We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What happened? Disgusting!”

The Saltburn Clipper
Cuisines: Fast food, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What happened? Disgusting!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I normally love the Clipper's chips but this evening they are awful.
We visited at 7pm, the chips are a greyish brown colour, really rubbery and horrible.
The potato on the fish pate is hard, and the sausage didn't taste normal.

Just because it's late, doesn't mean you can't fry a fresh batch of chips.
They must have been hours old. This has put me right off.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    4
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skelton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best chip shop in Saltburn”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The tastiest fish and chips everytime - our favourite chip shop in Saltburn !! The staff are friendly and efficient , great food and portion sizes , very good value and very very tasty :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonTW74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m/bro
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“wonderful food”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

great fish and chips mushy peas , and class cuppa girls behind counter realy nice lasses serving . would recommend to any 1

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grant15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The incredible shrinking fish”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I don't know if the price if cod has taken another hike in the past few weeks, but when I went in today my piece of fish today was about as big as a plankton.

This is a shame, because to be fair, The Clipper's always been a good place to get a takeaway or have a sit-down. The place gets incredibly steamy sometimes, but I find that quiet thrilling because it's like being in a sauna and/or Kate Bush video. I also like the staff, who're usually local kids with a smidgeon of attitude who're nonetheless quite charming.

As much as I like it though, I'd now sooner go the place by the pier because their batter and their chips are lovely.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Fish & Chips in the Area!!”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I dont usually write reviews however, having been disappointed by other fish and chip shops in the area, i could not fault them from this place.

Large Fish was a good size and cooked really well and i would recommend anyone to give this place a try you wont be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dom122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saltburn Clipper also viewed

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Saltburn Clipper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing