We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better every time!”
Review of Casa Olea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Olea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We've made so many return visits now that we're losing count! But Casa Olea never disappoints, and in fact seems to get better every time. A perfect location whether you want to relax by the pool, take long country walks, or have a base for travelling further afield to Granada, Cordoba or Seville. A warm welcome, a comfortable bed and delicious home cooking are all guaranteed. Tim and Claire are considerate hosts, have great local knowledge and a real passion for their lovely place, and they have a real natural talent for making everyone feel welcome and looked-after.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zabriske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

This really is an exceptional place. Plenty of other reviews speak of the facilities (very comfortable, not lavish), the location and surroundings. What makes Casa Olea special is the real sense that for Tim and Claire looking after their guests is a chosen way of life - almost a vocation - rather than a business. Developing Casa Olea was itself a remarkable story of persistence against adversity. Open four years, running it - with the conscientious help of Sara, Maria Jesus and Paco - they have created a happy and unusual set-up centred on each of their guests. On top of a comfortable small hotel they provide all sorts of extras which make it a memorable place to stay - from mini-wine tastings to restaurant recommendations to detailed guides on some wonderful walks (this is stunningly good walking country), even with a good tempered dog as company, to special attention to dietary requirements; the list could continue.

Room Tip: They are all good. If you happen to get one of the two rooms on the road, don't worry: about th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntrepidTraveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is a place to rest. The hospitality is first rate. The host's local knowledge and advice is so valuable. We enjoyed the local rambling, a day trip to Granada, and just sitting by the pool - a lovely hammock making the relaxation complete. The home cooking is unpretentious and healthy. That said, a lunch in the fab local zagrilla bar mentioned in other reviews, pretty much blew this month's calories with what has to be the best black sausage ever! Great deserts too!

So i haven't much to add to other reviews - i just want to echo their praise, thank Tim and Claire for all the work they do, and say we have just had a lovely holiday.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in Casa Olea and were sorry to leave. It is difficult to add to the already glowing reviews which are well deserved. Our room was simply furnished but with everything we needed and like the rest of the hotel was spotless. The setting surrounded by Olive trees is very picturesque and the hotel is situated within day trip range of Cordoba and Granada for serious sightseeing or otherwise there are lovely walks and hilltop villages to explore in the vicinity and a welcome swimming pool on a hot day.
Dinners prepared by Claire were delicious and there was a good selection at breakfast.
Tim and Claire were on hand with loads of very helpful information about things to do and see, routes to take, where to park etc. The whole place had a really friendly and warm atmosphere and we would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jandjo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I've little to add to the list of superlatives which pepper previous reviews. We did a lot of research to find a small, 'boutique' hotel where we could chill out, with some big cities and sites within striking distance for some culture. Casa Olea fits the bill ideally - fantastic beds and bedding, a lovely pool area and Cordoba and Granada each an hour or so away (the Mezquita in Cordoba bears comparison with the world's great sites, by the way). Plus we've had loads of tasty local wine, beer and food (figs, olive oil and capers from the garden). Great stuff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msps9tds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I found this place on tripadvisor and due to the excellent reviews planned our whole trip to Spain around our stay here - and we were not disappointed! We just felt lucky to be there and have the opportunity to enjoy all the work that Claire and Tim have put into this amazing place. From the first greeting to the last goodbye, Claire and Tim could not have been more amazing hosts.

Food - delicious breakfasts and dinners. Wonderful local foods prepared by Claire. Dinners under the stars were amazing with great wines and every need taken care of - a perfect way to end the day.

Room - I love that they are technology free and you can leave the window open, but also have the option of air conditioning. The bathrooms are very nice as well - awesome shower. It's amazing to look at the pictures that show how they transformed the building into what it is today.

Activities - We arrived late in the afternoon from Granada and immediate went for a swim - very refreshing and amazing view as the sun set over the mountains. The next morning we got up and studied the many hike options. We chose one that we could start from Casa Olea (rather than driving and starting elsewhere) and it was great - especially having Ruby along. About three quarters of the way along we stopped at Grego's in Zamoranos for lunch where we ended up spending several hours eating and drinking and just taking in what life in this tiny little Spanish rural town was like. Having Ruby with us sitting under our chair just made it even more perfect! From there it was a nice walk home down hill for another dip in the pool. That night was the night off for dinner, so we got great directions from Claire for the short drive up to Priego de Cordoba for dinner. While admittedly we had a little difficulty finding parking in the little town (mainly because we weren't sure where street parking was allowed and the parking lot we had aimed for was full), in retrospect the adventure of driving through the tiny streets was pretty funny. And what a neat town! There were little pathways where literally you reach out your arms and touch the buildings on both sides (fortunately we did not end up on those in the car!). What a cool town to walk around in, checking out how it's built up on a cliff, and eat dinner. The next day we rented the bikes (good helmets provided) and set out on the course that Claire and Tim mapped out. Great roads for biking (very very few cars, paved, and winding through the endless olive groves). It was neat to get to cover more ground that we were able to on foot. We stopped a little over halfway for lunch at a restaurant in Zagrilla Alta called La Fuente - an awesome spot by a natural spring, shaded by trees in a tiny courtyard. Delicious food and drinks and the owner chatted us up. My husband can speak a little Spanish and the owner spoke slowly enough that my husband could understand to tell him how he had worked at the restaurant since he was a teenager - really neat guy. Of course we ended this day with a swim, then cocktails in the bar at Casa Olea, and then another delicious dinner at Casa Olea. We were so sad to leave. We sqeezed in one last hike to the watch tower they day we left which was really neat. Of course Claire directed us exactly where to go when we left and to stop by Zuheros (really neat town with a castle built way up on top of a cliff) for lunch.

Overall: This is an amazing bed and breakfast and the most relaxing place you can imagine. It is absolutely silent and the stars so bright at night. You can tell that Tim and Claire absolutely love the area and the amount of work that they have done to make their bed and breakfast fabulous is unbelievable. You really feel like one of the luckiest people to get to stay here and enjoy everything it has to offer. I could not recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is our third stay at Casa Olea and it certainly won't be our last! All the other reviews have highlighted all the wonderful things about this place-its stunning, peaceful location, the attention to detail and the wonderful food not to mention the amazing places to visit. There's always somewhere new to visit and yet you'll never tire of towns such as Cordoba and Granada.
But the main reason Casa Olea is so special to us is the welcome and hospitality given to all guests by Tim and Claire. They are amazing hosts and really bring the place to life! Now of course there is Max too and he's adorable.
We love the walks with Ruby, the fresh figs from the garden for breakfast ,the homemade quince preserve, the brilliant recommendations for visits and restaurants and more particularly, the way Tim and Claire really enhance your understanding and appreciation of the Andalucian way of life especially if you don't speak the language!

Another wonderful week and thanks to you all once again! We'll be back!

Room Tip: We love Membrillo as there are 2 windows so double the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedlizNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Priego de Cordoba
5.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Paloma...
#2 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
111 reviews
24.9 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
8.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
#2 of 2 in Zuheros
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hacienda Minerva
Hacienda Minerva
#1 of 2 in Zuheros
285 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hospederia la Era
Hospederia la Era
#1 of 3 in Almedinilla
212 reviews
5.1 mi away
Casa Banos de la Villa
Casa Banos de la Villa
#1 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Olea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Olea

Address: Carretera CO-7204 | Parcelas 115 y 116, 14800 Priego de Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Priego de Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Priego de Cordoba
Price Range: £106 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Granada and Cordoba, ideal base for day trips to the Alhambra and Mezquita. Great for olive groves, mountains, walking, home cooking, relaxing, wildlife and nature. Charming Andalucian cortijo (farmhouse) with indulgent touches: under-floor heating, a/c, super-king beds, Egyptian cotton bedding, pool, bikes for hire. Home-cooked evening meals using locally-sourced, fresh, seasonal ingredients. Good selection of Spanish wines. Strong green credentials: 100% of heating/hot water from biomass boiler & solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Olea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Olea Hotel Priego De Cordoba
Casa Olea Spain/Priego De Cordoba, Province Of Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing