We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable rooms”
Review of Hotel Bahia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Paloma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Bahia
Ranked #12 of 20 La Paloma B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

The rooms are nice. Flat screens and satellite TV in the rooms. Hot showers. Small fridge and a balconey. Friendly staff to clean your room daily. Will stay here again................
.................................

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank charliekuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed one night on our road trip around Uruguay. The hotel was constructed in the 1930's and retains all its original charm. The conveniences in the room however are not from that era and the room was light and airy with flyscreens and ceiling fans. The room fills with seabreeze so aircon was not necessary. It was a real treat to stay here, the place has great character and the staff were friendly and helpful. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brent O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The hotel and the room we were in are very simple, and don't expect too much comfort. It's practical, and maybe this is their approach, as if you are there in summer you'll spend most of the day at the beach. Location is great, and breakfast good.
We stayed for one night only, but would not stay again because there are carpets in the walls (!) and my husband is allergic to dust - given it's an old hotel, we cannot even imagine what lies underneath those carpets. Not a good thing to have in a hotel in a beach town (or anywhere for that matter).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertaWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBahiaUY, Propietario at Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Ms Roberta, thank you for your comments. It strikes us the way you talk about the carpets in the walls because you had no reservation in our hotel: you came here and had the chance to take a view of the rooms as any of our customers; we showed you one of the available and it was ok for you, you agreed with it. If you had told us about your husband's allergy, we kindly would have offered you one room with no carpet (there were many available that day).
We appreciate your comments to improve our clients satisfaction, but the fact our hotel is antique does not allow you to say that you do not know what could lie under the carpets. We really take care about our clients and the cleaning of their rooms.
Thank you!
Hotel Bahía, La Paloma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

The location of the hotel is very convenient to the beach and shopping in La Paloma. The staff was kind and allowed me to use their towels at the beach. They do not speak English but with my limited Spanish speaking abilities we were able to communicate. The rooms are not fancy, but provide the essentials and are fairly clean. Be sure to bring your own shampoo and blow dryer!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akmammaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBahiaUY, Propietario at Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear Akmammaw, it was our pleasure to have you as guest in Hotel and Restó Bahía during your holidays in La Paloma. We are happy for receiving your feedback about our hotel and knowing you left La Paloma satisfied with our services. We look forward to your visit in your next holidays at La Paloma, Uruguay.
Hotel Bahía, La Paloma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Clean, simple, family kind of place. If you are looking to spend your time outdoors and come back for a bath and some sleep, this is your place!
Family run, very polite and sweet people. They let us invited friends over to have breakfast with us!
Very close to the beach and easy to go everywheres.
The bedrooms are clean, bed is comfortable, has TV, shower, breakfast included.

Room Tip: rooms in first floor over the back side of the hotel are quieter and have a balcony with table and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hbahialapaloma, Propietario at Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Thank you for your comments. We hope you come back soon to Hotel Bahía.
We are always trying to improve the level of service we provide to our guests.

Hotel Bahía, La Paloma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I was in Uruguay at Easter and was told all accomm would be full. As a result I really needed to know I had a reservation. Also I'm a woman travelling alone so I like to know for safety reasons. It took me about 5 email requests to extract this info. And other questions I asked which we really important like whether there was an ATM in town were never answered even tho I sent several emails. As a consequence I had to travel with far too much cash which is another security issue as well as extremely irritating because I left the country with excess pesos. And yes there was an ATM there.....

So altho my stay was ok I think the service should include good communication pre arrival. I excused it on the basis maybe they were busy but when I got there before Easter the place was dead. And the staff member who had sent the occasional email spent a lot of the day sitting around gassing...

The location is great; room average; bfast good; didn't use the resto as it was expensive; staff quite friendly; so hotel was fine but maybe overpriced. Just don't expect a reply to your emails!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosmicmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We didn't want to stay at Puertas del Sol (terrible hotel), and we searched another one in La Paloma, and we foud this one. Very good hotel, with clean room, but without air conditioner or any ventilator! But it has good location, very good staff and close to the main street and beach. Its a good option to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luiz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBahiaUY, Propietario at Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you for giving your opinion Luiz R.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Let us tell you that every room have always had its own ventilator and even many of them have AC system nowadays. In case your room had not had ventilator for some reason and you had asked for it at the front desk, we would have provided you with one of them gladly.
We hope you come back to stay here soon.
Regards.
Hotel Bahía, La Paloma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paloma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Tuna
Hotel La Tuna
#4 of 5 in La Paloma
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yeruti
Hotel Yeruti
#2 of 5 in La Paloma
47 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Portobello
Hotel Portobello
#3 of 5 in La Paloma
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viola
Hotel Viola
#7 of 20 in La Paloma
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Araza
Hostel Araza
#1 of 44 in La Paloma
31 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cara Colomba
Cara Colomba
#6 of 44 in La Paloma
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia

Address: Av. del Navio y del Sol, La Paloma 27001, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Rocha Department > La Paloma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in La Paloma
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing