We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay.”
Review of The Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Spa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night at the beginning of April whilst visiting relatives in Guisborough. We wanted to stay local and not in a chain hotel so we choose the Spa Hotel and we are pleased that we did.
The staff were very friendly, the rooms were clean and tidy, the breakfast over looking the sea was excellent.
Thank you to the Spa in Saltburn for a pleasant one night stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faye w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing us and we're very pleased you had a good stay. We are constantly improving our hotel so hope to see you again in the future when our newly refurbished rooms and beauty rooms have opened.

Best wishes and thanks again,

Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    173
    66
    22
    11
See reviews for
130
201
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were met with a friendly welcome when arriving at Reception and shown to our room. The room was clean and very comfortable with coffee/tea making facilities, television etc. The bath/shower room was modern and clean with a supply of soaps and shampoo. There was a continuous supply of hot water.
The position of the hotel is first class, with views over the bay from the breakfast conservatory. Weekend newspapers were available to read in the reception foyer.
Breakfast was served from 7 - 10am which was very convenient as it allowed us to go for a stroll to work up an appetite for the excellent full English breakfast.
We will definitely stay at this hotel again and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurraKarankaKanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you for your very lovely and generous review. It's good of you to take the time and we really appreciate your words. We're also delighted that you had a good stay~ these things really matter to us.

Hope to see you again one day in the future.

Best wishes,

Cathy and Jonathan Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We arrived at the spa hotel on Sunday, no one was on reception on arrival.. Our room was very basic. As we had visited family all day and travelled we just wanted to watch TV for the night, couldn't get the TV working. So I asked at reception and a lady's aid the Arial has broke. She offered us another room but we had already made plans by then. When we arrived back later we seen that the slats on the bed where missing and had to shuffle them around so it was even. Also the tea and coffee bit was dusty as well as dints in the bath. Also I caught my leg on the bed which turned out to be a screw which a ball should have been over. I didn't feel that our room was overly clean. The service from night staff was good. The breakfast wasn't the best either. I found it was to greasy and didn't eat half of it. For 75 pound I really do not think the standard of the hotel is worth that. Although we was given 10 pound discount for our TV not working I don't think I would ever return. Really disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and came across a few problems. I wanted to just address a few areas with you if I may. On Sunday evening, we had 3 bedrooms booked out which will be why our receptionist was not permanently stationed at the front reception area. We do have a bell which was possibly not obvious to you. I have checked with our Manager who confirmed that the booster signal for your bedroom had failed on Sunday but that you turned down a change of room and watched TV in our snug area instead. The signal issue was resolved overnight but is a shame it impacted on your stay so much. As you say, your room price was accordingly discounted upon departure.

We will look into the other things you have mentioned. The refurbishment is ongoing and it is possible that we have failed to notice a problem with your bed. This is easy to rectify so is a shame we were unaware before your review, but it will be dealt with.

We have excellent feedback about our breakfasts as you can see on Trip Advisor-I'm sorry you did not enjoy yours. We had 24 other rooms available on Sunday night so is such a shame that the one you had was not to your satisfaction.

Best regards,

Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

No one at reception or bar when we arrived. a member of staff passing through went and found someone for us.shown to our twin room No 19. First thing that struck me was dog bed and bowl and the aroma of dogs. I was informed dogs are welcome at the hotel. I would think separate rooms should be allocated as not all of us like to stay in rooms where dogs have been. Room clean and well decorated. bathroom basic very small bath shower not very good. shower gel fixed to wall, so if u in using bath u have to stand up to use, then sit back down in bath. the drop from bath to floor deceivingly high when getting out. floor very uneven in bathroom. fan not working. Quite noisy with doors banging and walls quite thin so u can here next door occupants talking. Breakfast was nice in the conservatory and staff attentive. At £80 per night I think a little expensive, as i have stayed in much nicer B&Bs in Saltburn.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thanks for your review. It may be useful if I could address a few things- It appears that your room was swapped at reception in error and the room you went in to was in fact intended for a guest travelling with their dog. We apologise as this was a mistake by a new member of staff and one which is unusual. We have 3 dog rooms and it is absolutely not the case that dogs are allowed into every bedroom, I can assure you. It is such a shame that this was not mentioned at the time as we would have tried our best to move you.

I'm sorry that our complimentary shower gel/shampoo bracket system didn't work for you. It's a tricky one as they are placed to be easily reached when showering. As you in fact had a bath, there would of course have been a reach involved. It would be impossible to satisfy both bathing experiences which is unfortunate.

Our online rate is £75, slightly lower than you mention so possibly you did not use our hotel booking system? As a hotel we have a bar, function rooms, wedding licence and are about to open beauty/holistic rooms so are very different to a B and B and the services we can offer our customers. We take your thoughts on board, however and thank you for feeding back to us.

Best wishes, Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel overlooking the beach.
Warm friendly welcome and shown to our room, good job as the hotel is a bit of a maze to walk through.
Rooms was very clean and we'll furnished. Tea and coffee making facility's and a flat screen telly.
Bed was very comfortable but creaked every time you moved.
Bathroom again was very clean and had a great shower with there own shower gels and shampoo installed on the wall.

This hotel is situated half way down the cliff side so walking to the beach or up to the main town involves a steep walk up or down. So if your not so good on your legs and dont have a car you may want to pick another hotel.

But overall I would defiantly stay at this hotel again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tasha999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thanks for your review. Really pleased you had a good stay and thanks for taking the time to feed back.

We're about a 5 minute walk from the beach which we have probably got very used to over time and don't find a challenge...except maybe after fish and chips on the beach! The cliff lift should be up and running any day as Spring settles in which some of our guests do enjoy using.

Hope to see you again and best wishes,

Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Went to the spa hotel one Saturday afternoon do grab a light bite. As I walked in I could see they had done a lot of work to the building and decor, it looked lovely. Went to the bar and the young boy behind the bar was very timid and unsure of himself. We ordered 2 drinks and asked to see the lunch menu, he said 'just go sit down and I'll come get your order' I did think it could of been said more politely but we did as he said. We decided we'd have a baguette each and at £6.95 I was hoping they would be lovely! 10 minutes later the barman still hadn't come over so my partner went up and ordered it. We waited and waited for our food but half an hour later still nothing. The barman came over to say sorry about the wait and they will be out soon. Bearing in mind we got there at 13:15 and had to be somewhere for 14:30 I was getting a little impatient. By 14:00 I decided to ask the barman my self and he said the same again, 'it will be out soon' by 14:15 I decided to cancel the order. An hour waiting for 2 straight forward baguettes was long enough. I asked for a refund and the barman went to get the manager. The manager didn't speak a word apart from did you pay for it at the bar or put it on a tab? Do you have a receipt? All of this for 2 baguettes!! Once the manager had finally worked out how to open the till after a further 10 minutes his apology was 'sorry about that'
Terrible service
Obviously can not put a baguette together in under an hour
Will not be returning!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your review. Fortunately your experience is unusual at The Spa, however we are sorry that the service you received was so poor. Several changes during the last week will prevent these sorts of things happening again so we hope you come back again one day and we can redeem ourselves.

Best wishes,

Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We spent one night here and it was just what we needed. Check in was efficient, rooms warm, clean and comfortable. We knew we would be latish arriving so the hotel e mailed us a menu in order that we could choose food. We ate in the bar area as we had our dog with us and the food was delicious. Dog bed provided. Breakfast in the same area - lots of choice and very tasty. Lovely views of the North Sea .

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandycm67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you. We're really pleased that you had a relaxing break away..Summer is a wonderful place in Saltburn so please do come again. The beach is a great place for dog walking as I'm sure you found...

Best wishes and thanks again,
Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltburn-by-the-Sea
0.2 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
199 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
430 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,023 reviews
6.3 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,035 reviews
9.4 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Property: The Spa Hotel
Address: The Spa Saltburn Bank, Saltburn-by-the-Sea TS12 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Victorian town of Saltburn by the sea, the Spa Hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Hunt Cliff, the North Sea and the beautiful surrounding countryside of North Yorkshire. With 27 comfortable hotel rooms; each with its own en-suite facilities including bathtub and overhead shower, you are sure to have relaxing stay at the spa hotel. Take in the atmosphere of Saltburn with a refreshing drink from our fine selection of Wine and Real Ales, menus are also available both lunchtime and evenings. Enjoy the magnificent views while you dine from our bright conservatory restaurant. With outstanding natural beauty on our doorstep, you are sure to follow the path from our hotel directly into the valley of some 90-acres of woodland to the rear of the hotel. Take in the award winning Italian gardens as you stroll by the natural stream running through the wooded valley, or catch Saltburn's miniature railway from the beach throughout the Valley Gardens. The Victorian resort of Saltburn-by-the-sea still lives on today, with Britain's oldest water-based cliff lift still in operation. The Saltburn cliff lift transports passengers up and down the 120ft embankment to the sea front, Saltburn's famous Victorian Pier and town centre. Saltburn retains all of the charm and elegance of its heyday as a thriving Victorian Resort. The Smugglers Heritage Centre details the history of the once prospering smuggler trade along this beautiful coastline. August sees the annual International Folk Festival welcoming visitors from around the world to celebrate in music, dance and song. "If you are considering visiting at this time of year please book early to avoid disappointment". The Spa Hotel situated within the historic county of North Yorkshire allows for easy exploration of everything the north of England has to offer. A short drive takes you into the peace and tranquility of the North Yorkshire Moors National Park; famous for its beautiful scenery, wildlife and ambient walks. The North Yorkshire Moors has much to offer and can be enjoyed on foot or through a nostalgic steam train journey from Grosmont to Pickering through unspoiled countryside. "Most recently made famous for the well known television series "Heartbeat"." To the East of the hotel lies the historic towns of Staithes and Whitby, notorious for their Captain Cook connections, both within 20 miles drive. Visit the Captain Cook birthplace museum in the Industrial revolutions heartland of Middlesbrough. To the west of the hotel lies the coastal fishing town of Redcar, home to the world's oldest lifeboat, Enjoy an exciting day at the horse races at Redcar's Racecourse or stroll along the beachfront promenade recently the setting of the Oscar winning "Atonement film" starring Keira Knightley. Further afield from the hotel, Just outside Middlesbrough, Teesside Retail and Leisure Complex boasts a multi screen cinema, bowling arena, casino, bars, nightclubs and eateries. There is all this and so much more within close proximity to the hotel; our friendly staff are always on hand to help recommend the best sites no matter what your taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Saltburn-By-The-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing