We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday lunch”
Review of The Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Spa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We are some of those regular visitors for Sunday lunch at the Spa Hotel.
The Carvery Lunch is absolutely exceptional.
The Staff, all Staff have been extremely friendly towards us and cannot do enough for us. We have highly recommended the Spa to all our friends. This must be without a doubt, be the best carvery in the area.

Thank you Bryn, Kennedy, Paul, Claire, to name but a few for making our Sundays so special.

Val Paul and Harry and Friends Jan and Barry Middlesbrough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earthbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you-it is very kind of you to take the time to review us and all the staff are delighted!

We love our Sundays at The Spa~ great food and a really lovely family atmosphere. We are really pleased that, as the refurbishment has continued, we have welcomed lots of new customers through the doors but always appreciate our wonderful loyal customers and take such pleasure in familiar faces being the norm on a Sunday.

See you soon and best wishes,

Cathy Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

Our Sunday lunch was as good as any home cooked Sunday dinner. The carvery was excellent with a wide choice of meats, beef, pork or turkey.Vegetables were fresh, gravy delicious. Very generous portions. Staff could not have been more helpful. It was the best Sunday dinner we have had out. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. Our Chefs and kitchen staff will be delighted and we hope to see you again soon. Many of our Customers are regular Sunday visitors and it is lovely for us and our staff to recognise regular guests each week.

Best wishes,

Cathy Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

If you want a good, clean hotel at the beach this is it. But the decor is dated and needs to be updated. Ask for a room in the back. Our room had an amazing view of the water and was quiet. Difficult to get in and out of the tall tub, no towel racks. Sitting outside enjoying the breath taking view when the staff sat next to us to smoke. Great location, clean but you play for the view and location. Not the room. Very friendly and helpful staff. Please update the locks from old fashion push bottom lock.

Room Tip: Ask for a view away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beach G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Just stayed for a single night,surely one of the finest locations on the North East coast.The food was excellent,the staff both pleasant and helpfull and the Hotel itself decorated in both a quirky yet pleasant way.Possibly a minor point to some it was a treat to have a Hotel room that had windows that actually opened and let in some fresh air(Premier Inn etc please take note)Thank you to all the staff at the Spa for a lovely stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

What a lovely review-thank you. All of the areas you have commented on are really appreciated-our food is an area that we really wanted to improve when we took over the hotel. Our new Head chef and kitchen staff have worked hard to achieve this and all our staff will really appreciate your kind words.

Please come again and thank you. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay!

Best wishes, Cathy Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Good 3 nights stay in a double room nicely decorated, clean and spacious. Good furniture, comfortable bed, good bed linen and pillows .

Tasty breakfasts, with a large menu of hot dishes to choose from as well as a selection of cereals, fresh fruits, freshly baked croissants and pastries. They are served (quick and good service) in the Conservatory Restaurant which offers great views over the beach.

The restaurant serves morning coffee, light bites, lunches and evening meals. I had a late lunch on the day I arrived (on the new decking area with tables and chairs overlooking the beach), the food was nice and I also enjoyed 1 evening meal there.

The owners (it is a family run hotel) have done a good job since they took the hotel over 1 year ago, 75% of the refurbishments have been done, it is a nice place which deserve a chance, it will be an even better place once the en suite bathrooms which have only been given a make over are fully refurbished.

Give them a try, I am pleased I did.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to put your experience in writing. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you come again. We are really pleased that our new breakfast menu is up and running and appreciate you mentioning it. It's an exciting time at the hotel and every month will see positive changes-come again and we hope we've got to 100%!

Best wishes,

Cathy and Jonathan Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Thank you for friendly staff , fantastic food, brilliant view from the restaurant - and the area overlooking the beach. My kids loved your library and play area! Good luck with the ongoing renovations - we look forward to seeing the changes when we return.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you-we are so pleased you had a good stay. This summer has been so positive for us and we are delighted to hear that children and families are having an easy and restful stay at the hotel. Our ultimate aim is to have a hotel which offers families the ease of self catering, with the ease of somebody else doing the cooking and making the beds!

We hope you come again and see the changes as we plough ahead with the refurb.

Best wishes,

Cathy and Jonathan Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

we spent 2 nights at the 'spa' . i have given it 5 stars for trying . the good points location rooms good hot water in shower dining room and the breakfast was fine service was attentive.

the downside is they take contractors in and on friday morning when these wanted a early start we all go a early call . doors bang a lot . the rooms even though renovated could do with a bit of care bits missing like the fire door closers and the bath was very high to get in . taps could not and did not work correctly and did not fully adjust from shower to bath .pad on back of door for hook was missing [ sorry pad was there hook missing]
so many dogs being allowed into rooms i counted every other group of clients.
very noisy children at breakfast because parents went on one table and left young children to fend for themselves perhaps i reminder that parents should supervise there children during mealtimes.
we dined in one night and had the roast which was great ,next day we got a pot of tea to have on the decking overlooking the bay fantastic
the remarks i have made are hopefully taken in the best light as i think this will be a great place one all the renovations are taken place and the snagging is made in the finished places thanks for the stay

Room Tip: choose one at the back from about 24 to 28
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bearsbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for your review. we really appreciate your comments and absolutely take them in the best possible light. We hope you come again and we're on a mission to find the door which is missing a hook.

We do welcome everybody and strongly believe that there is a place for all in our hotel; families, walkers, golfers, contractors, couples, dog owners and every other possible category of guest! We do actually only have a limited number of dog friendly bedrooms as appreciate that some of our guests will have allergies. We do, however, between all 3 of us owners have 3 small dogs who bob in and out regularly which is possibly where you got the impression that we are a rescue centre! Don't worry, whilst we encourage dogs, we prioritise the needs of all our guests.

Best wishes and we hope you come back again,

Cathy Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltburn-by-the-Sea
1.7 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
258 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
9.4 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
550 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Endeavour Staithes with Luxury Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Address: Saltburn Bank, Saltburn-by-the-Sea TS12 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Price Range: £68 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Spa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Victorian town of Saltburn by the sea, the Spa Hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Hunt Cliff, the North Sea and the beautiful surrounding countryside of North Yorkshire. With comfortable hotel rooms; each with its own en-suite facilities you are sure to have relaxing stay. Take in the atmosphere of Saltburn whilst enjoying a delicious meal or a refreshing drink on our decking area. Within a 20 minute drive you can visit the the quaint villages of staithes, also known for the birth place of Captain Cook, runswick bay & the seaside resort of Whitby. We are also located right on the 109 mile long cleveland way. If your wanting to do some shopping whilst visiting, Middlesbrough is only 25 minutes drive, which you can also catch the train from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Saltburn-By-The-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing