We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Olea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Olea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A very special place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Like the previous reviewer this was our third stay at Casa Olea. So many of their guests have been before. Once you stay here it spoils you for other places. Tim and Claire have created something truly special in this beautiful unspoilt spot. This time we stayed in Olivio and had the benefit of a spacious balcony from which to admire the stunning scenery. Like the other rooms it is furnished simply and is beautifully maintained. The food was, as before, delicious and very well presented. This time we had the benefit of the swimming pool to cool us down from the heat of the sun and again the pool and surrounding area are immaculately maintained. Tim and Claire work fantastically hard to look after their guests and deserve every accolade they receive. Their personal touch makes Casa Olea a very special place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeedsUKDilys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
284
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
near DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This was our third stay at Casa Olea, and we love it more with each visit. Such a beautiful setting, delicious food, and wonderful hosts in Tim and Claire. Claire's cooking is simple yet sophisticated home cooking that's served on the lovely patio, which overlooks the olive tree covered hills. Claire's husband Tim is in charge of the front of the house, tending bar and serving dinner (and keeping interested fans posted on the football scores). Tim will also give you loads of great advice on where to go/dine in the area (if you'd rather not lay by the pool all day). There are fabulous hikes right from the house, or you can rent bikes and hit the rail trails. The benefit of hiking from the house is that Ruby, the resident pooch, will accompany you. A word of warning: her guide services are in great demand, so you should get an early start.

But back to the food. . . On this last visit, we had a really special treat when chef JoseMari prepared a paella with chicken, shrimp, and squid. It was the best paella I've ever had. And JoseMari was kind enough to give my husband some pointers during a tour of Claire's gorgeous kitchen.

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Casa Olea. This is the place to relax and enjoy some of Spain's most beautiful scenery, delicious home cooking, and friendly service.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool. It's just a tad quieter than a room on the roadside. Though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spritenearDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

What a beautiful place. Fabulous food, passionate hosts who care about what they're doing, and a stunning location. All wrapped up in a spotless and charming building that has been carefully renovated. Set in the middle of a gorgeous part of Spain there are endless walks here, many of them carefully researched and mapped for you and if you fancy one of the ones that starts from the house then Ruby the dog will almost certainly come with you.

Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: They're all great - the house is spotless and all rooms have a good aspect to beat the hottest s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchesterwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a fantastic five nights at Casa Olea in April. Tim and Claire were excellent hosts, with Tim providing insider information on what to do and and where to eat in the area and Claire serving up lovely home cooking with a Spanish twist. Our room was spacious and comfortable with beautiful views. We particularly enjoyed dinner on the terrace as the sun went down; and drinking in the wonderful aromas of lavender and rosemary from the plants growing around the hotel. Malaga, Granada and Cordoba are 90 minutes or less away for great cultural experiences, but it's also lovely to enjoy the Sierra Subbetica out walking with Ruby the hotel dog. With just six rooms, Casa Olea feels intimate and homely, but it's also easy to have your own space. We left feeling thoroughly relaxed and keen to return next time we are in Andalucia.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have recently returned from our 3rd visit to Casa Olea and as always had a lovely time. The house is in a beautiful setting with olive groves as far as the eye can see. Tim and Claire are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. Tim has plenty of recommendations of things to do in the area either by car or right from the house. There is a good selection of walks for all abilities and if you're going on a local walk their lovely dog Ruby will accompany you! Claire cooks an evening meal 5 times a week so you can eat in if you wish to on these nights. The food is delicious and it was lovely to be able to sit out on the terrace under the stars. I can't recommend this place highly enough and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We love to stay in Olivo simply because it has its own balcony. Otherwise all the rooms are equally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanmac5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

If your idea of a heavenly hotel is one where you can step out onto your balcony and listen to the sound of a river running and gaze over the tops of ancient olives to the hills of Andalucia, then stay here! Don't dawdle watching the swallows - there is amazing food waiting for you - local meats, cheeses, luscious jams and home-made ice cream, a great wine list and of course, their very own olive oil. Tim and Claire are passionate about this part of Spain and Casa Olea is their stylish, hugely comfortable and very welcoming contribution. Follow all of Tim's tips - this man knows the best bars, sights and walks around - we didn't bother with the guidebook we bought with us. We have been warbling on about Casa Olea ever since we got home - they have got it just right - absolutely nothing disappoints!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was our second stay at Casa Olea and it was certainly as good if not better than the first. Tim and Claire's hospitality is first class - it is more like staying at a freind's house!
Claire's cooking is first class. The variety is very good and portion size is just right so that you can really enjoy a pudding. On the first night the local chef came in and cooked paella which was excellent.
Tim's knowledge of the area in encyclopedic so if you want a walk, to go sight seeing, or visit a town he will know how to get there, the best viewing point, where to park and most importantly the best places to eat. Definitely worth another return trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Priego de Cordoba
5.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Paloma...
#2 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Las Rosas
Hotel Las Rosas
#3 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
24.9 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
#2 of 2 in Zuheros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hospederia la Era
Hospederia la Era
#1 of 3 in Almedinilla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
5.1 mi away
Casa Banos de la Villa
Casa Banos de la Villa
#1 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Olea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Olea

Property: Casa Olea
Address: Carretera CO-7204 (Zamoranos to Fuente Alhama) | Parcelas 115 y 116, 14800 Priego de Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Priego de Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Priego de Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Granada and Cordoba, ideal base for day trips to the Alhambra and Mezquita. Great for olive groves, mountains, walking, home cooking, relaxing, wildlife and nature. Charming Andalucian cortijo (farmhouse) with indulgent touches: under-floor heating, a/c, super-king beds, Egyptian cotton bedding, pool, bikes for hire. Home-cooked evening meals using locally-sourced, fresh, seasonal ingredients. Good selection of Spanish wines. Strong green credentials: 100% of heating/hot water from biomass boiler & solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Olea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Olea Hotel Priego De Cordoba
Casa Olea Spain/Priego De Cordoba, Province Of Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing