We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and friendly venue”
Review of The Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Spa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxed and friendly venue”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Just spent a night here whilst walking the Cleveland Way. This is a hidden gem.Staff were ultra friendly and helpful. Very good value food and drink. Great location with stunning views along the cliffs. Very clean tidy well appointed rooms. Good overall atmosphere. Lovely big bath with lots of hot water... Fantastic after a 20 mile hike..! Bar food was well priced with sizeable portions of quality food. Great filling breakfast prior to another days walking. Will definitely return again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful review-all the staff are delighted and we're so pleased you had a good stay. We're working hard to really turn the hotel around so really appreciate you taking the time to feedback to us; our customers enjoying their stay is very important to us and your review was lovely to read.

Very best wishes and we hope to see you again,

Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    177
    66
    22
    11
See reviews for
133
204
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

There were thirteen of us in the group on Friday and we had very nice lunches. The chips were to die for! Service was extremely prompt and the friendliness of the staff would be recommendation in itself. The conservatory, where we ate, was large and pleasantly decorated and the view over the sea, wonderful. Many thanks to Bryn and Ann for catering for us. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review-We're so pleased to hear that you had a good lunch.. The plans for our afternoon tea are going well and will be up and running in the next few weeks, we hope you'll be back soon to sample them! Ann and Bryn are delighted at your review-thank you.

Very best wishes,

Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Good food,good service,great views.I would happily recommend to friends and family,great location.I intend to use this as a base,when I'm in this vicinity.My grandson of three visited and was lent a bucket and spade,which was a nice touch.

Room Tip: I have stayed three times,each with a different room and view,great each time
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotshot19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you for your kind review; we are over the moon that our buckets and spades came in useful! I am in the process of re-stocking the tubs for the summer and finding little helpful ways to add to our customers stay. With 3 children ourselves, we want to make sure that our little customers are also well provided for!

We're really pleased you had a good stay and hope to see you again soon. Thanks again for taking the time to review us-it is really appreciated.

Best wishes,
Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We had our Wedding Vow renewal reception at the Spa on the afternoon and through to the evening. The staff were excellent, very friendly and efficient, and couldnt do enough for us. The meal on the afternoon was beautiful, and everyone in the party only had praise for it. The room was decorated with chair covers and table decorations (which were a gift from the owners as we had blown our budget!) and looked amazing, and there was even a games room for the children to play in and read books.
A few people stayed over and the rooms were very clean and well presented. The breakfast the morning after also got no complaints!
I would definitly recomend others to stay here and we will definittly be returning again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
What a lovely day it was! We are so pleased you had a special, memorable day and thank you for taking the time to put this on Trip advisor. Wishing you and your family all the very best for the exciting changes coming your way...Come and see us again when you're back in the Saltburn area.

Very best wishes,

Cathy Kelly and all the Spa team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Our band were playing in another hotel in Saltburn so we decided to have a meal at The Spa, having eaten there on previous occasions.
The staff were attentive and the meals were very enjoyable but we had to wait well over thirty minutes for the food to arrive and had to rush to get back to the gig in time.
The restaurant wasn't packed with people and we only ordered hot sandwiches so why it took so long I don't know. I would eat there again but hope the delivery is a little quicker.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for your review. We've tried to get to the bottom of why you had to wait so long. I suspect it was because there was a function going on upstairs but that's no excuse and we're sorry. Come again and we'll make sure it's an easier experience! As a new business, we're working hard to get it right so appreciate your feedback and comments.

Best wishes, Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We had an overnight stay at the Spa Hotel and would definitely stay again; we rented a family room and on entering our room were shocked to see 3 double beds plus plenty of room to move about.
Great place to stay and the staff customer service was very good .

Dont understand negative comments on here about this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
We're really pleased you had a good stay. Thanks very much for taking the time to feedback to us. It's really important to us that our family rooms are spacious and comfy with plenty of room for the bigger family too! We hope you come and see us again in the near future.

Best wishes,
Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Very disappointed with our stay, but saying that our room was very clean with a very comfy bed. Decorations were good also.up to now all goin well!! Next morning down for breakfast, the view out to sea beautiful! Waited at least 10 mins before any staff came near to see what we wanted, went for cereal-no bowls! Went for orange juice- no glasses! Waited again , in the end my husband went looking in various places for some and still no one helped him! Finally a waitress came to see what we wanted to eat and must have waited another 30 mins for our breakfast, when it came it really wasn't worth the wait unfortunately. We did have a word with the hotel owner who was most apologetic but in my opinion he should be training his staff better. Smooth running of an establishment starts at the top.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Micandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.

We're pleased that your bed was comfy, room was clean, you appreciated the decor and beautiful views. The view has always been good and all the other areas you mentioned have been part of our refurbishment plan so we're pleased they improved your stay.

As we discussed as you checked out, there was a significant problem yesterday as we were suddenly short staffed with very little notice, leaving our attending staff under a lot of pressure . Again, we apologise and this is something that happened as a one off. This was why we were very happy to refund your breakfast charge, as we did and apologised unreservedly at the time.

Kind Regards,

Jonathan Kelly (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltburn-by-the-Sea
0.2 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
212 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,479 reviews
13.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
9.4 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
522 reviews
6.3 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Property: The Spa Hotel
Address: The Spa Saltburn Bank, Saltburn-by-the-Sea TS12 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Victorian town of Saltburn by the sea, the Spa Hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Hunt Cliff, the North Sea and the beautiful surrounding countryside of North Yorkshire. With 27 comfortable hotel rooms; each with its own en-suite facilities including bathtub and overhead shower, you are sure to have relaxing stay at the spa hotel. Take in the atmosphere of Saltburn with a refreshing drink from our fine selection of Wine and Real Ales, menus are also available both lunchtime and evenings. Enjoy the magnificent views while you dine from our bright conservatory restaurant. With outstanding natural beauty on our doorstep, you are sure to follow the path from our hotel directly into the valley of some 90-acres of woodland to the rear of the hotel. Take in the award winning Italian gardens as you stroll by the natural stream running through the wooded valley, or catch Saltburn's miniature railway from the beach throughout the Valley Gardens. The Victorian resort of Saltburn-by-the-sea still lives on today, with Britain's oldest water-based cliff lift still in operation. The Saltburn cliff lift transports passengers up and down the 120ft embankment to the sea front, Saltburn's famous Victorian Pier and town centre. Saltburn retains all of the charm and elegance of its heyday as a thriving Victorian Resort. The Smugglers Heritage Centre details the history of the once prospering smuggler trade along this beautiful coastline. August sees the annual International Folk Festival welcoming visitors from around the world to celebrate in music, dance and song. "If you are considering visiting at this time of year please book early to avoid disappointment". The Spa Hotel situated within the historic county of North Yorkshire allows for easy exploration of everything the north of England has to offer. A short drive takes you into the peace and tranquility of the North Yorkshire Moors National Park; famous for its beautiful scenery, wildlife and ambient walks. The North Yorkshire Moors has much to offer and can be enjoyed on foot or through a nostalgic steam train journey from Grosmont to Pickering through unspoiled countryside. "Most recently made famous for the well known television series "Heartbeat"." To the East of the hotel lies the historic towns of Staithes and Whitby, notorious for their Captain Cook connections, both within 20 miles drive. Visit the Captain Cook birthplace museum in the Industrial revolutions heartland of Middlesbrough. To the west of the hotel lies the coastal fishing town of Redcar, home to the world's oldest lifeboat, Enjoy an exciting day at the horse races at Redcar's Racecourse or stroll along the beachfront promenade recently the setting of the Oscar winning "Atonement film" starring Keira Knightley. Further afield from the hotel, Just outside Middlesbrough, Teesside Retail and Leisure Complex boasts a multi screen cinema, bowling arena, casino, bars, nightclubs and eateries. There is all this and so much more within close proximity to the hotel; our friendly staff are always on hand to help recommend the best sites no matter what your taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Saltburn-By-The-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing