We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a wheelchair users vote of thanks”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haydon Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grindon Farm - Cartshed & Old Farmhouse
bedford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a wheelchair users vote of thanks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

my sincere thanks to Jackie and David for making their lovely b and b accessible to me as a wheelchair user. it is still quite difficult finding suitable places to stay but the Cartshed was first class. Low level thresholds, doors wide enough to accommodate my standard wheelchair, and a fully accessible shower/bath room as good as any hotel I have used.
From arrival to departure, help was available for any relevant issues on request.
The setting and panoramic vista's from the breakfast room were pure idyll and a full moon, clear skies, shimmering stars, the sound of total silence apart from the occasional bleating of distant sheep, all on a barmy evening was a special memory.
Cartshed gets my vote as great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BedfordMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Parkgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

had a lovely overnight stay at this more than comfortable bed and breakfast. dave and jackie were the most welcoming hosts with excellent suggestions for dinner and tour of the area. it is in a most beautiful part of the world and even though we were there for only a very short time we felt as though we had had a very restful break. thank you both. jim and dinah marshall

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcr_marshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

Amazing B&B, working farm, converted farm buildings.
Best Bit - lounge, floor to ceiling windows with views over the valley
Bonus - kitchen you can use for an evening take away, they sell wine and local beer
Top Tip - picnic bench is a morning sun trap, have your coffee outside
Value - great

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterMajella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2009

This B&B is set in a beautiful location. If you want to escape from the stress of modern life, this is to place to stay. The owners are very frinedly and welcoming. We were welcomed with nice tea and homemade cookies. The rooms are are well maintained, adequate but much too small. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is very awkward to use. The guest lounge is a good size but unless you like playing monopoly it has no TV, no other entertainment and you are left to your own devices. The rear yard of the B&B is an eyesore and it needs tidying up. Breakfast was nice and well cooked. Would I stay here again? Yes I would for £70.00 a night it is value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank husniye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay/Nice
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, David and Jackie. From the welcoming tea and biscuits on arrival, to our departure, all was everything you could possibly wish for. The setting is absolutely stunning, with views over the owners farmland. The accomodation is spotless, and it obvious from the many nice touches, that a lot of thought and effort has gone into every aspect of this very personal B&B.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexNicoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

Stayed here with a friend whilst walking Hadrian's Wall and found a very comfortable, friendly B&B. Although our twin room was on the small side it was fully kitted out and very comfortable. Breakfast in the bright living room with it's stunning view was tasty and made up of locally sourced produce. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful and I would thoroughly recommend Grindon to fellow walkers.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TallskinnybirdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

We stayed here on the way to the highlands of Scotland , what an experience! The accommodation is spotless and has everything you could wish for. We were welcomed with a pot of tea and delicious biscuits. The views are breathtaking, we were just disappointed that we could not stay here on the way back as it was fully booked (unsurprisingly).
We would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiggerettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haydon Bridge
4.9 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
6.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Repeater Station
Old Repeater Station
#3 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Humshaugh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grindon Farm - Cartshed & Old Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grindon Farm - Cartshed & Old Farmhouse

Property: Grindon Farm - Cartshed & Old Farmhouse
Address: Grindon Farm, Haydon Bridge, Hexham NE47 6NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Haydon Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Haydon Bridge
Hotel Class:4 star — Grindon Farm - Cartshed & Old Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have two beautiful barn conversions situated in the picturesque and tranquil Northumberland National Park. We offer self catering accommodation and the cottages have cosy wood burning stoves.Both cottages offer panoramic views down the Tyne Valley.The Old Farmhouse has two en suite bedrooms and sleeps 4 people. This cottage is wheel chair accessible.An extra folding bed is available.The Cartshed has 3 en suite bedrooms and can sleep 6 people. This cottage is suitable for less mobile guests.Well behaved pets are welcomed in both cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grindon Farm - Cartshed & Old Farmhouse Haydon Bridge, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing