We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent wedding location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rushpool Hall

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rushpool Hall
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent wedding location.”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Visited this hotel on 3rd. November 2012 as part of a wedding party. The hotel itself is impressive, set in extensive, picturesque grounds. Plenty of opportunity exists for outdoor wedding 'photos & were lucky to have good weather. All the staff proved to be helpful & friendly, and all contributed to the smooth running of the wedding itself. Both the hot buffet lunch & cold evening finger buffet were excellent. The bar staff coped well & queues were kept to a minimum but drinks prices were quite expensive. The night was spent in one of the "standard" log cabins which was adequate for a one night stay but was a little tired & in need of refurbishment. Be warned, access to the lodges, from the main hotel , is a bit of a trek after a few drinks or for someone who is disabled but shouldn't put you off. Breakfast on Sunday morning was impressive, with a great choice & all items were kept well topped up. Well recommended as a wedding venue or for a quiet country break.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    42
    13
    21
    18
See reviews for
56
57
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a friends wedding. The first view of the hotel coming up the drive is beautiful and it doesn't just stay there.

The hotel is one if the smaller wedding venues I've been to, however, doesn't lack character at all. Large stair case with a bar based in the centre (quite expensive). Large roaring fires. Huge facilities throughout the building not to mention the grounds it's set within.

Rooms to stay over had everything needed, but were a little dated and there were dead spiders on the floor which had obviously been forgotten to be hoovered up. Breakfast was a mixture of cooked, cereal and fresh juice. Soggy toast was given, so at £100 per night I thought it was a little pricey for the service we received.

Food during the wedding was amazing. One of the best I've experienced. Excellent cavery and service throughout the day/night.

Overall I'd say it was a 4 star with room for some basic improvements.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauralou_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We have just returned from a week in a deluxe log cabin set in the grounds of rushpool hall. We could not fault the log cabin at all. The rooms were lovely and the cabin was lovely and warm.. I was expecting a double and two single beds in the cabin but it was 2 doubles which didn't cause us too many problems as the girls were happy to share. We didn't have a microwave when we arrived but after a quick phone call it was bought up to us straight away. The grounds are beautiful and we had a lovely walk through the woods down to saltburn. We did have a little look through the budget cabins windows and was glad we paid the extra money.. But for £250 a week they would be worth staying in for a cheap getaway.
We will definately stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dle100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I have recently had the pleasure of staying in this delightful hotel for five nights during a business trip to the locality. Excellent room, comfortable, clean and exceptionally well appointed. Friendly, helpful staff and good wholesome food. Will definitely stay again and recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: best to face the sea and view down the valley to Saltburn
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RushpoolHall, Manager at Rushpool Hall, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

just returned from three wonderful days spent at rushpool hall, wedding was amazing everything catered for. Room had wonderful four poster bed so comfy and pillows the best we have ever had at a hotel, spacious room and very clean. All staff work very hard and an asset to the hotel. I hope to visit again and would highly reccomend for a quiet break away or that special celebration.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frances w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RushpoolHall, Manager at Rushpool Hall, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed for one night as part of a surprise birthday celebration for close friends

Hotel is a stunning building, with fabulous gardens and views. The public rooms are all a Victorian gothic fantasy, being sumptuously decorated throughout. The room we had was comfortable and clean and beatifully decorated.

Staff were all friendly and helpful. We had a lovely party and a great evening.
The quality of the barbecue meal provided was OK but some of the meats were overcooked badly.. The barbecue chicken was almost inedible.

The hotel closes breakfast service at 9:30 am (at weekends surely rather early) although they did rustle us up a full English after this time, very good quality but not much of it. We were queried on whether reception had made it clear that breakfast finishd at 9:30am. Most hotels seem to manage 10:00am at weekends.

All in all a beautiful place with friendly staff, but could be so much better.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broughies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RushpoolHall, Manager at Rushpool Hall, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your review. We do run Breakfast till 10am on Sundays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

very nice looking building went to a wedding for weekend with friends at £100 per night expected more for the money breakfast cold and had to wait for service dont think will return wedding dinner good but again service slow

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bonzo186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RushpoolHall, Manager at Rushpool Hall, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for your review, I am disappointed to hear that breakfast wasn't satisfactory. We endeavour to provide the best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltburn-by-the-Sea
0.5 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
159 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
475 reviews
3.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
414 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
5.7 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rushpool Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rushpool Hall

Property: Rushpool Hall
Address: Saltburn Lane, Saltburn-by-the-Sea TS12 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Hotel Rushpool Hall
Rushpool Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing