We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunley Hotel and Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just returned from a 1 night golf break, my husbands third visit and my first. Everything he told me was correct. Great value, lovely refurbished room, faultless food and such genuine friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you. The golf course was in great condition with stunning views. We will certainly be back, hopefully soon and for a longer stay - thanks to the whole team!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 26, great room but will go for a sea view next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sb1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    106
    37
    17
    8
See reviews for
69
133
5
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

From fish and chips at Saltburn to arriving at the hotel,what a weekend.Claire on reception to greet us,what a girl,couldnt do enough for us.Then the testing golf,on different courses.Evening meal couldnt fault,then the breakfast ,bit slow but worth the wait.Will i be going again,U BET.Fantastic value with a massive kingsize bed lovely.Thanks all

Room Tip: Ask for the new renovated sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph17503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed one night on a golfing break, the hotel was a nice surprise and the staff where all very helpful and friendly. The food was superb and lots of it. I hope to return here and enjoy another golfing break in the future. We stayed in room 9 and is was nicely decorated with everything you would expect in the room. It didn't have a view from this room but that didn't both us at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerfectParadise2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

I have recently stayed at the hotel for 1 night, the first thing that struck me is that you have drive through a residential estate and I almost turned around thinking I was lost.

The room was excellent value at £75 plus £10 for breakfast with a slight sea view

The room was very basic with dated mahogany bedroom furniture and the double bed was actually 2 single beds of different heights pushed together, but saying that it was clean and functional enough for 1 night.

Not really sure I'd stay there again it would be perfect if you'd had a few too many after a round of golf but for me I thought it would be a little more plush.

Downsides: No room service! No food available after 9pm

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Copta_Doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed last weekend 1night golf package. Excellent value for money. Superb reception staff and golf pros really helpful guys. Bedrooms clean and tidy, food very good value. Not really a family hotel as its dedicated to golf. Couldn't fault it. Golf views and course great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We are staying at Rockcliffe Lodge(Hunley Hall Hotel). Our second visit and the accommodation is still great 10* Staff and location 10* We will return many more times for definite. Very well equipped and spotlessly clean, perfect home from home and golf on the doorstep. beautiful sea view, Beds extremely comfy. What a gem ! What more can be said !

Room Tip: The lodge is very spacious 3 bedrooms (2 have on-suite) one family bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoothyWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

I stayed at Hunley for six months and can't state enough how comfortable and relaxing my stay has been. This has been my home from home and l have to state that this is without doubt one the best hotels I have stayed in over the last few years. At this price it is outstanding value!!

The rooms are large and comfortable. Infact they are amongst the largest l have ever stayed in. The water is piping hot always. The only slight criticism is that the room walls are a little thin and when you have a deaf or inconsiderate neighbours, you can hear their tv over yours. Some people just don’t know how to behave when away from home. But, hey this is one issue against 99 positives.

The staff are friendly and very helpful. The view is breath-taking. The location is quite and relaxing. the free Wi-Fi make the stay some much easier. There is comfortable bar & restaurant. All round l challenge anyway to find a better stay at the price!

I stayed whilst on business and researched many of the local hotels and chose this one because of the trip advisor reviews. I certainly made the right choice.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor in the wing away from reception and by the top car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookie1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltburn-by-the-Sea
1.7 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
12.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunley Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunley Hotel and Golf Club

Property: Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Hunley Hotel & Golf Club Ings Lane | Brotton, Saltburn-by-the-Sea TS12 2FT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunley Hotel and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Middlesbrough, Stockton and Whitby, Hunley has stunning views of the North Yorkshire Coast. The public areas at Hunley Hotel have been refurbished in 2010.It offers a championship golf course, locally sourced food, friendly service and free Wi-Fi.Each room has a flat-screen TV with digital Freeview channels.The golf course has 29 holes. The club has a driving range, buggies, coaching and a shop.Hunley Hotel is a short drive from the North York Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hunley Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunley Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing