We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly seaside hotel and restaurant - great views”
Review of The Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Spa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly seaside hotel and restaurant - great views”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have stayed here many times and always been made most welcome by the lovely staff. The rooms are comfortable spacious and clean. Plumbing can be a bit noisy. The restaurant serves great food with a view of the sea and Huntcliff. The menu is restaurant quality - not standard pub grub, although you can get fish and chips if that's what you want. The food and wine are reasonably priced and there is a draught beer. There is a great dinner, bed and breakfast deal on at the moment - stunning value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you-what a lovely review. I'm not sure how yours slipped through the net without a reply-Sorry and thank you for taking the time to review us, it is very kind of you. We hope you will come back again one day and see the improvements we are making.

Best wishes,

Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    166
    60
    20
    10
See reviews for
122
189
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed here on returning to Saltburn, where we used to live. The hotel is in a brilliant position, overlooking the sea. We enjoyed our stay. The staff were very helpful, both on the phone when I was booking and asking for particular requirements and when we were there. The rooms are light and airy and warm ( very important for Mum). The towels were lovely and fluffy and the bedding clean and fresh. The cooked breakfast was very good. It would be great if wi-fi could be extended to bedrooms. The are ongoing improvements taking place but they did not affect our enjoyment. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypjess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. The addition of Wifi to our bedrooms is definitely on our list of planned improvements! I will pass on your comments to our staff-they work really hard and will appreciate them. We're glad your mum had a good time too and hope to see you again.

Many thanks,

Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel-en-le-Frith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My self and My wife were on the North Coast for a few days and called at the SPA on the Off-chance. The room was light and airy and was Very Clean. The deal we got that included the evening meal WAS Good value for money.WE Thoughouly enjoyed our stay and would definately GO BACK again.Bar prices were in line with Public Houses so you did'nt need the Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your review. The North East coast is a beautiful one and we hope the sun was out when you stayed. We're really pleased you enjoyed your visit and found everything you needed at the bar too- We have a great wine list and work hard to maintain quality whilst keeping our prices reasonable.

Best wishes and hope to see you again soon,

Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I am slightly disabled but that was no more of a problem than usual! I was allocated a lovely, clean room with a walk-in-shower instead of a bath. The weather was terrible, but the hotel was just lovely in every way: The staff were very kind, helpful and friendly, the views fantastic and the breakfasts excellent - I could ask for anything I wanted in addition to the good selection of the usual cereals and fruit.
I loved my stay of five nights and shall come again if I can still manage the short, steep slope at the hotel's entrance. Thankyou everybody at The Spa ! (Mrs E.J. Harpur)

Room Tip: If you find dificulty getting in and out of a bath, ask for a room with a walk-in-shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor Joyce H... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you Mrs Harpur, you were a pleasure to have staying and we're so glad you enjoyed the break. We really appreciate your review and lovely email and hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes, Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2013

will be back spring bank very good.the staff were excellent stayed here over the last few years 100 % improvement well done .liked the patio what a view,short walk up to local shops ,a very good butchers and supermarket .a short walk down to beach .will be back

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topmanrotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thanks very much for your review and for commenting on our improvements. Our Hotel is in such a beautiful location overlooking the sea and we're committed to making it a relaxing holiday spot for all our guests; somewhere that our guests can use as a comfortable, friendly base from which to enjoy the lovely town and beach.

We're so pleased you had a good stay and hope to see you again.

Best wishes, Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Four of us , two couples . Just had a great weekend break at the Spa Hotel on the spring rate.
The hotel was clean , rooms good size & spotless,
Peaceful & quiet .
All the staff was extremely friendly and helpful ,
Evening meal very enjoyable, breakfast was 100%
excellent . We did have a wander to a couple of pubs in town , but the hotel bar was comfortable served good beer and was cheaper !
We shall be returning in the future .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samelainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay; your comments are very kind. Thanks very much for taking the time to review us and we hope you all come back again in the future.

Best wishes,

Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed at The Spa Hotel for the weekend on a Dinner Bed & Breakfast Offer. The hotel was very nice,clean, good location, rooms excellent. However we had booked DBB and we were told that because the kitchen closed at 4pm on a Sunday we would not be able to have an evening meal and the only option was to have The Carvery that was served until 4pm. The lady told us we were the only couple staying for dinner and it would mean the chef staying late just for us. We were very annoyed but we had the carvery. So you can imagine our annoyance when we arrived back at the hotel at 5.30pm to discover the kitchen was still open and they were serving evening meals.. I did complain to a member of staff at the bar who was very apologetic and he arranged a refund of £20.00 because of the inconvenience. Needless to say this ruined our weekend and we were celebrated 36 years of marriage over a carvery. So very disappointed with a member of staffs attitude

Room Tip: If you book DBB make sure the kitchen is open
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
We were really sorry to hear what happened when we were told about this by Billy (whom you spoke with that evening) and he explained about the situation. We have spoken with the member of staff who gave you the incorrect information, it will not happen again and we were equally unhappy about the way you were dealt with. It's a real shame because our staff at the hotel work really hard and this sort of thing leaves everybody feeling very disappointed.

We have tried to contact you today and will try again.

Best wishes, Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltburn-by-the-Sea
0.2 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
9.4 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Property: The Spa Hotel
Address: The Spa Saltburn Bank, Saltburn-by-the-Sea TS12 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Victorian town of Saltburn by the sea, the Spa Hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Hunt Cliff, the North Sea and the beautiful surrounding countryside of North Yorkshire. With 27 comfortable hotel rooms; each with its own en-suite facilities including bathtub and overhead shower, you are sure to have relaxing stay at the spa hotel. Take in the atmosphere of Saltburn with a refreshing drink from our fine selection of Wine and Real Ales, menus are also available both lunchtime and evenings. Enjoy the magnificent views while you dine from our bright conservatory restaurant. With outstanding natural beauty on our doorstep, you are sure to follow the path from our hotel directly into the valley of some 90-acres of woodland to the rear of the hotel. Take in the award winning Italian gardens as you stroll by the natural stream running through the wooded valley, or catch Saltburn's miniature railway from the beach throughout the Valley Gardens. The Victorian resort of Saltburn-by-the-sea still lives on today, with Britain's oldest water-based cliff lift still in operation. The Saltburn cliff lift transports passengers up and down the 120ft embankment to the sea front, Saltburn's famous Victorian Pier and town centre. Saltburn retains all of the charm and elegance of its heyday as a thriving Victorian Resort. The Smugglers Heritage Centre details the history of the once prospering smuggler trade along this beautiful coastline. August sees the annual International Folk Festival welcoming visitors from around the world to celebrate in music, dance and song. "If you are considering visiting at this time of year please book early to avoid disappointment". The Spa Hotel situated within the historic county of North Yorkshire allows for easy exploration of everything the north of England has to offer. A short drive takes you into the peace and tranquility of the North Yorkshire Moors National Park; famous for its beautiful scenery, wildlife and ambient walks. The North Yorkshire Moors has much to offer and can be enjoyed on foot or through a nostalgic steam train journey from Grosmont to Pickering through unspoiled countryside. "Most recently made famous for the well known television series "Heartbeat"." To the East of the hotel lies the historic towns of Staithes and Whitby, notorious for their Captain Cook connections, both within 20 miles drive. Visit the Captain Cook birthplace museum in the Industrial revolutions heartland of Middlesbrough. To the west of the hotel lies the coastal fishing town of Redcar, home to the world's oldest lifeboat, Enjoy an exciting day at the horse races at Redcar's Racecourse or stroll along the beachfront promenade recently the setting of the Oscar winning "Atonement film" starring Keira Knightley. Further afield from the hotel, Just outside Middlesbrough, Teesside Retail and Leisure Complex boasts a multi screen cinema, bowling arena, casino, bars, nightclubs and eateries. There is all this and so much more within close proximity to the hotel; our friendly staff are always on hand to help recommend the best sites no matter what your taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Saltburn-By-The-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing