We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house and host”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

searney
Lenoir, N. Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great house and host”
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Booked the house for just two but decided to take two of our adult kids and Ellen was so kind about the change. Her house Is great in so many ways. I'd love to live there. House has everything you could need so see what's there before you stop at supermarket. Ellen makes the best shortbread I've ever eaten and I've tried a lot. Ellen you've spoiled me for any other.

Date of stay: September 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
Thanks for the lovely review. It was great to meet you all. My father taught me about the Yorkshire welcome and my mother taught me how to bake!
I hope one day to meet you all again and continue our long talk about our life on the farm. So much to tell. Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Aug 2017
I am so pleased you enjoyed staying at the farmhouse. It was an absolute delight to meet all the family and thank you for leaving everything so tidy. It is always greatly appreciated and we hope to meet you all again soon for another holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AFD1UK
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful, farmhouse in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We spent 5 nights in a this lovely farmhouse. It was an excellent find and we are so pleased that we booked with Ellen. The farmhouse is set on a working farm and the house is kept in a high order. Everything was clean and a lot of amenities were provided to make sure that we were well catered for and it included a games room which kept our children (aged 4 to 7) entertained.
The farmhouse is set in a beautiful location and Ellen's story about her history of the farmhouse was very touching. She was an excellent host and made contact with us before we arrived to see if we had any requirements. She also provided milk, bread, butter and eggs which after a long drive was a very welcome touch. She kept in contact with us throughout our holiday to make sure that we were all well and finding everything to our satisfaction. She went out of her way to tell us some local sights to explore and enjoy and made some fab shortbread biscuits. Ellen went out of her way to take the children onto the farm to see the animals and everyone enjoyed the stay.
We went to the following places, Salburn-by-the-Sea (lovely beach), Shillingrove Beach (an even better beach and isolated), Whitby Bay and Whitby Abbey(stunning), a walk along the beautiful moors, Roseberry Toppings (a lovely little walk) and Robins Hood Bay (rockpooling!). All were a short drive from the farmhouse. We definitely recommend staying here if you are ever up this way!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
It was an absolute delight to have you and your family stay, also your friends' family.I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us in Yorkshire. One day you may be back to enjoy even more of our hospitality. We look forward to it! ....O I think you mean Skinningrove Beach (not Shillinggrove!) Our hidden treasure on the coast.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephenl2...
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Farm house above the coast”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This farmhouse above the Cleveland coast is ideal for a family stay. Ellen made us welcome, and the games room, toys and books kept the kids busy, and we got to see some newborn lambs and calves. The decor of the rooms may not be the latest, but it has everything you need, 2 bathrooms, TVs, wifi and more pig adornments than you can wish for. Its also well located between saltburn, staithes and the moors centre at Danby.

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2017
I am pleased to hear you all had a good time and the children enjoyed their holiday. It was good to meet you all with a Yorkshire welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne J
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“``Excellent spacious house”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

we had a lovely few days here, the farmhouse is lovely and very well equipped with every thing we needed. It was lovely sitting in the very peaceful garden enjoying a bbq. It was very well located for our trips out to Whitby, Redcar etc. Highly recomended.

Date of stay: August 2016
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the farm. We hope to see you and your family again and enjoy another peaceful time and bbq!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is not just a holiday rental it's a holiday home”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just spent a great week at Summerson Meadow Farmhouse with our family of 8 including 6 adults and 2 children, the place is large enough as to give everyone room to move about with ease and with courtyard and garden for children to safely play. It is situated just outside the small village of Moorsholme and is extremely quiet, great for draining the rigours of town life. Situated on the edge of moors with great views. A short drive gets you to Whitby, Staiths, Robin Hood Bay or Goathland for the NYM railway. The welcome from the owners was absolutely wonderful and we were made to feel at home immediately with homemade cakes, jam and shortbread and a tour of the farm nothing was too much trouble. A great well equipped place to stay that is more than your normal holiday rent it is a holiday home

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quietness
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Many thanks for your kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the farmhouse. Hopefully you may return to visit again and enjoy our Yorkshire welcome. I am so glad you found it a home and not just a holiday rental, that was our intention when we fist started on this holiday let venture.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
“Most excellent”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I'd better start of by saying I'm not being paid for this review as it is going to be glowing!

From the very first contact all was great. The owner quickly contacted us on booking to provide additional up-to-date travel details letting us know of the best roads to take - and avoid - in the local area.

We were met and shown around by the helpful owner, then left with a good welcome pack. Wine, milk, bread, homemade scones and shortbread, free-range eggs, tea, coffee and sugar etc. The kitchen had everything we could have desired including a nice breakfast bar in the centre that seated the four of us comfortably.

The house itself is old but nicely refurbished with a good mix of the original fittings and furniture and new items where needed. A reasonable selection of books and DVD's with a good amount of "what to do in the area" material and local maps are to hand.

There are some walks on footpaths from literally across the road although we never saw anyone other than ourselves on them!

Other highlights of the area are Whitby, Robin Hood's Bay and the North York Moors - including Goathland train station (that was featured in "Heartbeat" and the first Harry Potter movie).

The only negative I could see, for some, is that on arrival the WiFi says it may not be suitable for streaming and gaming. As I don't do either and just use the web for email and the like this didn't seem to effect us at all.

Unconditionally recommended!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of space.
Liked least: No negatives at all.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Thank you for the glowing review. It was a delight to meet your lovely family with a Yorkshire welcome and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the farmhouse. Perfect guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.