We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Spa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
176 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We spent one night here during our tour of the north east and enjoyed our stay.

Friendly, efficient receptionist and easy check-in.

Nice, clean room towards the rear and a comfortable bed. We had our Chocolate Labrador with us and were pleased that the hotel provided big comfortable dog beds.

Breakfast was served in the bar area and was freshly cooked and high quality. The waitress service was excellent.

The exterior of the hotel has suffered some recent storm damage and parts of the stonework are showing their age - but the owners are undertaking a lot of exterior renovations to rectify this.

With its excellent views across the sea and plenty of parking space, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We are working hard on the inside of the building and the masonry is next on the hit list! The storms didn't help but such beautiful old buildings also need a bit of TLC now and then which is our plan.

Our reception, front of house staff and kitchen will be delighted by your kind words-thank you so much for taking the time.

Best wishes-come again soon,

Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    164
    60
    19
    10
See reviews for
122
185
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had a great day in peaceful surroundings; very well looked after, so the teaching flowed and those attending got the best out of the day. A lovely meal at mid-day - I would certainly use this venue again. Many thanks. Inner Shell Therapy NLPtCA.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnPJ8026XK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you-very good to add a review on to Trip advisor. We are just starting to focus on training rooms at the hotel as part of our development plan and concentrating on promoting this area of our business. We appreciate you highlighting your experience with us and hope to see you again.

Best wishes, Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Myself & 16 friends stayed at the Spa Hotel in January to celebrate my birthday. The welcome we got was warm & cordial with nothing too much trouble to make our stay a happy one.
The staff were helpful & eager to please. The hotel was warm , the bedrooms spotless.
We ate in the resturant in the evening, the food was good, the service firstclass and a happy night was had by all.
We can certainly recommend a stay here for Saltburn & the surrounding area!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, the views are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you so much and how lovely to hear that you had a happy weekend away with us. We have a new Head Chef starting this week which is very exciting for the hotel as is an area which we look forward very much to developing.

We hope you come again in the future.

Thanks again and best wishes,

Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateshead
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My friend and I stayed at The Spa Hotel, Saltburn on 1st November 2013, We booked to see "China Crisis" play there. We had no idea where Saltburn by the Sea was but really wanted to see the band so booked it. We were not dissapointed. Firstly the hotel was a short walk (5 mins) from the train station and was stood in beautiful surroundings, we were met at reception by a member of staff who told us we were a little early for check in but were more than welcome to relax and have a drink while we waited. He chatted to us about hotel and area and was really friendly and helpfull. Once we checked in we were shown to our room which was clean, comfortable and cosy. After a nice stroll we had our evening meal which was delicious and generous sized portions before going into the main hall to watch the band. After the show we had drinks in the bar which stayed open very late and was really friendly and welcoming. After a lovely nights sleep we had a plentifull breakfast with lots of choices. Could not fault this hotel for anything, look forward to staying there again and would recomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
What a lovely review-Thank you! It was a great weekend and we're so pleased you enjoyed your seaside break.

China Crisis were great and we hope they will be coming back too-I will let you know if I hear anything....We have lots of gigs coming up over the coming year which are posted on the Live Music section of our website. We will be running the same sorts of dinner, bed and breakfast deals to tie in with them so hope to see you again in 2014.

Best wishes and huge thanks,

Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed at the Spa hotel Saltburn and read some of the previous reviews which were mixed. However i stayed after the new management had taken over.
The room was excellent, very clean with a very comfortable kingsize bed.
Great relaxing swanky bar area and a lovely breakfast.
The staff were really helpful and very friendly.
I travel every week with my job and stay in good business class hotels in the UK or Europe every week. I stayed at the Spa hotel on a private visit to Saltburn and i would have to score it highly 8/10, it is great value for money.
The only let down i would say was the grouting in the bathroom required a little tidying up. But overall the hotel is excellent and i would certainly recommend it. Thanks for a great stay.
Kenny and Teala.

Room Tip: Room 28 excellent comfy king size bed with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we're on a bathroom mission at the moment! It is the perfect time of year to get on top of all those remedying jobs and our maintenance team are working very hard. Do come again and see how we're getting on-We have lots of plans and are opening our Amber Rooms (holistic and beauty therapy rooms) in March this year.

Thanks for taking the time to review us and very best wishes,

Cathy and Jonathan Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We called in on Boxing Day for a cup of coffee, and perhaps a some cake or scones etc. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming and we sat overlooking the sea in the conservatory, with beautiful views!

We were advised they only had sandwiches and soup on offer, which was fine, however a few minutes later the lovely lady suggested we may like some mini cakes which are normally part of the afternoon tea so we said yes. An equally nice young man brought them to us and told us about them, they were lovely! Just right for a taste and we even brought a few home.

All in all a very enjoyable time was spent, and when it came to paying we were surprised to find the cakes were not charged for, which was very generous!

Thank you again :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We've recently started having a "Cake of the Week", including a mini cupcake with all of Teas and Coffees. The Cakes are made just for us by an award winning local cakemaker "Sadie May Cakes" and are gorgeous! You were possibly one of the 1st customers as we started it just after Christmas so we're delighted that you enjoyed them.

Come again and thank you for posting your feedback~Is much appreciated.

Best wishes, Cathy and Jonathan Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My new husband and I had our wedding reception at the Spa last week and were so touched by Cathy and Jon's lovely attitude. After being messed about by our original venue, they came to our rescue with only two weeks notice and were like a breath of fresh air. NOTHING seemed too much trouble, EVERYTHING was really reasonably priced (the word 'wedding' didn't hike the prices up at all), the conservatory looked absolutely beautiful with hundreds of fairy lights and tea light candles, and the staff were all so helpful and friendly. We honestly can't fault a thing and are so grateful to them for helping make our day so beautiful and memorable. We will be returning without a doubt, for afternoon teas and carveries, as I expect many of our guests will, and I would recommend the Spa for a wedding without a seconds hesitation. Thank you all again and again. Jess and Thom xxx

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Jess and Thom,

Thank you so much for your review and for getting Christmas off to such a flying start with your beautiful wedding. You and your guests were such a lovely group and your wedding was a delight to be a part of-Last minute just makes it more of an exciting challenge!

Best wishes, come and see us soon and thanks again,

Cathy and Jonathan Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltburn-by-the-Sea
0.2 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
159 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
413 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,939 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
9.4 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Property: The Spa Hotel
Address: The Spa Saltburn Bank, Saltburn-by-the-Sea TS12 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Victorian town of Saltburn by the sea, the Spa Hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Hunt Cliff, the North Sea and the beautiful surrounding countryside of North Yorkshire. With 27 comfortable hotel rooms; each with its own en-suite facilities including bathtub and overhead shower, you are sure to have relaxing stay at the spa hotel. Take in the atmosphere of Saltburn with a refreshing drink from our fine selection of Wine and Real Ales, menus are also available both lunchtime and evenings. Enjoy the magnificent views while you dine from our bright conservatory restaurant. With outstanding natural beauty on our doorstep, you are sure to follow the path from our hotel directly into the valley of some 90-acres of woodland to the rear of the hotel. Take in the award winning Italian gardens as you stroll by the natural stream running through the wooded valley, or catch Saltburn's miniature railway from the beach throughout the Valley Gardens. The Victorian resort of Saltburn-by-the-sea still lives on today, with Britain's oldest water-based cliff lift still in operation. The Saltburn cliff lift transports passengers up and down the 120ft embankment to the sea front, Saltburn's famous Victorian Pier and town centre. Saltburn retains all of the charm and elegance of its heyday as a thriving Victorian Resort. The Smugglers Heritage Centre details the history of the once prospering smuggler trade along this beautiful coastline. August sees the annual International Folk Festival welcoming visitors from around the world to celebrate in music, dance and song. "If you are considering visiting at this time of year please book early to avoid disappointment". The Spa Hotel situated within the historic county of North Yorkshire allows for easy exploration of everything the north of England has to offer. A short drive takes you into the peace and tranquility of the North Yorkshire Moors National Park; famous for its beautiful scenery, wildlife and ambient walks. The North Yorkshire Moors has much to offer and can be enjoyed on foot or through a nostalgic steam train journey from Grosmont to Pickering through unspoiled countryside. "Most recently made famous for the well known television series "Heartbeat"." To the East of the hotel lies the historic towns of Staithes and Whitby, notorious for their Captain Cook connections, both within 20 miles drive. Visit the Captain Cook birthplace museum in the Industrial revolutions heartland of Middlesbrough. To the west of the hotel lies the coastal fishing town of Redcar, home to the world's oldest lifeboat, Enjoy an exciting day at the horse races at Redcar's Racecourse or stroll along the beachfront promenade recently the setting of the Oscar winning "Atonement film" starring Keira Knightley. Further afield from the hotel, Just outside Middlesbrough, Teesside Retail and Leisure Complex boasts a multi screen cinema, bowling arena, casino, bars, nightclubs and eateries. There is all this and so much more within close proximity to the hotel; our friendly staff are always on hand to help recommend the best sites no matter what your taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Saltburn-By-The-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing