We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights in Casa Olea”
Review of Casa Olea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Olea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3 nights in Casa Olea”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Excellent place! We had a wonderful 3 nights here.The place is secluded in the middle of olive groves , definitly need GPS to get here. Room is very spacious and with an excellent view a good change from the historic downtowns we were staying in the other places.Tim and Claire were excellent hosts and helped us with planning our 3 days in the area . We enjoyed the hike close by they recommended. I forgot my mouth guard and Tim was kind enough to even ship that to our next location immediately ,I thought that was really something.
TIP : Be prepared to drive if you dont want to dine in - we picked up food from Cordoba one night . Try dinner here atleast one night , you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
291
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This was our second visit to Casa Olea and every bit as enjoyable as the first. Tim and Claire are blessed with a natural and easy charm that makes all their guests feel immediately welcomed and at home. Nothing is too much trouble. They have a wealth of local knowledge which they are happy to share. Previous reviews say it all but from our point of view the "above and beyond" was the time given to us when my husband needed a visit to a doctor. Tim accompanied us and acted as translator - in a country where you do not have the language this counts for a lot! Casa Olea has certainly become our "second home" in southern Spain and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: all 6 rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAT2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

It has been a month since my husband and I returned from a wonderful and relaxing 9 days at Casa Olea, and we continue not just to enjoy the memories but also to try to replicate Claire's cooking (but not too successfully)! We have searched our local stores, purchasing Spanish wines, Manchego cheese, Spanish olives, and so many other ingredients that so enhanced our stay. It's not the same!

The scenery in the Sierra Subbetica was stunning, but what will stand out in my memory of the area will be the wild rosemary, thyme, and sage growing along the trails we hiked. The scents were just intoxicating, making the hiking a feast not only for the eyes! Adding this to the beauty of the surroundings and the tastes of local foods introduced to us in the creative arrangements prepared by Claire, our visit was in fact a feast for all our senses!

Never having been to Spain before, we wanted to avoid the pitfall of attempting to see too much, and thought that Casa Olea's location almost equidistant from Cordoba and Grenada would suit us well as a base. This proved to be true. It was great to be able to unpack, settle in, and return to our home base at the end of every day. Tim and Claire were extremely helpful in providing detailed advice about how to navigate the larger towns, where to park, and in making suggestions as to where to eat.

We hiked six of our nine days, and every one of these hikes was a highlight. Tim and Claire have prepared detailed instructions for each of approximately a dozen hikes, even including photos of confusing trail junctions. These are kept in a basket right inside the front door, in plastic page protectors, so that guests can take them along on the hikes. Favorite hikes were the "villages hike" to Zagrilla Alta and Zagrilla Baja, and the hike through the Bailon Gorge near Zuheros. None of these hikes was technically difficult, although hiking is almost all out in the open, and sun exposure is significant.

We tended to hike in the mornings, then explore the area in the afternoons. It is absolutely true that towns appear virtually deserted in the afternoon, during siesta, with all shops, even tourist offices, closed. This meant that we were not really experiencing the towns during the more lively business hours, but it was our choice to hike in the cool of the morning. We still enjoyed wandering the very pretty white villages, clean, carefully tended, and often hanging with beautiful blooming geraniums. No town has more hanging geraniums that Priego de Cordoba, where I couldn't stop taking photos of the beautiful narrow alleys in the historic center.

Tim and Claire provide a book in each room with detailed information about the inn, amenities and services available, as well as much information about the surrounding towns, and interesting possibilities for day trips. We consulted this book on a daily basis, and it provided a great guide throughout our visit.

We used the services of Maria Jesus, who washed, dried, and carefully folded our laundry, returning everything the next day.

We stayed in Olivo, the only room with an outside deck, and thoroughly enjoyed sitting in our private outside space. All the rooms are on the second floor, and Olivo is roadside, but the only traffic was the handful of vehicles going by in the morning, probably local folks going to work. The room was spacious and comfortable in every way.

Although it was the first week of October, we were able to use the pool every afternoon, and to eat dinner by candlelight on the outside deck under the stars every night but one.

We do not speak Spanish, although we had made a last minute intensive attempt to learn some basic Spanish before the trip. We were able to use the little we knew, and found people very receptive to our attempts, such that the language barrier was never really a problem.

On our final day, Claire made a reservation for us to eat at the nearby farm, where they raise their own pigs. We hiked to the restaurant via one of the trails leaving right from Casa Olea. Although you are eating at the farm, this place is a restaurant, popular with locals, and it was busy on the day that we came. There is no menu; everyone is served the same meal of the family's homemade gazpacho, several types of sausage, potatoes, fried eggs, vegetables, and dessert. We ate at one of three outside tables, roadside, while the family's dog slept in the road. It might not be a place that everyone would enjoy, but our wish was to be as local as one can be as tourists visiting for 9 days, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Just plan to go on a day when Claire is not cooking dinner, as otherwise you won't have room for your dinner!

It has to be a challenge to run an inn such as Casa Olea while raising a little one, the handsome now 9 month old Max, but Claire and Tim appear to be up to the challenge. While taking turns caring for Max, Tim and Claire make sure that they can be reached at all times. We never felt lacking for any needed assistance.

We have at least for now put any thoughts of other trips to Europe on hold in favor of returning to Spain. We'd love to visit other areas of the country, but we will plan to make a stay at Casa Olea part of any future trip. Thanks for everything, Tim and Claire!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roeburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, USA
Level Contributor
201 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We see why this is a top rated B&B. Rather than write more of the same glowing remarks we suggest visiting Piedro de la Cordoba which had become one of our favorite cities in Spain. The proximity to Cordba and a beautiful country side made this a special place. We also had great meals at the local restaurants they recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountainmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

As with everyone else that writes a review, I have to give Casa Olea 5 stars!

We came here in August for our honeymoon (both aged late 20's) and it was an absolutely perfect choice. Tim and Claire could not do enough for us. Tim stayed up to wait for us to arrive on the first night and from the moment we arrived to when we left, the service was first class. Claire's food is as good as everyone writes on here... my favourite was the paella, but every dish was delicious. We both loved breakfast, and sitting out on the open terrace for our meals, and by the pool during the day was bliss.

The walks around Casa Olea are great (especially with Ruby), and if your brave you can still enjoy a lie-in, lovely breakfast and battle through the mid-day sun to get up the hills!

One point to note, is that we weren't overly blown away by the local towns/villages compared to other parts of Spain. Our best meals were always at Casa Olea and when we visit again I think we will make the effort to visit Cordoba and skip some of the local towns, i.e. Priego. It is not that there is anything wrong with them, but when you are eating fantastic Spanish cuisine at Casa Olea other places didn't live up to it. This takes some getting used to as we would normally try different places to eat on holiday, but when it is this good, its difficult to leave!

I think when my only criticism is that it is so good it is difficult to leave, that pretty much sums up how much we loved it! Tim, Claire, Ruby and Max - Keep up the excellent work!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

What a treat! A beautiful, carefully restored farm house which has been lovingly transformed into a light and airy B&B, with all every home comfort to ensure a relaxing, comfortable holiday away from the hustle and bustle of daily life. No detail has been spared to preserve the authenticity of this idyllic retreat in such a beautiful part of the world. Couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterJab11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We've just returned from a relaxing few days at Casa Olea; it was a shame we couldn't have stayed longer.
The 'casa' has been restored combining the character of an old farm house with the light and airy feel of a modern hotel. It's evident Tim and Claire, the warm and friendly owners, have a clear vision of the kind of hotel they want to run; in our opinion they deliver this: a small eco-hotel in an unspoiled and quiet rural location, a relaxed atmosphere and exceptionally helpful service. Tim and Claire showed they care about their visitors' experience; they provided valuable travel advice drawing on their knowledge of the local and wider area; their tips on places to visit and eat are very reliable.
The Sierra Subbetica is a relatively undiscovered area of Southern Spain; we enjoyed exploring it on foot. The hotel has sugestions on a range of local walks, restaurants and day trips to local sights, including Granada and Cordoba. Helpful tips included detailed printed walking directions and less obvious places to eat and visit.
The hotel food was excellent, breakfast and dinner being home cooked from seasonal local ingredients.
Casa Olea is ideal if you're looking for a quiet, relaxing stay with serious sightseeing options. We alternated days of sightseeing with amazing countryside walks (pleasant in October) and are already planning to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Priego de Cordoba
5.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Paloma...
#2 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
106 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
#2 of 2 in Zuheros
127 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Las Rosas
Hotel Las Rosas
#3 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hospederia la Era
Hospederia la Era
#1 of 3 in Almedinilla
194 reviews
5.1 mi away
Casa Banos de la Villa
Casa Banos de la Villa
#1 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
179 reviews
5.1 mi away
La Posada Real
La Posada Real
#5 of 12 in Priego de Cordoba
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Olea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Olea

Property: Casa Olea
Address: Carretera CO-7204 (Zamoranos to Fuente Alhama) | Parcelas 115 y 116, 14800 Priego de Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Priego de Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Priego de Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Granada and Cordoba, ideal base for day trips to the Alhambra and Mezquita. Great for olive groves, mountains, walking, home cooking, relaxing, wildlife and nature. Charming Andalucian cortijo (farmhouse) with indulgent touches: under-floor heating, a/c, super-king beds, Egyptian cotton bedding, pool, bikes for hire. Home-cooked evening meals using locally-sourced, fresh, seasonal ingredients. Good selection of Spanish wines. Strong green credentials: 100% of heating/hot water from biomass boiler & solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Olea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Olea Hotel Priego De Cordoba
Casa Olea Spain/Priego De Cordoba, Province Of Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing