We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Welcoming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haydon Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grindon Farm - Cartshed & Old Farmhouse
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We stayed for three days over Easter and had an awesome time. Dave and Jackie are wonderful hosts who made us very welcome. The B&B is well laid out and very comfortable with great views from the lounge. Being on a working farm and getting up close to the animals was an added bonus.

The B&B is ideally located for people wanting to explore the Wall. Having Haydon Bridge train station just down the road made exploring Newcastle a breeze.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josheba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2009

The view from the lounge was amazing - you could see for miles. As a party of five, we had the B&B extension to ourselves and made our own breakfasts from an extremely well stocked fridge! Jackie made us feel very welcome and I have never stayed in such a beautifully furnished self-catering/B&B. In addition to all the usual facilities, it was equipped throughout to cater for disabled guests - my bedroom had an ensuite wetroom. Oh - mustn't forget to mention the rarebreed Ryedale sheep bred by Jackie and the red squirrels in the wood behind the farm. And, if you're walking the Wall, she makes a mean packed lunch.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ap2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

I was also in the party of people walking Hadrian's Wall and I can only echo the sentiments written by Steve below me.

This is the most amazing B&B I have ever stayed in, it was spotlessly clean, peaceful, modern yet tasteful and the woman there really couldn't do enough for us.

The food was local, fresh and delicious. We even got packed lunches for the 2nd day of walking, which was amazing value for money and again, delicious (particularly after 50 odd miles of walking!!)

Would recommend to all - and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MortgageManChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

Stayed at this beautiful B&B for 1 night en route to Scotland and wish it could have been MUCH longer. As you drive up to it, the location is breath-taking and the accommodation is equally impressive. Booked a double room in the conversion and it was faultless, the smell of beautiful fresh laundry was apparent as soon as you opened the door of the room, it was immaculate and very well equipped with an equally spotlessly clean well appointed bathroom with sweet smelling fluffy towels. Due to it's location, it's amazingly quiet and peaceful, all aiding to a perfect nights sleep. Breakfast in the dining area provided spectacular views along with an exeedingly hearty feast to start the day, everything so fresh and of the highest quality. Dave and Jackie were so welcoming and friendly, perfect hosts. Would highly recommend this fabulous B&B, will definitely be going back.

J B Durham

Stayed: August 2008
Thank SNOOPYDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

I was in a team walking the Hadrian's wall over 3 days and this B&B was a welcomed rest. The B&B was very clean and maintained to a high standard. There were 3 bedrooms, 1 double and 2 with twins. 1 of the twin rooms allows disabled access. Each room has its on en suite with a walk in shower. The beds themselves were a dream with the highest quality in bedding, they were really comfy for a great nights sleep. The service was also too a high standard we were welcomed with a drink on arrival, an excellent cooked breakfast made from local produce in the morning. Pack lunches were also provided at a small cost and well worth it as the contents were of excellent quality and desperately need on a 25 miles hike over steel rigg. This is by far the best B&B I have ever stayed at and highly recommend a night or 2 here.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2007

My mother, sister and I had the pleasure of staying with David and Jackie for several nights. We had all three of the comfortable rooms which are modern and clean while still maintaining a nice cozy feel.

Breakfast was delicious! The location is utterly peaceful. In the morning with the mist laying on the fields we felt as though we had fallen into wonderland.

We felt very welcome and very comfortable, not something I can say about several other places we stayed. David gave us cheerful recommendations and directions in the morning and steered us to great
dinners at night. We all agree that we'd love to go back for an extended stay. Lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Esmerelda55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2007

Having to be elsewhere, my wife and I stayed just the one night at the Cattleshed B&B. It is located some four miles north of Haydon Bridge, consequently it is in a very peacefull location. Based on their farm, Dave and Jackie Armstrong have made an excellent job of the conversion. There is a large, comfortable general lounge area and three separate bedrooms, one double and two twin,all ensuite. The standard of accommodation is very good and comfortable. We had the double room which, whilst being of a high standard, was for us, just a little small. That aside, it couldn't be faulted.
Breakfast, prepared by Jackie and from local produce was really good and substantial.
Dave and Jackie were very welcoming and friendly and went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our brief stay.
This is a great place for peace and quiet and a superb location for walking and touring. We can highly recommended it, you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank excllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haydon Bridge hotels
4 mi away
The Anchor
The Anchor
#6 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
142 reviews
4 mi away
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
253 reviews
0 mi away
Old Repeater Station
Old Repeater Station
#3 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hadrian Lodge
Hadrian Lodge
#5 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
94 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Railway Hotel & Bistro
The Railway Hotel & Bistro
#4 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
65 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Reading Rooms Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grindon Farm - Cartshed & Old Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grindon Farm - Cartshed & Old Farmhouse

Address: Grindon Farm, Haydon Bridge, Hexham NE47 6NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Haydon Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Haydon Bridge
Hotel Class:4 star — Grindon Farm - Cartshed & Old Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have two beautiful barn conversions situated in the picturesque and tranquil Northumberland National Park. We offer self catering accommodation and the cottages have cosy wood burning stoves.Both cottages offer panoramic views down the Tyne Valley.The Old Farmhouse has two en suite bedrooms and sleeps 4 people. This cottage is wheel chair accessible.An extra folding bed is available.The Cartshed has 3 en suite bedrooms and can sleep 6 people. This cottage is suitable for less mobile guests.Well behaved pets are welcomed in both cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grindon Farm - Cartshed & Old Farmhouse Haydon Bridge, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing