We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had my mam's wedding here, stayed in the lodge the night before and the hotel the night of the wedding. WHAT A FANTASTIC PLACE!! Everything was just perfect, my mam and new step dad had a lovely time as did all the guests. Thank you Hunley for such a gorgeous time, I had the two best nights sleep I've ever had.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you Sam for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed the hotel as well as our lovely 3 bedroomed self catering Lodge. We loved hosting your Mam & step dads wedding - we wish them all the best for their married life together - and hopefully we’ll get to see you all again soon.
Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    109
    38
    18
    8
See reviews for
70
139
5
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed at Hunley Hall 26th Julyfor 4 nights. our 5th visit to Hunley....says it all really. Attended family wedding on the Saturday night. Had a fabulous time. The rest of our stay was thoroughly enjoyable. Excellent service, food, staff room and view.Definitely returning next year. Thanks to you all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you Ann for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased to hear that you have been enjoying your stays with us, I’ll be sure to pass on your kind feedback and we’re looking forward to welcoming you back again next year.
Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stokesley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Family Sunday lunch on a very stormy wet day. Granny, with walking disability, was unable to access the restaurant without a long wet walk and climb up two flights of stairs. Apparently the door to the upper floor, accessed from the outside parking area and open last time was firmly shut. Originally the booking was for 3 people but we rang on the Sunday morning to increase to 6 people, upon arrival the staff seemed to be dumbfounded that we had increased the number of diners and considering the restaurant was hardly half full, the reception we received was definitely lacking in professionalism and bonhomie ! The lunch was mediocre, granny asked for a small portion and a chicken leg only and was told "no problem", then was presented with a dried up microwaved piece of chicken breast. Gravy was excessively salty, beef sparse and stringy , only vegetables(apart from boiled potatoes and roast potatoes which had been cooked and kept warm becoming hard and tasteless) were green beans and roasted vegetables and a very small portion at that. They had run out of cream (apart from a small jug of pouring cream for the coffee - which was good !!) All in all - a spiritless dining room more akin to a works canteen, lacklustre staff (apart from the young lady who served us at the beginning) a not to be repeated experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StokesleyMoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I’m sorry to learn that your visit was not up to our usual high standards, as you will know from nearly all the other reviews. We have absolutely taken your comments on board and I can assure you that should you decide to give us another try in the future, you will get to experience the kind of welcome and high quality of food that can make even dreadful weather feel cheerful.
Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Spent 2 nights at Hunley Hall as part of a golf party and loved it . Wonderful location , excellent golf courses and hotel staff couldn't do enough for you . Breakfasts were plentiful and tasty and dinner had a good selection and was great value . We golfed on 3 days and with 27 different holes on offer we were never bored with the selection of different layout and challenges . There's a well stocked pro shop and plenty of practise facilities . If your a golfer well worth a visit but even without the golf the views are simply stunning !!! Thank you hunley hall . See you 2015.

Room Tip: Room 27. Great views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you Greame for taking the time to write such a lovely review.I will pass on your kind comments to all the team. We are very lucky to have so many holes, it enables you to play as many as four different configurations of 18 holes :-), and like you said with views like ours in the background you will want to play all four. We can’t wait to welcome you all back next year.

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm
Level Contributor
177 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We were attending a wedding at another hotel which was fully booked and Hunley was the closest and nicest accommodation in the area.
We can only comment on the areas we saw as we only 'laid our heads' there really.
The views were amazing and especially on such a lovely sunny day!
Our room had 2 small doubles in it and it was spacious and very clean.
We would recommend to others.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We will pass your lovely comments on to the housekeeping team who are always interested in feedback. We are really lucky to have such amazing views & glad to hear you got to experience them too.
Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed on the 25th of July 2014. Would highly recommend the hotel. the staff could not have been anymore friendlier and nothing was too much trouble even though they were all busy with a wedding function. the food was very good too.rooms were very clean and comfortable and the view from our room over the golf course and sea was spectacular. The boys played golf and the course was in fantastic condition and would highly recommend the course for golf society days. My friend and I had a surfing taster day at Saltburn which is a beautiful unspoilt seaside town. Be warned your legs will ache the next day!! we will return.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view/golf view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you Lisa for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay & that the boys got to enjoy our lovely courses. With only 5 mins drive from Saltburn it makes Hunley an ideal place to stay to enjoy the surfing . We will pass on your kind words to all the staff who really appreciate your feedback. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poynton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Excellent location and staff, great food in the bar and brassiere and room 29 with superb views.

Only issue was with the ventilation in the bathroom. Unless I missed it there was none. Whoever uses the bathroom second is in for a hot time !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you Arthur for taking the time to write your review. We totally agree that room 29 (one of our Junior Suites) has amazing views of the course & coastline. I have passed your comments on to the maintenance team who have double-checked that the bathroom fan is working correctly. We are so pleased that you got to enjoy our mouth watering food in the brasserie and thank you again for your review.

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltburn-by-the-Sea
1.7 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
12.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunley Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunley Hotel and Golf Club

Property: Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Hunley Hotel & Golf Club Ings Lane | Brotton, Saltburn-by-the-Sea TS12 2FT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunley Hotel and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Middlesbrough, Stockton and Whitby, Hunley has stunning views of the North Yorkshire Coast. The public areas at Hunley Hotel have been refurbished in 2010.It offers a championship golf course, locally sourced food, friendly service and free Wi-Fi.Each room has a flat-screen TV with digital Freeview channels.The golf course has 29 holes. The club has a driving range, buggies, coaching and a shop.Hunley Hotel is a short drive from the North York Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hunley Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunley Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing