We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victorian Guesthouse
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Brockley Hall Hotel(Saltburn-by-the-Sea)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club(Saltburn-by-the-Sea)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Spa Hotel(Saltburn-by-the-Sea)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Treebridge Hotel(Middlesbrough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
29
13
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
13
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmelonguest housecleveland wayb bon arrivalfresh fruitstayed herelittle gemfirst floorfull englishbreakfast was excellentcouldn't do enoughsusanstewartlandladycuriosheating
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

First let me say that if a landlady had taken my wet clothing and washed and dried it for me I would have been very grateful and there is a huge difference between such a generous act of kindness and someone 'going through your stuff'.

We can't speak highly enough of our welcome at this guest house and the facilities. The house is beautifully decorated in keeping with its period and is very atmospheric. Beds are comfortable and clean with duvets. Ensuite was lovely and the location is great. Breakfast was excellent, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, and service cheerful and attentive. Saltburn is a lovely little town along the Cleveland Way.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ponte55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make me feel very welcome.

Very clean and rooms are spacious with en-suite facilities.
Breakfast was first class and there was so much of it!
I will definately be returning to this guest house and would highly recommend it to others

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewLeedssurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We spent 2 nights here on 15th and 16th February 2012. The owners of this house have worked hard to create the atmosphere of a Victorian villa and to our eyes they have succeeded admirably. Our host, Sue, was friendly, very helpful and not at all intrusive. Our room contained a very comfortable double and a single bed made up with crisply laundered sheets and (thank goodness!) duvets. The room was clean and warm, and contained all that we needed - very decent tv (not always the case in our experience), tea and coffee facilities, variety of chocs - much appreciated, an en-suite bathroom and an effective, hot shower. The breakfast room was lovely and warm - roaring fire in the grate - a careful re-creation of the atmosphere of a Victorian parlour, and the breakfast was top-notch. Excellent - we would certainly stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Stayed for 1 night on 8th December 2011. Nice welcome on arrival and tastefully furnished house with lovely breakfast and comfortable bed. Now for the bad bits: Room (attic) was FREEZING and central heating radiator was NOT on when we arrived. You could see your breath, it was that cold! All my equipment (was on a long distance walk) was wet and I hung them out to dry in the room with the aid of a halogen heater.

Went out for evening meal at local restaurant, locking bedroom door on way out. When came back, landlady had entered room of her own accord and took all our wet stuff and dried them out for us. Whilst appreciative of this, I was annoyed that she's been in our room without permission and took it upon herself to go through our stuff.

She also turned off the halogen heater so that when we came back, the room was still not warmed up. However, by this time the central heating radiator had come on and there was some heat coming through. However, at 10.30 the heating went off and the room was FREEZING during the night. Please note that I don't usually feel the cold - in fact I prefer a cooler room than a hot one, but this was something else. Annoying that the landlady was obviously skimping on heating bills when I paid £60 for the night! The heating should have been left on 24/7 with the option for guests to regulate temperature in their own room at will rather than have her dictate what heat you got and at what time!!

At breakfast (Served in a very nice but unatmospheric dining room) the landlady (quite a miserable woman) served us in her bare feet. May be alright to do this when serving your family but NOT paying guests and NOT very appealing to see.

All in all, this is a nice house with nice furnishings with nice breakfast but was spoiled by being so cold + no real effort being put in by the landlady to make our stay a welcome one. Because of heating problem this was certainly not worth £60 for the night.

Room Tip: Don't accept attic room
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lawbrassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews