We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Virgos Cafe

Virgos Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: POST CODE - TS12 1AH. I don't think they have a website.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I visited for lunch with my partner. We've eaten at Virgo's several times, and the quality and selection of food has been very good. It is a lovely little place, the staff are also very polite and helpful!

Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    49
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Went in for lunch a couple of weeks back and saw the Summer menu and decided that me and the wife would book a table after hearing rave reviews.

Arrived on Saturday night and felt very welcome. Service was friendly and the restaurant had a great atmosphere. The food was second to none and I could not recommend more (I had the lamb and the strawberry tart and my wife had the crab and salted caramel cheesecake)!!

The only down side is that one of the members of staff told us the menu was a one off as they usually serve from the al a carte menu (will have to return to try that one too).


  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I've been a regular here for about fours years. I usually eat on a Saturday lunchtime however, we called in on the off chance today (Sunday) and had a superb lunch. I had the chicken chasseur and it was absolutely divine!! The staff were fabulous, run off their feet as the place was heaving and as always, they were professional and friendly. The deserts were fantastic and massive!! Highly recommended

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brotton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
414 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 477 helpful votes
“Freah tasty produce, great menu choice”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Staff helpful and friendly, bistro clean tidy, with a relaxed nice atmosphere, variety of food choices, cooked and presented well, A* - will visit again soon

Helpful?
1 Thank Warhol40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Surprise find a little gem.”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Just been for Sunday lunch and was very nice, great food friendly service and a clean and well set out little bistro.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank charlie007cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Virgos Cafe also viewed

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Virgos Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing