We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Olea
Nearby Hotels
Casa Banos de la Villa(Priego de Cordoba)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Las Rosas(Priego de Cordoba)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas(Priego de Cordoba)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Museo Patria Chica(Priego de Cordoba)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rural Zuhayra(Zuheros)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hacienda Minerva(Zuheros)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Maria Luisa(Rute)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveller rating
400
15
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
15
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsolive grovestim claireclaire's cookingwonderful hostslocal areaplaces to visitvery special placeeach eveningthought of everythingsouthern spainlocal knowledgepaellaamazing foodshort drivewonderful placeno doubt
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 418 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in Casa Olea and were sorry to leave. It is difficult to add to the already glowing reviews which are well deserved. Our room was simply furnished but with everything we needed and like the rest of the hotel was spotless. The setting surrounded by Olive trees is very picturesque and the hotel is situated within day trip range of Cordoba and Granada for serious sightseeing or otherwise there are lovely walks and hilltop villages to explore in the vicinity and a welcome swimming pool on a hot day.
Dinners prepared by Claire were delicious and there was a good selection at breakfast.
Tim and Claire were on hand with loads of very helpful information about things to do and see, routes to take, where to park etc. The whole place had a really friendly and warm atmosphere and we would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jandjo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I've little to add to the list of superlatives which pepper previous reviews. We did a lot of research to find a small, 'boutique' hotel where we could chill out, with some big cities and sites within striking distance for some culture. Casa Olea fits the bill ideally - fantastic beds and bedding, a lovely pool area and Cordoba and Granada each an hour or so away (the Mezquita in Cordoba bears comparison with the world's great sites, by the way). Plus we've had loads of tasty local wine, beer and food (figs, olive oil and capers from the garden). Great stuff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msps9tds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I found this place on tripadvisor and due to the excellent reviews planned our whole trip to Spain around our stay here - and we were not disappointed! We just felt lucky to be there and have the opportunity to enjoy all the work that Claire and Tim have put into this amazing place. From the first greeting to the last goodbye, Claire and Tim could not have been more amazing hosts.

Food - delicious breakfasts and dinners. Wonderful local foods prepared by Claire. Dinners under the stars were amazing with great wines and every need taken care of - a perfect way to end the day.

Room - I love that they are technology free and you can leave the window open, but also have the option of air conditioning. The bathrooms are very nice as well - awesome shower. It's amazing to look at the pictures that show how they transformed the building into what it is today.

Activities - We arrived late in the afternoon from Granada and immediate went for a swim - very refreshing and amazing view as the sun set over the mountains. The next morning we got up and studied the many hike options. We chose one that we could start from Casa Olea (rather than driving and starting elsewhere) and it was great - especially having Ruby along. About three quarters of the way along we stopped at Grego's in Zamoranos for lunch where we ended up spending several hours eating and drinking and just taking in what life in this tiny little Spanish rural town was like. Having Ruby with us sitting under our chair just made it even more perfect! From there it was a nice walk home down hill for another dip in the pool. That night was the night off for dinner, so we got great directions from Claire for the short drive up to Priego de Cordoba for dinner. While admittedly we had a little difficulty finding parking in the little town (mainly because we weren't sure where street parking was allowed and the parking lot we had aimed for was full), in retrospect the adventure of driving through the tiny streets was pretty funny. And what a neat town! There were little pathways where literally you reach out your arms and touch the buildings on both sides (fortunately we did not end up on those in the car!). What a cool town to walk around in, checking out how it's built up on a cliff, and eat dinner. The next day we rented the bikes (good helmets provided) and set out on the course that Claire and Tim mapped out. Great roads for biking (very very few cars, paved, and winding through the endless olive groves). It was neat to get to cover more ground that we were able to on foot. We stopped a little over halfway for lunch at a restaurant in Zagrilla Alta called La Fuente - an awesome spot by a natural spring, shaded by trees in a tiny courtyard. Delicious food and drinks and the owner chatted us up. My husband can speak a little Spanish and the owner spoke slowly enough that my husband could understand to tell him how he had worked at the restaurant since he was a teenager - really neat guy. Of course we ended this day with a swim, then cocktails in the bar at Casa Olea, and then another delicious dinner at Casa Olea. We were so sad to leave. We sqeezed in one last hike to the watch tower they day we left which was really neat. Of course Claire directed us exactly where to go when we left and to stop by Zuheros (really neat town with a castle built way up on top of a cliff) for lunch.

Overall: This is an amazing bed and breakfast and the most relaxing place you can imagine. It is absolutely silent and the stars so bright at night. You can tell that Tim and Claire absolutely love the area and the amount of work that they have done to make their bed and breakfast fabulous is unbelievable. You really feel like one of the luckiest people to get to stay here and enjoy everything it has to offer. I could not recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is our third stay at Casa Olea and it certainly won't be our last! All the other reviews have highlighted all the wonderful things about this place-its stunning, peaceful location, the attention to detail and the wonderful food not to mention the amazing places to visit. There's always somewhere new to visit and yet you'll never tire of towns such as Cordoba and Granada.
But the main reason Casa Olea is so special to us is the welcome and hospitality given to all guests by Tim and Claire. They are amazing hosts and really bring the place to life! Now of course there is Max too and he's adorable.
We love the walks with Ruby, the fresh figs from the garden for breakfast ,the homemade quince preserve, the brilliant recommendations for visits and restaurants and more particularly, the way Tim and Claire really enhance your understanding and appreciation of the Andalucian way of life especially if you don't speak the language!

Another wonderful week and thanks to you all once again! We'll be back!

Room Tip: We love Membrillo as there are 2 windows so double the views!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedlizNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We live in Murcia, Spain....and every year we go across the border into Andalucia to celebrate my wife's birthday....in August....and over the last 10 years we know the Provence pretty well.
....we live off the beaten track....and we like to be off the beaten track albeit in a different location....just to enjoy another view and experience more of the Spanish culture which we love.
I was drawn to Casa Olea immediately from the reviews.... and it proved just right. The room we had was great....light and airy with air con which we are not used to....the whole house was so clean and airy....tastefully decorated with artefacts from Spain, Africa, and South America....and so clean....
.....the pool was immaculate with plenty of shade and beds for the few residents....and the meals were superb....all locally sourced with plenty of variety.....served on the patio as the sun went down over lovely views....
....Claire went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and happy....and gave us great advice as to places to visit, park and eat etc....in spite of her other half Tim and young son having to be away in the UK at the time. We wish we could have met them!
.....we went just to chill out for a few days....but if you want a quiet central location an hour from Granada, Coroba and so many more places to see in Andalucia....this is it.....enjoy!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Emlyn8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews