We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot for coffee”
Review of The Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Spa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stopped for morning coffee because the location looked as if there was a good view...there was, but unfortunately we couldn't use the dining room because of 'cleaning'. So our view was onto a car park from the bar. The service and the coffee was good though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for reviewing us-we are pleased you enjoyed our coffee and you found the service to be good. It appears you possibly popped in when our staff were doing our post-breakfast clean of the conservatory which is a shame (but an essential part of our set up for the day ahead) and maybe the outside tables on the decking overlooking the sea were full?

We hope you will come back again and enjoy the views from our conservatory.

Best wishes,

Cathy Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

My we wife & two children had a family room & were not disappointed. The room was huge & very clean. The staff were all very welcoming & friendly. The hotel is being renovated at the moment but this wasn't a problem & didn't affect our stay in any way. Ignore the negative reviews & give it a try.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dazhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for reviewing us and for your kind words. Our family rooms will only be improving as our new carpets are order (something we are very excited about!) We hope to see you again and appreciate you taking the time to add your experience.

Best wishes,

Cathy Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Courteous people, clean hotel. Excellent location and great value.
Visited on business, will probably return with the family.
Hotel overlooks the bay and just a couple of minutes walk down steep hill or steps from the beach and pier.

Room Tip: Family room is huge with 2 doubles and a single. Even Premier Inn couldn't beat that!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank world_traveller826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you- we hope you do get the chance to return with your family.

Saltburn has so much to offer families and getting our family rooms right is really important to us. We know that when we travel with our kids we are always delighted with a large room and often struggle, with 3 children, to find anywhere offering large enough rooms to hold us all. Interconnecting rooms have their advantages (we do have these too) but keeping the cost down can be good too. Being able to comfortably sleep larger families is something we are really pleased about.

Come again!

Best wishes,

Cathy Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We happened upon the lovely Spa hotel when on a day trip to Saltburn from our holiday base in Whitby. We loved the place and the kids were far too busy in the sea/ lovely park to leave in time to get back for tea. We decided to try the Spa hotel and had a fabulous table over looking the whole bay... Beautiful! I'm guessing the owners have children as it was very family friendly with a great childrens menu which included a starter of dough balls or veg sticks. loads of mains, ice cream and a drink all for £6. Really good idea and the boys loved getting their own starter too. They had a pens/ colouring pads and books to look at.

The food quality was absolutely outstanding, all home made and so so tasty. We are quite fussy and we really bowled over by what we got. I had the chicken liver parfait with stacks of brown toast and homemade onion chutney followed by short crust pastry steak pie, veg and chips. I was so so full but we shared a summer fruits crumble as just couldn't resist!! Thanks to the chef and the staff who were all great. Found a review up above very bizzare about the staff and such a shame when people resort to nastiness about one tiny tiny aspect of they stay. We will come and stay next time. Thanks again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linz1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

I am so sorry-I thought we had replied to your review but it managed to slip through the Trip advisor review. What a lovely review and thank you.

We have been through quite a few changes in our kitchen and are so delighted about the positive changes including the children's menu. It is so important to us that all the family enjoy the experience and we also know how the odd colouring pad and reading book can help weary children after a long day on the beach! I'm chuffed that you like our Chutney too-it is my favourite...

Your last few comments are really kind and supportive. we're working hard as are all our staff so thank you, we appreciate it.

Come again!

Best wishes, Cathy Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

I stopped here while working in the area and was pleasantly surprised. Staff were friendly and helpful. The food was very nice and was looked forward to each day. I would visit again on a weekend trip with family.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you-we hope you do get the chance to come with your family in the future. I will make sure our staff read your review too; thanks for your kind words.

Best wishes,

Cathy Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Our room was spacious, bright and spotlessly clean. This hotel is excellent value for money, priced about the same as some budget chain hotels we've stayed at, but with character, bar, and conservatory dining room with superb views. Its a short walk to all the cafes and bars on the shore. I was also pleasantly surprised by the food both at breakfast and dinner, which we took both nights. The staff are young, helpful and hardworking. A small problem I had (bed too hard for a 60-year old with arthritis - almost every hotel bed is!) was resolved by spending a few seconds at reception asking for what we would like. And, despite being a light sleeper, I didn't hear a sound (in room 35).

I read Tripadvisor reviews before we left and was a bit downhearted, but these reviews are unkind and unhelpful. You can't pay budget prices and expect four star facilities. This is a good hotel which tries hard, and you should always give people a chance to put things right if you don't like what you're given. We all make mistakes, especially inexperienced staff. Ok, we didn't have a towel rail, but it's made very clear that if you leave your towels in the bath, you get clean ones.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want when you make the booking - eg if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you so much for your review and your feedback. We are on a mission with those towel rails but thanks for pointing out that there are clear instructions about towel changes etc. Our new Chef and menu is something that we too are very pleased with, so thank you for mentioning it.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Cathy Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stopped for two nights in August and were happy with the hotel. The location is excellent, basically half way up the hill between the seafront and the town. We thought the breakfasts were good and also had one evening meal there, which was also good. Staff were very helpful at all times. The hotel is clearly going through a fairly major renovation. Only negative point is that the wifi seemed non-existent! All in all, a good hotel and would happily go back.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank c72ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for reviewing us and we're really pleased you had a good stay. Our refurb is ploughing and we have some great plans for the place so we hope you come back again one day. Wifi is on the hit list..In some spots, it's perfect...others less so....but I'm sure we will find a way of sorting it soon.

Best wishes,

Cathy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltburn-by-the-Sea
1.7 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
241 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,120 reviews
13.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
870 reviews
9.4 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Address: Saltburn Bank, Saltburn-by-the-Sea TS12 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Price Range: £77 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Spa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Victorian town of Saltburn by the sea, the Spa Hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Hunt Cliff, the North Sea and the beautiful surrounding countryside of North Yorkshire. With comfortable hotel rooms; each with its own en-suite facilities you are sure to have relaxing stay. Take in the atmosphere of Saltburn whilst enjoying a delicious meal or a refreshing drink on our decking area. Within a 20 minute drive you can visit the the quaint villages of staithes, also known for the birth place of Captain Cook, runswick bay & the seaside resort of Whitby. We are also located right on the 109 mile long cleveland way. If your wanting to do some shopping whilst visiting, Middlesbrough is only 25 minutes drive, which you can also catch the train from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Saltburn-By-The-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing