We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Bulli Hotel - Hacienda Benazuza
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect food”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

beautiful, quiet and romantic hotel. beautiful rooms.
perfect service.
Food Summit, top quality gastronomy to be repeated
Of course we stayed because of the famous El Bulli chef, Ferran Adria. However, that is not why we would come back (and we definitely would). The "best breakfast in the world" is what pulled me in. I had to try it! Breakfast is my favorite travel meal

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank WimMertens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    13
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
12
29
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We stayed at the Hacienda to kick off our 25th wedding anniversary trip. Of course we stayed because of the famous El Bulli chef, Ferran Adria. However, that is not why we would come back (and we definitely would). The "best breakfast in the world" is what pulled me in. I had to try it!

Breakfast is my favorite travel meal, and I am a food writer, so this was an irresistible claim to me. While the breakfast is really good--with good coffee, pretty good pastries, fruit and yogurt, interesting egg dishes--"best in the world" is pushing it. I think we have just traveled in too many superb hotels to take that seriously. (In my ever so humble opinion, the best hotel breakfasts are: Hotel Seiyo Ginza in Tokyo, either the English or Japanese breakfast--a choice no one should have to make!; and the Taj West End in Bangalore's unbelievable buffet. Both of these meals were so outstanding, I would consider traveling there just for the breakfasts.)

As far as the restaurant, La Alqueria, what can I say. The food is obviously really interesting, and molecular gastronomy is something that appeals to you or not. I am too much of a traditionalist to be in the former category. My two biggest complaints about the experience: 1) the food itself must be served very quickly, or it deteriorates; this forces the wait staff to be extremely stressed and rushed, which cannot make for a relaxing dinner. The amount of trotting back and forth is unnerving. I think this is why some reviews criticize the staff. 2) No course is really delicious, just strange and interesting. So while the meal is fascinating, you don't come away craving anything, just sort of marveling at the weirdness. Once is fine for us!

That all said, we would absolutely come back. We were upgraded to a suite, which was so beautiful and romantic. The bed had pressed linen (actual linen, not cotton) sheets, which are such a treat! And the bar! We loved that high-ceilinged madder-colored space, with its wonderful barman, and great little bar treats. Just walking the public spaces is worth the stay. The hacienda is gorgeous.

The hotel is 20 minutes outside of Seville, and very easy to drive back and forth to. The little town adjacent to the hacienda is very cute and also pleasant to walk through.

This is a perfect hotel for honeymooners, or for a romantic getaway.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank theobsessivetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

I first stayed here in October 2007 and everything about the hotel was first class, and the food in the Alqueria Restaurant arguably justifed its 2 Michelin stars.

From my stay last weekend it's obvious that budget cuts (understandable in this economic climate) have taken their toll. However hospitality and a smile are largely free and while most of the staff were efficient, with some notable exceptions, many were surly, chilly or at best, just unsmiling.

La Alqueria Restaurant - some very good dishes on the tasting menu, but some very average too. Service stressed.

For this money, neither the lack of friendliness nor the quality of the food is acceptable, so I can't recommend it.

Still had a great weekend - but that was mostly due to the fun people I was with and the hotel building and grounds, which will always be beautiful......

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BravoCharlie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Rather bizarrely, the real weakness of this hotel is the food and its price. I went to this hotel with my wife. It is utterly beautiful. It teeters very close to being the wrong side of shabby chic, but for us it was perfect. Our room was spectacular, the gardens and pool are stunning, but the food was average and repetative. If you do not go to the L'alqueria restaurant in the evening, you must eat from the same menu as you had for lunch, which is not extensive and has a heavy bias towards fried fish. For what you get, it is also extremely expensive.

The hotel's supposed jewel is the L'alqueria restaurant. It was singularly dissappointing. Of the 16 courses we ate, not one stood out as exceptional, and the overriding sensation was of pointlessness. A mimetic peanut? So what? A deconstruced omlette, clever, but not much else - the price, ridiculous.

However, to its credit, the service was exceptional throughout our stay, and ignoring the 2 michelin starred L'Alqueria restaurant, we would happily return if a greater variety of simple Andalucian food was on offer.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomMildmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
378 reviews
362 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 628 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

One of the best hotel experiences in the world and undoubtedly the best hotel cuisine (Ferran Adria), in particular the unbeatable breakfast. Charming, quiet, historic, authentic, yet up to date in terms of luxury comfort and service. At starting prices in the €300 range, I would even say that this hotel is fantastic value for money. Close enough to Sevilla, but rather a country hotel, this is the ultimate hideaway.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

The service, the food, the pool area/gardens were really really excellent. The room (we stayed in a master suite) was less good, but more than adequate.

Service is rather stiff and very correct but always quick and efficient. All our requests were solved very well and - to some extent - our needs and wishes were pre-empted. Nothing was ever a problem.

The food is the reason you go here. Eating in the two star La Alqueria is a fantastic experience. You are served a 15 course menu of the El Bulli highlights from the last 15 (I think) years. We decided to eat there two of the evenings and got 15 other courses the 2nd evening. Both spectacular and a real experience for all the senses. Simply great. During lunch the poolside restaurant La Alberca serves great, typical Spanish dishes, often tapas style. Menu is in pictures and I think we tried all the different things. All really delicious. The third restaurant La Abaceria is only open only during winter, so we did not eat there. However, one could have a dinner in the Guadarnes restaurant (in bar area but also al fresco) the days one did not feel like a full El Bulli style dinner. Also this good, but less special than the others.
And not to forget: The breakfast. Voted best hotel breakfast in the world, and I would agree. A tasting breakfast offering a selection of freshly baked sweet pastry; three different juices served in miniature bottles, toast and sweet butters and home made marmelades, fresh fruit and a selection of egg and other hot dishes. All served at your table, all home made and all different during the four breakfasts we had. Just great!!!

The pool is really huge with three different parts within a large garden with beautiful trees, flowers and fountains. Comfortable loungers or special daybeds, very attentive service and no disturbances at all. Just wonderful. We skipped planned sightseeing trips just to enjoy this oasis.

Our room was a master suite which was on the small side compared to other suites that we have stayed in. It consisted of a bedroom, partly separate living room with sofa, chair, table and desk and a pretty small bathroom with combined bath/shower and double sinks. Style was a combination of rustique (these rooms used to be the stalls) and romantic English flowery. Aircondition VERY noisy and not really efficient enough for the July heat. Outside private terrasse. All in all comfortable but nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Musken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
190 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

PLEASE NOTE THERE IS ANOTHER ENTRY AND REVIEW SECTION FOR THIS HOTEL AS WELL.
My wife and I stayed here during a driving/gastronomic tour of Spain. We very much enjoyed the hotel and wish we could have had more time to enjoy the pool and grounds during our stay. Our two nights there included two wonderful breakfasts and two special dinners so we were well pleased. The room was on two levels, with the bedroom upstairs and a sitting room and the en suite bathroom downstairs, very spacious and comfortable. Public areas of the hotel are delightfully furnished and interesting to explore, from the grain stores underground near Reception to the day bed in the pool gardens. The famed El Bulli restaurant takes itself very seriously. The offering was delicious and extremely well served, however it would have been nice to see some smiles from the waiting staff! Breakfast is an experience.The waiters are in full mess dress and the waitresses in maid's uniforms, all very smart and effeicient. No buffet is offered, it is all served. So don't expect a quick breakfast, just enjoy the rare treat.
In summary this is a great hotel to use as a base near to Seville. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accidentaltourist_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanlucar la Mayor
Exe Gran Hotel Solucar
#1 of 3 in Sanlucar la Mayor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Abades Benacazon
#1 of 1 in Benacazon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#4 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Bulli Hotel - Hacienda Benazuza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Bulli Hotel - Hacienda Benazuza

Property: El Bulli Hotel - Hacienda Benazuza
Address: Virgen De Las Nievas s/n, 41800 Sanlucar la Mayor, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Sanlucar la Mayor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sanlucar la Mayor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — El Bulli Hotel - Hacienda Benazuza 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El Bulli Hotel - Hacienda Benazuza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Bulli Hotel - Hacienda Benazuza Province Of Seville, Spain - Sanlucar La Mayor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing