We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven”
Review of Casa Olea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Olea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We stayed at Casa Olea for nearly 3 weeks in August and the experience was sheer bliss!
Our room was spotless, traditionally furnished with fantastic views in all directions as was everyones in the family 8 of us in total ages 14 to 60.
Tim and Claire our hosts did everything and more to make our stay everything we wanted pleasing adults and teenagers alike. You can lay by the pool soaking up the sun or go hiking, mountain biking, bird watching. We were lucky enough to see eagles and wild boar one day!.
It is perfectly placed to explore Cordoba and Granada both within easy reach and after a days exploration a fabulous meal cooked by Claire pleasing even the difficult vegetarians in our group I miss her cheesecakes most of all!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loftus96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2010

Casa Olea is a haven of peace and our week there was one of total relaxation and memorable moments. The setting is stunning, and the house, which has been decorated simply and authentically with beautiful local materials, radiates harmony and tranquillity. Tim and Claire were the perfect hosts: friendly, thoughtful, good fun, extremely knowledgeable about the area, and their many personal touches made the week very special. Between Claire’s wonderful Andalusian-inspired meals on the terrace with views you could never tire of, and hours spent lazing by the lovely pool, our only problem was dragging ourselves away to do some sightseeing! There are lots of things we’d still like to do and see in the area, and we hope to be back again one day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChablisToulouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We had a very relaxing holiday at Casa Olea, it was everything we had hoped for from our trip and more. Casa Olea is set in very picturesque surroundings. Our room was very spacious, comfortable and clean. Evening meals, freshly cooked by Claire, were outstanding. The hotel has a lovely pool and lounge area for relaxing during the daytime. The area is very scenic featuring rolling olive groves and quiet local villages. Tim is a great host and he and Claire made us feel very welcome during our stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank una_deretic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We spent three nights at the end of August in this delightful Casa. We had read the review in the Sunday Times and were delighted to discover that our stay was perfect in every sense. The Casa is beautifully appointed and in an ideal tranquil situation. Claire is a first class chef and we had two wonderful nights dining under the stars. Both Tim and Claire make wonderful hosts, they ensure your every need is met within the Casa and provide expert tips to support your sight-seeing in the area. We would certainly recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Sevengables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Tim and Claire dropped everything to welcome us, ie they abandoned their lunch, and their enthusiasm for all that they engage in is contagious.

We fell in love with the room allocated to us and each day absorbed its calm and varied art works from their travels.

Casa Olea is situated in such a beautiful spot in Andalucia and breakfast, lunch and dinner were spent gazing at the scenery, stars and Rubi (the dog), and simply absorbing the amazing peace and serenity that surrounded us.

We walked, cycled, took photos, eat, drank, conversed and occasionally lazed by pool.

Tim and Claire's accrued knowledge and advice of all that surrounds the Sierra Subbetica and beyond, is extensive and made the week so easy to relax and enjoy.

Winning the blind wine tasting was a bonus!

The week passed by so quickly it was a shame to leave, but we'll be back for more sooner than later.

Muchisimas gracias amigos! Y hasta muy pronto.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenandChris50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

After reading the review in the Guardian ages ago, I was pleased when my partner came across Casa Olea on the internet and liked it too .... we were so lucky to be emailing Tim just when a cancellation came through for our desired week, and we were not disappointed!

A beautifully peaceful location, and a beautifully restored building, wonderful food, good company, lovely local walks and fantastic birdwatching ... we look forward to coming back sometime, after all we never did get to Granada!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerryfenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We have just returned from a magical 3 day stay at beautiful Casa Olea and would highly recommend it to anyone planning to visit the area. Tim & Claire have worked tirelessly over the past 6 years to turn a ruined farmhouse into a really special B&B. It is a beautifully designed Casa, with simply but stylishly furnished rooms and fantastically comfortable & huge beds. They have thought of everything to make your stay perfect, and as other reviewers have said, Claire's cooking is exemplary. There may well be excellent restaurants in the local region, but we didn't bother to find them, much preferring to enjoy Claire's delicious meals served on the moonlit terrace.
The location is ideal, with plenty to see & do in the local area & easily accessible to Granada & Cordoba. We spent a week on the Costa Del Sol before arriving at Casa Olea. It was only a 2 hour drive away but felt like a different world; a little bit of paradise in a beautiful part of Spain. We are already planning our next trip! Thank you Tim & Claire for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim_jayne6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Priego de Cordoba
5.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Paloma...
#2 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
111 reviews
24.9 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
8.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
#1 of 2 in Zuheros
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hacienda Minerva
Hacienda Minerva
#2 of 2 in Zuheros
286 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hospederia la Era
Hospederia la Era
#1 of 3 in Almedinilla
212 reviews
5.1 mi away
Casa Banos de la Villa
Casa Banos de la Villa
#1 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Olea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Olea

Address: Carretera CO-7204 | Parcelas 115 y 116, 14800 Priego de Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Priego de Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Priego de Cordoba
Price Range: £106 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Granada and Cordoba, ideal base for day trips to the Alhambra and Mezquita. Great for olive groves, mountains, walking, home cooking, relaxing, wildlife and nature. Charming Andalucian cortijo (farmhouse) with indulgent touches: under-floor heating, a/c, super-king beds, Egyptian cotton bedding, pool, bikes for hire. Home-cooked evening meals using locally-sourced, fresh, seasonal ingredients. Good selection of Spanish wines. Strong green credentials: 100% of heating/hot water from biomass boiler & solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Olea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Olea Hotel Priego De Cordoba
Casa Olea Spain/Priego De Cordoba, Province Of Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing