We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for golf” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunley Hotel and Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
South Shields
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place for golf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a group of 8. Food was excellent, my room,which I think had been refurbished, was very good.
The other ladies were disappointed at the lack of a lounge. Somewhere to chill out without a TV in the background. Staff most helpful. The inclement weather made the golf difficult, and the course very long.
We enjoyed ourselves.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank henryandmoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much Henry, for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate your feedback on our newly refurbished bedrooms and we are always open to suggestions about how we can improve our guests’ stay. So I’ve noted your comments about a lounge for any future extensions to the hotel. We hope to see you all again next year.
Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    106
    37
    17
    7
See reviews for
68
133
5
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

A fourth visit to hunley hall for a 3 day golf package and it was better than ever. The rooms have been upgraded and the golf course matured. It must be the best golf deal in Britain considering the excellent rooms and first class meals and very pleasant ,happy, smiling staff. A five star treat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you Joseph, for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We certainly do our best to keep improving and I am so pleased that you enjoyed such an excellent golf break with us. I will certainly share your comments with the team who will be delighted to hear that their efforts are appreciated. We look forward to your return next year, or if you fancy sneaking in one final golf break before the end of the year...maybe we can tempt you with one of our excellent late season offers :-)
Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just got back from a golfing weekend for 8 people, the weather was kind, the course was in great condition & the hotel was superb.
Me & my Son shared a twin room No 9, spacious with all the usual amenities, the evening meal of smoked salmon fishcakes followed by lamb shank was very tasty.
Sunday morning breakfast was the usual full English although you could opt for lesser meals, but why skip a plateful before a round of golf, went down a treat!
Saturday night was a bit raucous due to not only a wedding reception being held there but the England game in the world cup.
The staff are excellent and very polite nothing seems to be any trouble.
Any negative comments you see about the course are completely unfounded, the tee areas are well marked, fairways are good, and the greens are true & in excellent condition.
Everyone said how much they enjoyed it and would easily recommend to anyone wanting a stress free golf weekend.
Popped in for a bite to eat in the bar after the Sunday round, good food in there too.
Brilliant weekend, thanks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EH-Halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us. We will pass on your mouth watering comments to the kitchen team as they are always eager to receive feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you had such a fantastic experience as this is what we try every day to provide for our guests here at Hunley. We hope to welcome you all again very soon.
Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

My two daughters took myself and my wife to Hunley Hall for afternoon tea.It was my wife's birthday. it was the first time I had been here,why did I wait so long?. The afternoon tea was first class, the setting is beautifull, lovely views.My granddaughter is getting married here in December, I can't wait. We will be staying for the night, so I will get a better perspective of the Hotel.I am sure it is going to be great. Staff were very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanmfranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you, for taking the time to write your review. We totally agree Alan, why did you wait so long to visit us :-). We are really pleased to hear that you thought our afternoon tea was first class, and we can’t wait to be part of your granddaughters wedding in December
Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our golf society travelled to the Hunley hotel in Brotton, the rooms, food, service and golf course were all of a very good standard. So often there is one aspect of a tour that falls short, yet on this occasion the staff were very friendly, professional and did everything to make us feel welcome, the rooms were excellent value ( even free wifi) the meals were all served quickly and of a great standard and the golf courses were in great condition. Thanks to all concerned.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for a room with strong wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you Kieran for taking the time to write such a glowing report. We are really pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay & that all aspects of Hunley exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you all again soon.
Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

It was my Mum's 81st birthday and we wanted to visit a traditional seaside village, so Saltburn was perfect and the Hunley Hall Hotel was perfect in every way for us. The beds were super comfortable, the food was delicious and plentiful and everyone of the staff were genuine, pro-active and made us feel important. It is so nice to find a hotel where the customer is put first, and this is exactly how we felt. It was very good value and my Mum will never forget her lovely birthday, because of all the little things you did. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms close to the top car park which were really spacious and very comfy beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ursula1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you Ursula for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so pleased that you chose Hunley; it was our good fortune that we’re only a couple of minutes drive from your favoured destination of Saltburn. It is a fabulous seaside town - that only the lucky have discovered. We really pride ourselves on delivering excellent customer service, so when we read guest reviews like yours, it really gives the team here a real boost and the incentive to keep creating memorable moments. So thank you again and we really hope you visit us soon and maybe before your Mum’s 28th birthday ;-)

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Myself and 19 others just got back from washed out golf weekend at Hunley Hall Hotel . Played 36 holes over the Friday Sat and Sun , had 72 holes booked . Weather was foul . Spent lots of time in the bar , all of us abit fed up but made the most of it . Staff helped absolutely wonder full . Thanks a lot girls

Room Tip: Gave 1 spot for fitness and swimming , wasn't any need to be deleted good hotel great staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you David for taking the time to write your review. I will pass on your kind words to the team, as they always appreciate feedback. I’m sure if they could have had anything to do with the horrendous weather the full country had that weekend, they would’ve made sure you all had sunshine. We look forward to welcoming you all back & hopefully the sun will play its part too :-)

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltburn-by-the-Sea
1.7 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
12.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.7 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunley Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunley Hotel and Golf Club

Property: Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Hunley Hotel & Golf Club Ings Lane | Brotton, Saltburn-by-the-Sea TS12 2FT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunley Hotel and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Middlesbrough, Stockton and Whitby, Hunley has stunning views of the North Yorkshire Coast. The public areas at Hunley Hotel have been refurbished in 2010.It offers a championship golf course, locally sourced food, friendly service and free Wi-Fi.Each room has a flat-screen TV with digital Freeview channels.The golf course has 29 holes. The club has a driving range, buggies, coaching and a shop.Hunley Hotel is a short drive from the North York Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hunley Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunley Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing