We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Return again”
Review of The Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Spa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Will Return again”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We returned to the Spa for an overnight stay, after 4 years of not being able to get away, and what a difference, the hotel is having a makeover/refurbishment and it is looking less tired. It was brilliant to go back and the service we cannot fault, staff friendly and very professional. There was a wedding on but still nothing was too much trouble. We didn't have a meal at the hotel in the evening with it being so busy, but the breakfast was delicious I had scrambled eggs on toast, well presented and yummy. My husband had a full English which was also presented well and not too much, so not over faced. Hopefully we will be visiting Saltburn and the surrounding area and will definitely book the Spa again. All we can say is good luck with the refurbishment and for the future of such a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are good even with wedding celebrations going on downstairs, no noise could be heard. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoobysue_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. As a returning guest, we really appreciate your comments. In the last 2 years, we know that we've thrown everything into developing what was an extremely tired and run down building...from carpets to menus; everything needed improving. It's a challenge and we're getting there and will keep going until things are spot on.

Our staff are wonderful and it's always lovely to hear that others think so too-thank you.

Best wishes,

Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    177
    66
    22
    11
See reviews for
133
204
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel is very clean The staff very helpful and well dressed excellent
The food is superb In all I enjoyed my stay and will certainly come back The price for Bed and breakfast is very reasonable.The evening meal is also not expensive

Room Tip: My room 35 was OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Your words confirm the way we feel about our staff and hotel. Very friendly, great food, very good value for money and nothing is too much for everybody working here. It's very kind of you to take the time to put that on paper and we appreciate it.

Please do come again and thank you~everybody works very hard and all of our staff really appreciate feedback.

Best wishes,

Cathy, Jonathan and The Spa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Just come back from my cousins wedding yesterday,
The service was good, the only problem I had was the spacing of the chairs as there was not much room to move.
The meal I had was very tasty, however there was a kink in the service I where three people on our tables got their meals a good 10 minutes before the rest of the table and the vegetables came 5 minutes after that,
This obviously meant that the first meals where going cold whilst waiting for everyone to have a meal in front of them!
Apart from that little kink, the meals were really nice!
The whole team were very helpful and always accommodating!
The beer wasn't too expensive either!
All in all a great visit!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mathewbealto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for your review and for your lovely comments. There seems to have been a little hiccup with the pre-order but hopefully it didn't impact too much on your day. Thank you for your kind review and we're so pleased that you enjoyed your cousin's wedding day.

Best wishes and thanks again,

Cathy, Jonathan and The Spa team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Had lunch here - just dropped in by chance when passing. Really good prawn and crayfish starter, and our 2 steak specials were very good indeed - they know how to do a proper rare steak. We particularly enjoyed the accompaniments - superb chips and excellent seared thick slices on onion. The restaurant in the conservatory also has excellent sea views. We'd highly recommend it for lunch and we'll try it for dinner in future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of our restaurant. We've really focused on our food this year and our Chef and kitchen team joined us in January and are fantastic. They and we really appreciate your comments~great feedback.

Please do come again and thanks again.

Best wishes,

Cathy, Jonathan and our Spa kitchen team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This is the best hotel I've been to and the reason for this is the staff .............. They are amazing , they genuinely want to help and make your stay as excellent as possible
I have even booked my wedding here .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you for such a lovely review and we are absolutely delighted that you are having your wedding with us! Very kind of you to review us~thank you very much,

Best wishes,

Cathy, Jon, Sian and our Spa and wedding team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We were just driving through and decided to stay so glad we did ! Room was spacious with everything you need, tv, kettle..small niggle and its very small water pressure ok with shower mixer and if you have trouble getting in and out the bath to shower you might struggle we were in room 25 otherwise the breakfast was brilliant ! Full english or smoked salmon or KIPPERS ! great the dining room is overlooking the sea . We ate dinner there and it was seriously good and well priced with a good and reasonable wine list. Staff are really nice

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing us and being so kind. We love our food at The Spa and really appreciate your words; the kippers are great! We understand your niggle over the bathroom~they are absolutely on our refurb list and one day will be a perfect element of our hotel. Please do come again and see!

Best wishes and thank you~ your review is much appreciated.

Best wishes,

Cathy & Jon Kelly and our lovely Spa Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I went to Saltburn by the Sea last month with my sister, even though I live only over an hours drive away for the first time in my life, and it was so lovely and we stayed at the Spa Hotel . We loved it it was like being in a past era. All the staff were so friendly and cheerful and our twin room was a delight , very large and with lovely views of the sea and cliffs . The weather was good as well so we had a drive to Staithes and Whitby and had a nice afternoon. All worth visiting

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor which had good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spanisheyesamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We do have great views from the second floor so am delighted you were happy. We love Staithes and Whitby, so different from each other. Staithes is peaceful and perfect for rockpooling with kids whilst Whitby's little hidden shops and narrow streets are good fun for a rummage. Saltburn's well placed and we're glad you had fun. The moors are so close by too~please do come again, we'd love to have you.

Best wishes and thanks again,

Cathy, Jon and all at The Spa. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltburn-by-the-Sea
0.2 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
213 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,479 reviews
13.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
9.4 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
523 reviews
6.3 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Property: The Spa Hotel
Address: The Spa Saltburn Bank, Saltburn-by-the-Sea TS12 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Victorian town of Saltburn by the sea, the Spa Hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Hunt Cliff, the North Sea and the beautiful surrounding countryside of North Yorkshire. With 27 comfortable hotel rooms; each with its own en-suite facilities including bathtub and overhead shower, you are sure to have relaxing stay at the spa hotel. Take in the atmosphere of Saltburn with a refreshing drink from our fine selection of Wine and Real Ales, menus are also available both lunchtime and evenings. Enjoy the magnificent views while you dine from our bright conservatory restaurant. With outstanding natural beauty on our doorstep, you are sure to follow the path from our hotel directly into the valley of some 90-acres of woodland to the rear of the hotel. Take in the award winning Italian gardens as you stroll by the natural stream running through the wooded valley, or catch Saltburn's miniature railway from the beach throughout the Valley Gardens. The Victorian resort of Saltburn-by-the-sea still lives on today, with Britain's oldest water-based cliff lift still in operation. The Saltburn cliff lift transports passengers up and down the 120ft embankment to the sea front, Saltburn's famous Victorian Pier and town centre. Saltburn retains all of the charm and elegance of its heyday as a thriving Victorian Resort. The Smugglers Heritage Centre details the history of the once prospering smuggler trade along this beautiful coastline. August sees the annual International Folk Festival welcoming visitors from around the world to celebrate in music, dance and song. "If you are considering visiting at this time of year please book early to avoid disappointment". The Spa Hotel situated within the historic county of North Yorkshire allows for easy exploration of everything the north of England has to offer. A short drive takes you into the peace and tranquility of the North Yorkshire Moors National Park; famous for its beautiful scenery, wildlife and ambient walks. The North Yorkshire Moors has much to offer and can be enjoyed on foot or through a nostalgic steam train journey from Grosmont to Pickering through unspoiled countryside. "Most recently made famous for the well known television series "Heartbeat"." To the East of the hotel lies the historic towns of Staithes and Whitby, notorious for their Captain Cook connections, both within 20 miles drive. Visit the Captain Cook birthplace museum in the Industrial revolutions heartland of Middlesbrough. To the west of the hotel lies the coastal fishing town of Redcar, home to the world's oldest lifeboat, Enjoy an exciting day at the horse races at Redcar's Racecourse or stroll along the beachfront promenade recently the setting of the Oscar winning "Atonement film" starring Keira Knightley. Further afield from the hotel, Just outside Middlesbrough, Teesside Retail and Leisure Complex boasts a multi screen cinema, bowling arena, casino, bars, nightclubs and eateries. There is all this and so much more within close proximity to the hotel; our friendly staff are always on hand to help recommend the best sites no matter what your taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Saltburn-By-The-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing