We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Happy Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victorian Guesthouse
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Happy Stay”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We promised our granddaughter, age 7, a few days in a hotel after visiting Saltburn last year. We've had a lovely time and glad we found this place to stay. Sue and Stewart are delightful, welcoming and very obliging as hosts. We were grateful to Stewart carrying our suitcase up 2 flights of stairs, this was our problem, being pensioners we did find the stairs hard work. We shouldn't complain about the glorious weather but it did make the room extra hot too.
Overall though a very enjoyable stay and good breakfast. Sadie loved it and is ready to go back!

Room Tip: Our room faced west and had full sun. The 2 guest rooms are up 2 flight of stairs so think about you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameranel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
12
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Sue & Stewart made us feel so welcome as soon as we walked through the door. The guesthouse had a very interesting collection of antiques and the bedrooms very cosy. Excellent breakfast. Short walk to the sea front.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Second visit to this lovely clean and welcoming bed and breakfast tucked away in the backstreets of this seaside town. Great ubiquitous people that run it with a great breakfast served in a room you must see. Fantastic back to the past journey. Recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nooseman220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morgans123, Manager at Victorian Guesthouse, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your comments, we do our best to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

On a recent cycling trip on Sustrans Route 1 we stayed in several different bed and breakfasts; there was not much space to leave our bikes in at the bottom of 3 flights of stairs but at least they were inside. There are a lot of interesting pictures and curios which adds a certain ambience. Our twin room was clean and comfortable. The TV was very small. The breakfast was good and overall represents reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton Upon-Trent
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We arrived dripping wet during our recent walk of Cleveland Way. We rang house doorway and lady took us 'next door' to what used to be a corner shop; which had been converted (very little change- just nets in shop windows). It was a sort of apartment style room with grim looking double burner, lots of red items and too over large easy chairs. Bedding looked clean and presentable. Our friends were then taken back to main house for their accommodation.

The lady did say it was a 'mistake' that we were there (referring to the room) we felt the same! It was depressing. I have been in the travel trade for 25 years and never slept in a back street corner shop before. Nor have I been lectured (3 times) as a 'guest' about not putting anything but 'paper, poo and pee' down loo - there was a very classy sign on toilet! (Post it note!)

It wasn't handy for restaurants, pubs.

Breakfast was very good and house looked much better than the shop.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjanmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morgans123, Owner at Victorian Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
I am sorry that our accommodation did not meet your expectations, but we are 4 star with Visit Britain.
Our ground floor studio was designed mainly for people who have difficulty with stairs and it is very useful for wheelchair accessibility.
The time it takes to stroll to the shops, bank and restaurants is 4 minutes.
The cost with breakfast is £68 per night for 2 people and self-catering is £50

Please see photographs of studio to come to your own conclusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while walking the Cleveland Way. The building does not appear auspicious from the outside but inside it is full of antiques which make it attractive. The rooms are en suite and the shower room facilities have clearly been upgraded fairly recently. The lady who runs the bed and breakfast seemed not very friendly initially but as we got to talk to her she was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was good. The rooms could do with coasters on the bedside tables to place your drinks on. It was very reasonably priced. We would recommend this bed and breakfast if you like history and antiques but don't stay here if you can't climb steep stairs as there is no lift and there are steps up to the front door.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This b&b is just slightly out of the centre of saltburn on a quiet road. I wasn't prepared for the well presented rooms with the antique furniture and pictures. The bed was comfy and the shower room clean and tidy. The owner was friendly and bent over backwards to provide a breakfast to our tastes. The attic room was a bit nippy in the middle of night when the heating went off as a tip make sure the shower room door is closed it keeps the cold out. Overall it was a lovely b&b the breakfast room was sumptuous with its roaring inviting fire. For those that haven't visited saltburn before this town is a little gem no chain stores or rowdy bars just a lovely classy place for a break with independent shops and restaurants

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wakylj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltburn-by-the-Sea
2.7 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
13.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Guesthouse

Property: Victorian Guesthouse
Address: 1 Oxford St, Saltburn-by-the-Sea, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Hotel Class:4 star — Victorian Guesthouse 4*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing