We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”
Review of The Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Spa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed at the Spa Hotel while walking the Cleveland Way. As a hotel it's quite difficult to describe. The lcation is excellent, a short climb from the sea front with excellent views. The hotel itself has a Victorian building at it's core, which I suspect was originally a spa bath. Around this Victorian core an extension has been built to three sides. I would guess the extension is 30 to 40 years old, was constructed at low cost and has not really been adequately manitained since.

In general the service was adequate, though one had the sense that the staff were somewhat demoralised. The one incident of noticeably poor service was when we ordered dinner and had to wait around 40 minutes for it to arrive.

The rooms were generally ok, though they could have done with refurbishment. However getting to the rooms required walking around three sides of a function room through dingy corridors, all in urgent need of redecoration.

Breakfast was self service and generally adequate.

My impression is that this hotel could be very good given better management. However, at the price, which was very low, perhaps one shouldn't expect too much.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harpenden_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Thank you for your review. Your stay appears to have come just weeks before a change in management took place and our refurbishment programme began, which is a real shame. We take on board your feedback and can assure you that the changes which were so in need are now starting to show a very real difference.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keszev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Денис Т
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorkTS12, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Annet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016
Thank yayagone38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorkTS12, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Eraydone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorkTS12, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pawel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltburn-by-the-Sea
1.7 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
241 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,119 reviews
13.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
870 reviews
9.4 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Address: Saltburn Bank, Saltburn-by-the-Sea TS12 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Price Range: £77 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Spa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Victorian town of Saltburn by the sea, the Spa Hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Hunt Cliff, the North Sea and the beautiful surrounding countryside of North Yorkshire. With comfortable hotel rooms; each with its own en-suite facilities you are sure to have relaxing stay. Take in the atmosphere of Saltburn whilst enjoying a delicious meal or a refreshing drink on our decking area. Within a 20 minute drive you can visit the the quaint villages of staithes, also known for the birth place of Captain Cook, runswick bay & the seaside resort of Whitby. We are also located right on the 109 mile long cleveland way. If your wanting to do some shopping whilst visiting, Middlesbrough is only 25 minutes drive, which you can also catch the train from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Saltburn-By-The-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing