We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel which serves good food & is good value for money”
Review of The Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Spa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Good 3 nights stay in a double room nicely decorated, clean and spacious. Good furniture, comfortable bed, good bed linen and pillows .

Tasty breakfasts, with a large menu of hot dishes to choose from as well as a selection of cereals, fresh fruits, freshly baked croissants and pastries. They are served (quick and good service) in the Conservatory Restaurant which offers great views over the beach.

The restaurant serves morning coffee, light bites, lunches and evening meals. I had a late lunch on the day I arrived (on the new decking area with tables and chairs overlooking the beach), the food was nice and I also enjoyed 1 evening meal there.

The owners (it is a family run hotel) have done a good job since they took the hotel over 1 year ago, 75% of the refurbishments have been done, it is a nice place which deserve a chance, it will be an even better place once the en suite bathrooms which have only been given a make over are fully refurbished.

Give them a try, I am pleased I did.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to put your experience in writing. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you come again. We are really pleased that our new breakfast menu is up and running and appreciate you mentioning it. It's an exciting time at the hotel and every month will see positive changes-come again and we hope we've got to 100%!

Best wishes,

Cathy and Jonathan Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Thank you for friendly staff , fantastic food, brilliant view from the restaurant - and the area overlooking the beach. My kids loved your library and play area! Good luck with the ongoing renovations - we look forward to seeing the changes when we return.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you-we are so pleased you had a good stay. This summer has been so positive for us and we are delighted to hear that children and families are having an easy and restful stay at the hotel. Our ultimate aim is to have a hotel which offers families the ease of self catering, with the ease of somebody else doing the cooking and making the beds!

We hope you come again and see the changes as we plough ahead with the refurb.

Best wishes,

Cathy and Jonathan Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

we spent 2 nights at the 'spa' . i have given it 5 stars for trying . the good points location rooms good hot water in shower dining room and the breakfast was fine service was attentive.

the downside is they take contractors in and on friday morning when these wanted a early start we all go a early call . doors bang a lot . the rooms even though renovated could do with a bit of care bits missing like the fire door closers and the bath was very high to get in . taps could not and did not work correctly and did not fully adjust from shower to bath .pad on back of door for hook was missing [ sorry pad was there hook missing]
so many dogs being allowed into rooms i counted every other group of clients.
very noisy children at breakfast because parents went on one table and left young children to fend for themselves perhaps i reminder that parents should supervise there children during mealtimes.
we dined in one night and had the roast which was great ,next day we got a pot of tea to have on the decking overlooking the bay fantastic
the remarks i have made are hopefully taken in the best light as i think this will be a great place one all the renovations are taken place and the snagging is made in the finished places thanks for the stay

Room Tip: choose one at the back from about 24 to 28
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bearsbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for your review. we really appreciate your comments and absolutely take them in the best possible light. We hope you come again and we're on a mission to find the door which is missing a hook.

We do welcome everybody and strongly believe that there is a place for all in our hotel; families, walkers, golfers, contractors, couples, dog owners and every other possible category of guest! We do actually only have a limited number of dog friendly bedrooms as appreciate that some of our guests will have allergies. We do, however, between all 3 of us owners have 3 small dogs who bob in and out regularly which is possibly where you got the impression that we are a rescue centre! Don't worry, whilst we encourage dogs, we prioritise the needs of all our guests.

Best wishes and we hope you come back again,

Cathy Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stopped for morning coffee because the location looked as if there was a good view...there was, but unfortunately we couldn't use the dining room because of 'cleaning'. So our view was onto a car park from the bar. The service and the coffee was good though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for reviewing us-we are pleased you enjoyed our coffee and you found the service to be good. It appears you possibly popped in when our staff were doing our post-breakfast clean of the conservatory which is a shame (but an essential part of our set up for the day ahead) and maybe the outside tables on the decking overlooking the sea were full?

We hope you will come back again and enjoy the views from our conservatory.

Best wishes,

Cathy Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My we wife & two children had a family room & were not disappointed. The room was huge & very clean. The staff were all very welcoming & friendly. The hotel is being renovated at the moment but this wasn't a problem & didn't affect our stay in any way. Ignore the negative reviews & give it a try.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dazhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for reviewing us and for your kind words. Our family rooms will only be improving as our new carpets are order (something we are very excited about!) We hope to see you again and appreciate you taking the time to add your experience.

Best wishes,

Cathy Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Courteous people, clean hotel. Excellent location and great value.
Visited on business, will probably return with the family.
Hotel overlooks the bay and just a couple of minutes walk down steep hill or steps from the beach and pier.

Room Tip: Family room is huge with 2 doubles and a single. Even Premier Inn couldn't beat that!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank world_traveller826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you- we hope you do get the chance to return with your family.

Saltburn has so much to offer families and getting our family rooms right is really important to us. We know that when we travel with our kids we are always delighted with a large room and often struggle, with 3 children, to find anywhere offering large enough rooms to hold us all. Interconnecting rooms have their advantages (we do have these too) but keeping the cost down can be good too. Being able to comfortably sleep larger families is something we are really pleased about.

Come again!

Best wishes,

Cathy Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We happened upon the lovely Spa hotel when on a day trip to Saltburn from our holiday base in Whitby. We loved the place and the kids were far too busy in the sea/ lovely park to leave in time to get back for tea. We decided to try the Spa hotel and had a fabulous table over looking the whole bay... Beautiful! I'm guessing the owners have children as it was very family friendly with a great childrens menu which included a starter of dough balls or veg sticks. loads of mains, ice cream and a drink all for £6. Really good idea and the boys loved getting their own starter too. They had a pens/ colouring pads and books to look at.

The food quality was absolutely outstanding, all home made and so so tasty. We are quite fussy and we really bowled over by what we got. I had the chicken liver parfait with stacks of brown toast and homemade onion chutney followed by short crust pastry steak pie, veg and chips. I was so so full but we shared a summer fruits crumble as just couldn't resist!! Thanks to the chef and the staff who were all great. Found a review up above very bizzare about the staff and such a shame when people resort to nastiness about one tiny tiny aspect of they stay. We will come and stay next time. Thanks again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linz1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

I am so sorry-I thought we had replied to your review but it managed to slip through the Trip advisor review. What a lovely review and thank you.

We have been through quite a few changes in our kitchen and are so delighted about the positive changes including the children's menu. It is so important to us that all the family enjoy the experience and we also know how the odd colouring pad and reading book can help weary children after a long day on the beach! I'm chuffed that you like our Chutney too-it is my favourite...

Your last few comments are really kind and supportive. we're working hard as are all our staff so thank you, we appreciate it.

Come again!

Best wishes, Cathy Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltburn-by-the-Sea
1.7 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
252 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,164 reviews
9.4 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
547 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Address: Saltburn Bank, Saltburn-by-the-Sea TS12 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Price Range: £74 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Spa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Victorian town of Saltburn by the sea, the Spa Hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Hunt Cliff, the North Sea and the beautiful surrounding countryside of North Yorkshire. With comfortable hotel rooms; each with its own en-suite facilities you are sure to have relaxing stay. Take in the atmosphere of Saltburn whilst enjoying a delicious meal or a refreshing drink on our decking area. Within a 20 minute drive you can visit the the quaint villages of staithes, also known for the birth place of Captain Cook, runswick bay & the seaside resort of Whitby. We are also located right on the 109 mile long cleveland way. If your wanting to do some shopping whilst visiting, Middlesbrough is only 25 minutes drive, which you can also catch the train from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Saltburn-By-The-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing