We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty and charm”
Review of Casa Olea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Olea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Casa Olea stands alone in a beautiful landscape of olive groves- there are no other houses in view. Tim and Claire provide a perfect setting for a rural holiday, from the homemade jam at breakfast, to the extra virgin olive oil from their own trees, to the detailed walking advice with excellent instructions and maps- nothing is too much trouble. They even provide a delightful dog for you to walk if you're in need of canine company. We ate dinner there each night because it was so good, and the wine list was also excellent, and reasonable.
The style of the bedrooms is not luxurious- don't expect tea-making facilities or fancy toiletries- but they are comfortable and attractive with wonderful views out to the hills beyond.
I'm sure we will return, as so many guests clearly do.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2012

We spent the first few days of our honeymoon here and it was just what we needed - relaxing, peaceful, good food and good wine. Tim and Claire were great hosts, even keeping breakfast for us when we overslept on our first morning. They've got loads of local knowledge about walks, places to eat etc.

Our room had a great view along the valley, was spacious and had a very comfortable bed. It wasn't that warm when we were there so we didn't spend much time by the pool, but it would be a lovely place to relax in the summer months. The indoor lounge and dining room were equally nice places to sit and drink sherry.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Batpelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

If you are looking for a deep experience into the rural Andalusian
culture while living in luxurious elegance with a knowledgable English
staff, this is it. The olive farmhouse and setting were so remarkable
and spectacular that it was often hard to leave for an adventure outside
the place. But adventures there were, all carefully planned by Tim and
Claire. Tim was a former tour guide all over the world and is a first
class helper in planning trips, with carefully drawn maps and hints for
visiting towns or hiking the trails around the Casa or in the beautiful
natural park nearby. As was the case for most of the guests, we had
dinners in the Casa, because the food was excellent, as was the free
breakfast. We were most surprised by how good the roads were, even the
tiniest ones, except the one that goes by the Casa, and how clearly
marked they were. They put our roads in the USA to shame!

We were also surprised at the cleanliness of, not only the Casa, but also
of all the small towns and houses nearby. These people take a fierce
pride in their buildings and all are beautifully maintained. Another
surprise was the pool area at the Casa, which was not properly shown by
the picture online. It is a beautiful oasis, and the pool is quite large
and well maintained. Tim and Claire take special care to integrate green
technology in everything they do and to use only local merchants and
produce. As a result, they have built up much good will among the
Spanish locals. For example, when we drove to a nearby town (Zagrilla)
for lunch, Francesca, the owner, warmly greeted us when he knew we were
from Casa Olea and gave us a free aperitif after the meal.

The Casa Olea experience is not for everyone. Although Cordoba with its
old town and its magical Mezquita (cathedral in a mosque) is only an
hour's drive, Casa Olea is isolated, and night partying in bars is
improbable. So if you are seeking the bar scene, this is not for you.
But if you are seeking a true experience into the heart of olive country
with white villages nestled in hills, and Tim's incredible farm-made
olive oil, plus Claire's gourmet dinners, then this is the place for you.

Barton and Priscilla from upstate New York, October, 2012

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but the best are the ones with king (as opposed to twin) beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 505McLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We already had high expectations of a wonderfully relaxing break from the madness of London life, however our 4 night stay with Tim, Claire & Ruby completely surpassed all of them. Perfect hospitality; Tim and Claire strike the perfect balance of efficiency, attentive without being 'gushy' and highly knowledgeable about the local area and what it has to offer, 'text book'.

We both woke up after 10 am on our first morning at Casa Olea, I can't remember the last time I did this! A testament to both the comfort level of the room and the amazingly peaceful location. The following days were filled with Claire's delicious fare, local produce prepared beautifully, especially when eating out on the balcony!

As a keen cyclist this first visit to Casa Olea has sparked at least a handful of return plans to put some Spanish miles on my road bike. It was also great to catch up on some reading at the pool side.

Thanks again Tim & Claire, perfect company, perfect location, a la Arnold...'We'll be back'!

P.S Good luck with the Casa Olea olive oil project, we look forward to seeing them on the shelves soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic, I wouldn't suggest any of them over another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

This was our fifth stay in two years. The sixth is already booked.....says it all really! I ran out of superlatives a few reviews back but will do my best.... All the rooms are fabulous, we've stayed in four now and loved them all. Walks from the door through beautiful scenery with ruby trotting ahead, then back for an aperitif or five while the sun goes down and the swallows flit overhead. Cant think of a way i would prefer to spend a day. And of course Claire's fabulous cooking. Truly charming staff from the local village as well. We are smitten.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephfromlondon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We were also with the group of 8 for one week in September & the other two reviews pretty much said it all. Tim & Claire provided for our every need, including the best hair dryer I have used while traveling. Every day was wonderful and we especially enjoyed hiking with their dog, Ruby. Detailed directions were typed for a variety of hikes. We chose the easiest one which took us about 2 hours going up to an old watch tower. The view was incredible! Upon returning to Casa Olea, we were treated to a delicious lunch by the pool. This was a truly memorable vacation!

Room Tip: Our room was Olivo with a balcony that had small table & chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gfChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

What a wonderful stay for our group of 8 from 9/5-9/12! The house and property is just beautiful, tranquil and relaxing, and Tim and Claire are the perfect hosts. We took a day trips to various locations each day, and each was within a doable drive and Tim's directions and suggestions were so accurate! We visited Zuheros, Cordoba, Seville, Granada and Priego de Cordoba and allowed a day in between to hike the property, enjoy the pool (and a wonderful poolside lunch prepared by Claire) and just chill. We also enjoyed 3 nights of Claire's delicious dinners after our day trips, and after one of these dinners we enjoyed a Flamenco guitar and singing performance arranged by our hosts. Tim also gave us an olive oil tasting and lesson on how the oil is produced and graded...Casa Olea will be selling their own olive oil and we've ordered some. All the amenties were there, including wi-fi, and our hosts were so gracious and attentive to every need! I would highly recommend Casa Olea if you are visiting this area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alevi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Priego de Cordoba
5.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Paloma...
#3 of 4 in Priego de Cordoba
116 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Museo Patria Chica
Hotel Museo Patria Chica
#2 of 4 in Priego de Cordoba
28 reviews
8 mi away
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
#1 of 2 in Zuheros
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Casa Banos de la Villa
Casa Banos de la Villa
#1 of 4 in Priego de Cordoba
195 reviews
5.1 mi away
La Posada Real
La Posada Real
#2 of 11 in Priego de Cordoba
38 reviews
9 mi away
Hacienda Minerva
Hacienda Minerva
#2 of 2 in Zuheros
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Olea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Olea

Address: Carretera CO-7204 | Parcelas 115 y 116, 14800 Priego de Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Priego de Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Priego de Cordoba
Price Range: £106 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Granada and Cordoba, ideal base for day trips to the Alhambra and Mezquita. Great for olive groves, mountains, walking, home cooking, relaxing, wildlife and nature. Charming Andalucian cortijo (farmhouse) with indulgent touches: under-floor heating, a/c, super-king beds, Egyptian cotton bedding, pool, bikes for hire. Home-cooked evening meals using locally-sourced, fresh, seasonal ingredients. Good selection of Spanish wines. Strong green credentials: 100% of heating/hot water from biomass boiler & solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Olea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Olea Hotel Priego De Cordoba
Casa Olea Spain/Priego De Cordoba, Province Of Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing