We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful haven”
Review of Pausania Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pausania Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tempio Pausania
Certificate of Excellence
trowbridge, wiltshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“peaceful haven”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The lady on reception was very helpful and took us to our room. The room was very dark and cool, very spacious but was in need of a deep clean, the floor did not feel very clean. The beds were comfortable, plenty of clean towels and the mini fridge was ideal for chilling water and wine. Our terrace was a little small because we had an end room but it overlooked the tennis courts and was so quiet and peaceful. we only had 1 chair but once I notified reception a chair was delivered to our room. Breakfast was average. Dining room overlooked the mountains, the view was beautiful. The pool area was nice but there was an obvious shortage in sunbeds. We used the restaurant a couple of times in the evenings, the food was of a good standard and very reasonable including the local wine. The staff were very attentive.
We had a hire car so found the location of the hotel ideal, so quiet surrounded by the mountains but only a short drive from the beautiful city and other attractions of North Sardinia.

Room Tip: block 3 had better views and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickiTrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz730873, Proprietario at Pausania Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and for describing the good, the not-so-good, and the great with an even hand.
Let us first address the not-so-good. We’re sorry to hear the room hadn’t been properly cleaned prior to your arrival, but we are confident this issue was quickly solved after you brought it up with our housekeeping staff. Of course, such problems should never occur, and it is our own responsibility to make sure that everything is in good order, but when mishaps arise, as they sometimes will (particularly during the high season), it’s very important for guests to feel that they can be open about them with us, thus giving us a chance to make things right as quickly as possible.
Turning now to the good, we are happy you enjoyed our restaurant, and we thank you for pointing out that the meals we offer are very reasonably priced. We take pride in our excellent all-around value, which we believe to be one of our strong suits.
Finally, thank you for mentioning the ideal location of our hotel, from which—provided you’ve got a car or other vehicle—it is easy to reach many attractions in Northern Sardinia.

Please come visit us again when you get a chance to! All the best,

Vargiu Family
Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    130
    61
    11
    9
See reviews for
62
157
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I returned to the Pausania Inn two weeks ago. It lived up to my expectations. Rooms are spacious and shady, so cool in the extreme heat of the day. The staff are extremely friendly and helpdful - always willing to help and answer questions. The food is magnificent, plenty of choices with many local dishes; portions are large. The pool area is realxing and there was always plenty of room on the sunbeds.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bordwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz730873, Proprietario at Pausania Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Pausania Inn as your “home away from home”, and for taking the time to write such a flattering review of our hotel. How wonderful that you were able to enjoy yourself as much as you did! We are delighted that our staff’s friendly service, the great food prepared by our chef and our relaxing pool area played a part in ensuring the success of your time here in Nothern Sardinia.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Vargiu Family
Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel was clean and basic. We found it comfortable and adequate for a base to explore Northern Sardinia. Breakfast was continental but very good. Selection of cereals, cakes and the staple ham and cheese for most Italian B&Bs. The room was basic with a double bed, shower room with hair-dryer. Lots of towels where provided and changed daily (if wanted). Housekeeping was good and if we need anything extra they responded. Service, was fine. You can see it was a family run operation with the waiters and waitresses talking to each other in a common way; loud and with hand gestures. you could take this in a rude manner however it added to the feeling of being in Italy! food was good although pool side snacks were limited. they have a restaurant open for lunch and dinner which seemed seemed busy in the evenings. The food was good, however a little disorganised between the serving staff again.
As a base to explore, i would definitely recommended it. Main routes to key destinations on the door step: Isola Rossa, La Maddalena, Costa Paradiso etc...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank always_l0ve_the_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz730873, Proprietario at Pausania Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your evenhanded review, and for recommending our inn as a base to explore the area. We will work toward improving our positives, and strive to iron out the minor kinks in our service. We hope you will be back sometime in the future! In the meantime, thank you for your input.

All the best,

Vargiu Family
Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was our second stay at the Pausania Inn. As always, my wife and I had a great time here. We can only but recommend this lovely hotel to anybody wanting to spend quality time in Northern Sardinia. We never found such a wonderful staff, extremely helpful in any situation, friendly and attentive, genuinely committed to provide a warm, homely feeling. The world would be a better place if all hotel staffs were like the people at the Pausania Inn!
The room (with Internet access) was cozy with a spatious private terrace, with a generously sized and clean bathroom. Amongst the amenities offered, there is a nice, never too crowded pool. Breakfast had many great choices, including possibly the best cappuccino I ever tasted (..and I am Italian). The restaurant menu was so satisfying and delicious and the service so pleasant that we always ate dinner in the restaurant. On some evenings the view of the sunset from the restaurant was simply breathtaking. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mussomoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz730873, Proprietario at Pausania Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Wow! Where to start? First of all, thank you for being a return visitor. It’s very rewarding for us when guests choose to come back to Northern Sardinia and to stay with us more than once. It’s a powerful indication of a job well done and a sign of trust, of which we hope to prove worthy time after time.
Second, thank you for writing such a flattering and heartfelt review of our inn! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

All the best,

Vargiu Family
Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I didn't know what to expect, but I have to say the cooking class was a delightful experience with two wonderful teachers. The food we cooked and then ate was a real pleasure in the most beautiful surroundings. If I ever get the chance to repeat the experience I won't think twice. Thank you to the Pausania Inn and all who made our day a day to remember.
With Love
Andrea

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz730873, Proprietario at Pausania Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Andrea,

Thank you so much for this! We’re happy you enjoyed the cooking class as much as we did! It’s always great fun for both students and instructors, and it really is a wonderful way for foreign visitors to gain insight into the Sardinian and Italian heritage and character. Food, as we know, is a very important part of the local culture… Make sure you treat your friends and family to the recipes you learned to prepare here at Pausania Inn!

Warm regards and please do come visit us again,

Vargiu Family
Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We had a who derful stay at the Pausania Inn. The staff was attentive and extremely helpful. The room was very nice with a wonderful private terrace. Breakfast had many delicious choices. We ate dinner in the restaurant two nights, it was so delicious.'. They also took god care of our bicycles.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz730873, Proprietario at Pausania Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Carol,

Thank you for writing such a flattering review of Pausania Inn. We’re very happy you enjoyed yourselves! It’s not every day we can greet guests arriving in Sardinia all the way from the West Coast of the U.S., and we were excited to be able to do so. Please come visit us again if you get the chance to, and make sure you let others in Tacoma, Washington know how beautiful Sardinia is!

Warm regards,

Vargiu Family
Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My girl friends and I found this quiet inn nestled in beautiful mountains a great place to begin our trip in Sardinia. The drive from the ferry at Santa Teresa was pleasant and easy. We found the food very fresh and delicious much of it produced or contributed by local farms- it was excellent! The owner was very helpful and totally fluent in English. She helped us make arrangements for further travel accommodations and made suggestions on various things to see and do on our trip. The town was close by and we could have spent several hours roaming the narrow streets and enjoying the atmosphere of this quaint city. We would go back in a flash!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gullylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz730873, Proprietario at Pausania Inn, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
And you should—come back in a flash, that is! We would love the opportunity to welcome you and your friends again soon. Meanwhile, thank you so much for taking the time to review our inn and for sharing your thoughts with other travelers. We’d be thrilled to greet other travelers from the state of Maine (which holds a very special place in our hearts, as you know) and to help them make the most of their time in Sardinia, a beautiful and unique Italian region! So please spread the word among your friends and family, and take care.

Vargiu Family
Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tempio Pausania
22.5 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
4.4 mi away
L'Agnata di De Andre
L'Agnata di De Andre
#1 of 3 in Tempio Pausania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
114.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cagliari
Holiday Inn Cagliari
#12 of 35 in Cagliari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Jazz Hotel
Jazz Hotel
#2 of 40 in Olbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
53.7 mi away
Isola Rossa Resort
Isola Rossa Resort
#2 of 15 in Bosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
124.5 mi away
Lu' Hotel
Lu' Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carbonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pausania Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pausania Inn

Property: Pausania Inn
Address: SS 133 Km 1, 07029 Tempio Pausania, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Tempio Pausania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tempio Pausania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pausania Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and run by the Vargiu family, the hotel is located in Tempio Pausania, in Sardinia, one short kilometer from the town center. Immersed in the peace and quiet of Gallura's wooded countryside, Pausania Inn is an ideal base from which to explore many destinations in Northern Sardinia, and it is especially suited to visitors who are looking to enjoy a vacation away from the hustle and bustle of seaside resorts. Surrounded by lush Mediterranean vegetation (including cork oaks, myrtle, and lentisk), the hotel greets you with stunning views of the Mountains of Aggius. Pausania Inn comprises 60 air-conditioned rooms, simple and unfussy, but furnished with care; some have a private little garden or a balcony. On arrival at the hotel, you will immediately be delighted by the beautiful views from its common areas. In the large lobby, you will find books by local authors describing the Sardinian heritage, maps and brochures for you to take, and a charming display of costumes, masks, textiles and other local crafts. On site there is a bar, a restaurant specialized in regional and national cuisine, a panoramic terrace, and a nice outdoor swimming pool. The hotel also has a tennis court, and a large parking area, which can accommodate up to 150 cars, as well as big tour buses. Friendly atmosphere, attention to detail, discretion and dedication to hospitality are our trademarks. The beauty and tranquility of the surrounding countryside, as well as the warm welcome and the attentive service of our staff, will make your holiday with us a source of many cherished memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pausania Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pausania Hotel Tempio Pausania
Pausania Inn Tempio Pausania, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing