We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique Place to stay with Great Location & Sea...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

George S
1 review
“Unique Place to stay with Great Location & Sea Views”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Before arrival I was a little apprehensive as the date on the photographs on the web-site was 2008. I am not sure why that is but I can confirm that the Sept 2017 condition is very similar what is shown in the photographs.

The accomodation was clean, bright spacious and well equiped. There are sea views from both bedroom windows and although we did not make use of it in September there were nice external areas where you could barbeque or just admire the view. The location is good with a short walk to either the beach or town. There are pubs and a major supermarket in town within 150m of the property. Town is on the level but it is a steep climb back up from the beach.There is a cliff lift that operates during the day but it was no problem to drive down and pick up an elderly relative. There is no parking with the property but ample free street parking closeby.

I will mention two minor improvement suggestions for the owner. The round door handle is very close to the door jamb and I caught my hand twice when opening the door. A lever type door handle may avoid this. Also there is no catch on the door so we had to lock the door to prevent it blowing open in the wind. Both not a problem but would improve the property a little.

We would definately use again.

Date of stay: September 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael P
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation & location”
Reviewed 23 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would definitely recommend the outlook. Outstanding accommodation with everything that you need. The location is excellent and we will be returning

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPfab50
Theddingworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Easter Getaway with our 2 dogs”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We were looking for a cottage by the Sea to take our 2 dogs. I stumbled across The Outlook on google. The location was perfect, almost right on top of the beach, just 2 min walk down the hill.

The cottage itself was spotless and well equipped and maintained, however a new frying pan would be a good investment, but that would be my only negative point. I also liked the upside down feel of the cottage, the kitchen in below ground level by a spiral staircase, which our dogs found interesting.

Lost of hot water and excellent heating. The Wifi is a bit flakey as in you can't pick up if you're on the other side of the property, but that's no biggy.

I'd certainly recommend and I would defiantly go back.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
480wendy
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
“AMAZING , WONDERFUL AND WE HAVE BOOKED FOR NEXT YEAR :)”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The outlook and treetops are outstanding properties, the beach, gardens , walks and views of the huntcliffe are truly brilliant . My two dogs loved the big garden and were at home straight away.We can't wait to go back book now you won't be dissapointed.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marieX723...
South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 15 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I really enjoyed my stay the location was lovely and the view was great this property has been newly decorated and was warm and cosy
I had a very relaxing time with lots to see and do with lots of restaurant and bars within walking distance
I would recommend this appartment to everyone that wishes to have a relaxing holiday

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nione
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAGAH
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, poor facilities.”
Reviewed 21 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Booked via Trip Advisor and found the communication from the owner sparse. It came to the day before our visit and we hadn't been informed of when we could arrive/when we had to vacate, where I could pick up the keys, what parking was like etc. I contacted the owner for this information and received a prompt response - just a shame this wasn't included in the booking information. To clear up the parking question - there isn't any right on the property, and immediately outside is double yellow lines. Have to park (for free) on the sea front - makes bringing cases etc. inside quite labourious.

The house itself is in a fantastic location with beautiful views. Had we visited in summer it would have been amazing to have a BBQ on the terrace looking out at the sea. It is such an unusual property, and has obviously been designed very well - we found it really interesting exploring.

However there were more 'cons' than 'pros' with this property:

- Though it is advertised as suitable for children, I would disagree with this as there are 2 sets of very steep steps to access the property, these were completely inaccessible for a pram and we therefore had to carry our 5 month old down these in the rain. Didn't feel very safe as they were quite slippy. There is a gate at the bottom of the property leading onto quite a steep path that eventually connects to Saltburn bank, through the hotel at the bottom, and the coast road at the top - it was also slippy and covered in leaves so not great access for carrying cases or babies again! Also due to the steep spiral staircase in the living room leading down to the kitchen there was no way we could leave children unattended in the living area for fear they would fall down.

- No 'home comforts' were provided: hand soap, tea, coffee, dishwasher tabs etc. there was 1 toilet roll for each bathroom (luckily we found where they were stored in the house), which was never going to be enough for 5 people staying for 3 nights. There is supposedly wifi provided, but none of us (including one of our group who works with computers) could find or access the wifi, despite there being instructions in the welcome pack. Luckily there was a 3G signal ...

- The whole place smelt very strongly of mould and damp. Both bedrooms had black mould on the walls and ceilings. There was a dehumidifier running continuously in the living room but the place could do with a good scrubbing and airing out before next season. Both bathrooms had mould lining the shower and bath - a lot of mould. We found spiders and cobwebs in both bedrooms - in obvious places, we weren't looking for them! Made us wonder when it was last cleaned.

- It rained heavily for most of our stay, which resulted in the sky light in the living room leaking water onto the wooden living room floor. Actually it leaked onto the baby who was playing directly underneath it ...

In its favor it was lovely and warm and you can play with the heating settings to your hearts content! There was hot water when you needed it. There is a TV with Sky box, only picks up 'normal' channels but that was enough.
There was a lot of 'stuff' in the kitchen, but nothing of much use. Hundreds of wine glasses, but no glasses you could drink cordial out of. Might be good for parties, wasn't much use to us.

Currently I wouldn't recommend this rental to my friends for the above reasons. However, if the owners put some effort into making it less damp and moldy and provided a few home comforts I think this would improve the place no end. For the amount we paid to stay here we were very surprised at the lack of amenities. There's nothing you can do about the access except be aware before you go and make plans!

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of amenities and dirty feeling.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.