderful meals using local products. Every day brought a new adventure with walks in the mountains, sketching idyllic villages and lovely long lunches in enchanting local restaurants. If you're looking for a relaxing and peaceful place to stay then Casa Olea could be the place for you - surrounded by olive groves, ancient towers and interesting walks and drives in the area. Hopefully one day I might be able to return to enjoy more of Casa Olea's generous hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

our first stay here - the most expensive hotel in our holiday but well worth every penny - windows in the 'Granada' room open to views of olive groves and nothing else. Fabulously quiet except for bird song. Loved the green concept of Casa Olea - in particular the spacious shower,rain head faucet and a window that opened to the outside - how great is that? Comfy beds where I could have slept around the clock. Instead, we checkout some hiking routes using handy maps & route descriptions developed by Tim and Clair. Epic Subbetica day hiking, interesting local history, pictureque ruins, wandering sheep and goats. Very satisfying and relaxing part of our vacation. All this effort was enhanced by the evening meals, especially Clair's fabulous apple cake with olive oil icing - you have to try it. The olive oil we brought home from Casa Olea is a fitting reminder of Andalusian holidays. Hope to return and would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1hker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Priego de Cordoba
5.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Paloma...
#2 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Las Rosas
Hotel Las Rosas
#3 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
24.9 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
#2 of 2 in Zuheros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hospederia la Era
Hospederia la Era
#1 of 3 in Almedinilla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
5.1 mi away
Casa Banos de la Villa
Casa Banos de la Villa
#1 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Olea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Olea

Property: Casa Olea
Address: Carretera CO-7204 (Zamoranos to Fuente Alhama) | Parcelas 115 y 116, 14800 Priego de Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Priego de Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Priego de Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Granada and Cordoba, ideal base for day trips to the Alhambra and Mezquita. Great for olive groves, mountains, walking, home cooking, relaxing, wildlife and nature. Charming Andalucian cortijo (farmhouse) with indulgent touches: under-floor heating, a/c, super-king beds, Egyptian cotton bedding, pool, bikes for hire. Home-cooked evening meals using locally-sourced, fresh, seasonal ingredients. Good selection of Spanish wines. Strong green credentials: 100% of heating/hot water from biomass boiler & solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Olea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Olea Hotel Priego De Cordoba
Casa Olea Spain/Priego De Cordoba, Province Of Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing