We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Olea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Olea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Totana, Spain
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We live in Murcia, Spain....and every year we go across the border into Andalucia to celebrate my wife's birthday....in August....and over the last 10 years we know the Provence pretty well.
....we live off the beaten track....and we like to be off the beaten track albeit in a different location....just to enjoy another view and experience more of the Spanish culture which we love.
I was drawn to Casa Olea immediately from the reviews.... and it proved just right. The room we had was great....light and airy with air con which we are not used to....the whole house was so clean and airy....tastefully decorated with artefacts from Spain, Africa, and South America....and so clean....
.....the pool was immaculate with plenty of shade and beds for the few residents....and the meals were superb....all locally sourced with plenty of variety.....served on the patio as the sun went down over lovely views....
....Claire went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and happy....and gave us great advice as to places to visit, park and eat etc....in spite of her other half Tim and young son having to be away in the UK at the time. We wish we could have met them!
.....we went just to chill out for a few days....but if you want a quiet central location an hour from Granada, Coroba and so many more places to see in Andalucia....this is it.....enjoy!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emlyn8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
280
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Tim and Claire are impeccable and charming hosts who have lovingly converted an old olive mill in the countryside midway between Granada and Cordoba (about an hour by car from each). Both schooled in the hospitality industry, they are keen to provide a perfect experience for their guests and there is no doubt they will try to fix any problem you may have. Claire provided an exceptional alfresco dinner our first night which sits in our memory as one of the three best we ate in Spain.
So why not an 'Excellent' rating. I think as much as anything it's a function of what you want in terms of the mix of service, price, and environment. The price and extras are at city 4 star hotel levels (room EU115, meal aound EU30pp, beer EU3, Nespresso capsule EU1.50), though a fine and comprehensive breakfast is included. We were spoiled on our first day as we had the entire inn to ourselves, and in consequence lots of commentary and advice from Tim. The second day their six rooms were completely full with another couple and two families - one very large. The character changed and of course Tim and his helpers were more stretched - especially at breakfast when the practice of providing Bialetti coffee pots to each party proved a bit beyond their capacity to keep up. And of course the pool was now busier/noisier and there were kids playing with building blocks in the hallway at the foot of the stairs.
It's totally unreasonable to expect solitude for EU115 per night but I guess I am saying how you enjoy Casa Olea may depend on factors beyond anyone's control and on your own preferences.
Now to practical matters...
The bedroom is large but our twin beds were just the old standard 2'6" wide which seems pretty limiting in this age of excess. That may be because they seem to push them together to make a standard double if requested. The bathroom was fine with a good shower and a great window with a view over the pool. The bedroom had two french windows which provided good fresh air in the daytime but at night had to be closed unless you wanted a room populated with all sorts of flying insects. The internet worked very well in the house but not by the pool.
The inn is about 20 minutes drive from Priego de Cordoba which is a pretty town in the mountains. Restaurants may well be closed on Monday and possibly for much of August so call ahead if you have somewhere specific in mind.
On our first night we ate at Casa Olea and it was charming to have Tim point out the trees from which the olives and capers were picked, and to have cheese provided by the mother of one of the staff. They also bottle their own olive oil which is for sale and very fine.
If you want a peaceful retreat with top facilities, within striking distance of Cordoba and Granada (but not Seville), Casa Olea is well worth serious consideration.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SecretStreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Casa Olea is a really wonderful place to stay. The rooms and the whole building have been renovated to the highest standard, Tim and Claire are perfect hosts and produce delicious food. They also give excellent advice on places to visit, where to park, where to eat, all those little details that enable you to appreciate the superb attractions in the area.
Casa Olea is ideally situated to visit both Granada and Cordoba, a car however is essential unless you want just to relax and go for walks in the lovely surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACF196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Our second visit to Casa Olea, and just as impressed as the first time. A beautiful location, wonderful hosts and amazing food. Claire and Tim have thought of everything - great attention to detail and always happy to offer ideas for places to visit and walks to try (accompanied by their lovely dog Ruby!). Also great to meet their new baby - the very cute Max! We will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blindley Heath
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Casa Olea is simply marvellous. A beautiful, peaceful location. Excellent food, using local ingredients which were cooked to a exceptional standard. Claire and Tim have created a fabulous holiday experience, and are brilliant at helping you with places to visit. They have renovated the property to a very high standard and our stay was perfect. Sitting on the terrace, eating our supper, listening to the nightingales was just unbeatable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardBlindleyHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Casa Olea is such a lovely place to stay. Everything is wonderful and its difficult to imagine how it could be improved upon, although I can imagine Tim and Claire are doing just that all the time. Tim and Claire are the most wonderful hosts and look after each and every guest with care and consideration. The situation is perfect, tucked away overlooking olive groves, with the sounds of birdsong and a very occasional local car, and yet close to beautiful towns and cultural history. The walks are spectacular and Ruby the sweet resident dog will go with you, which makes the walk ever better. Each walk has been tried and tested by Claire and Tim and come with great directions and photo's to guide. Claire manages the kitchen and her cooking is amazing and the produce local and very tasty. We ate all our meals outside which was perfect and chatting with other guests around the pool and before supper made it a very social holiday.
Thanks for all the extra touches, a really special few days.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Casa Olea makes for a peaceful, relaxing home-base for travelers in search of a quiet escape in the beautiful Andalusian countryside. We were warmly greeted by Tim after a long day of travel. He immediately showed us to our room, which was very clean and comfortably decorated. We immediately showered and headed downstairs where we enjoyed one of Claire’s delicious dinners on the terrace as the sun was setting over the mountains. We thought her meals (we enjoyed two during our stay) were at least on-par with some of the top restaurants we’ve dined in Europe – and often better. Our meal paired well with a 2005 Tempranillo– one of the many good quality, regional wines that Tim stocks in-house. When we finally retired to our room, we were treated to a comfortable bed and fluffy pillows, which provided us some much needed sleep. In fact, we had to drag ourselves out of bed in the morning in order not to miss breakfast. We enjoyed visiting nearby white villages, including Granada and Cordoba, as well as lounging pool-side soaking up the picturesque scenery. Our visit wouldn’t have been complete without having Ruby guide us on a hike. No need to glance at the map that Tim and Claire provide when you’ve got Ruby by your side. Our one regret is that due to pre-booked reservations, we missed out on Claire’s paella. But this gives us one more reason to return.

Tim and Claire deserve the high praises they’ve received and we’re happy to echo them. Thank you for the memories!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mctp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Priego de Cordoba
5.1 mi away
Huerta de las Palomas
Huerta de las Palomas
#2 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
25.0 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
5.3 mi away
Hotel Las Rosas
Hotel Las Rosas
#3 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel Zuhayra
Hotel Zuhayra
#2 of 2 in Zuheros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hospederia la Era
Hospederia la Era
#1 of 3 in Almedinilla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
5.1 mi away
Casa Banos de la Villa
Casa Banos de la Villa
#1 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Olea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Olea

Property: Casa Olea
Address: Carretera CO-7204 (Zamoranos to Fuente Alhama) | Parcelas 115 y 116, 14800 Priego de Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Priego de Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Priego de Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Granada and Cordoba, ideal base for day trips to the Alhambra and Mezquita. Great for olive groves, mountains, walking, home cooking, relaxing, wildlife and nature. Charming Andalucian cortijo (farmhouse) with indulgent touches: under-floor heating, a/c, super-king beds, Egyptian cotton bedding, pool, bikes for hire. Home-cooked evening meals using locally-sourced, fresh, seasonal ingredients. Good selection of Spanish wines. Strong green credentials: 100% of heating/hot water from biomass boiler & solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Olea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Olea Hotel Priego De Cordoba
Casa Olea Spain/Priego De Cordoba, Province Of Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing