We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Anchor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Anchor
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed at this Hotel last weekend while doing a charity walk along Hadrians Wall. Had pleasant evening on Saturday evening sat on Patio overlooking bridge and river, watching lonely heron searching for food - salmon not playing ball. When sun went in we had a superb meal of Rib Eye steak with garlic sauteed potatoes - brilliant!! Up early in the morning before 10 mile walk.Presented with a huge and well cooked full English breakfast. Got back from walk at about 3 and all the staff asked us how we had got on. All the staff were very friendly - and all very young, seeming to need no supervision - they knew what to do and how to do it. We came down to dinner that evening for one of their Sunday roast lunches - what can I say. Meat was so tasty and well cooked, plenty of veg and the mash was to die for - not one lump. We even managed pudding! Frangipani and Coulis! All of us are very happy to recommend this hotel to our friends and family. It's a proper local pub and doesn't put on airs and graces. Rooms were en suite, tidy, clean and the tea cups were proper sized! Not little egg cups.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    45
    9
    7
    11
See reviews for
29
50
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We went here for a meal one evening when we were staying in the area. We ate in the big room next to the bar and it was a bit like going back in time, with highly patterned carpets, two huge TV screens on the walls with the sound turned off and music playing on a loop all the time. The food on offer was standard pub meals like fish and chips and steak and took an incredibly long time to arrive for everyone. The food was just about OK, apart from the chips that were absolutely tasteless. The waitress/barmaid was very nice and friendly and apologised for the delay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Found the Anchor on the internet as a friend was getting married at the nearby Langley Castle and their rooms were out of our budget.
Even before we arrived the customer service we received from the owners was superb.
When we got to the hotel the staff were most welcoming, friendly yet still professional and this really set the scene for a perfect stay.
Each room (we had 3) was clean, comfortable, spacious and just what we needed. The beds were comfy and I had a great night sleep.
I have to mention how great the staff were. Nothing was too much trouble, they had great knowledge of the local area and seemed extremely proud of their hotel.
You cannot beat this hotel for it's fantastic location, brilliant staff and tremendous value for money.
It was so good we've even arranged to go back up for the night even though I live less than 20 miles away.
Forgot to mention... breakfast was smashing too!!!

Room Tip: If you're not returning late from a wedding ask for a room at the opposite side to the car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ripcurl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We went to the Anchor for a lovely family meal. Food is superb, excellent choice and great value for money. Table of six with drinks and tip only £80. Fresh local produce, great steak, lovely chicken breast burger, massive fish and chips. Nearly all meals come with a massive bowl of home cooked chunky chips mmm! Also accommodated dietry requirements. Over the last two years the Anchor has gradually been refurbished to a good standard, hopfully this will continue as it is a great find in a lovely scenic location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimzhigher123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed here for a family party, cannot understand the bad reviews as we found the rooms clean, newly reburished, the food excellent, very friendly place to stay.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

had a fantastic time when we stayed at the anchor last weekend!! We were going to a wedding at nearby langley castle and pre booked the anchor via the internet, although we read some bad reviews we needn't have worried.The hospitality was second to none, the landlady and partner were brilliant(contrary to other reviews!!) The breakfast was top notch and we will definitely be going back again!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2012

after my second stay at the anchor i have to advise anyone wanting a peaceful weekend away, in a comfy, warm and friendly environment than the anchor hotel is where to rest your head.
the staff are excellent, really helpful and always around when you have questions. the food is unreal. (its better than my mums). the area its self is beautiful with its panoramic view of the countryside, and only a short train ride to Newcastle city center or the shopping mall the metro center.
making plans as i write this with my hubby to book up for valentines day.
i give this place 11/10. for value for money, entertainment and rate of the room. if you visit the anchor ask for the owners. they honestly are the nieces people in the world.

Room Tip: get a room over the river, the sound is soo relaxing. something i never get in mt inner city flat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lois g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haydon Bridge
1.2 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,125 reviews
6.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
688 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Railway Hotel & Bistro
The Railway Hotel & Bistro
#4 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reading Rooms Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor

Property: The Anchor
Address: 1 John Martin Street, Haydon Bridge, Hexham NE47 6AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Haydon Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Haydon Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchor 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Hexham
The Anchor Haydon Bridge, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing