We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Exe Gran Hotel Solucar
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant overnight stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The Hotel is a lovely grand old building, with a magnificent bar/solarium area.
Staff were efficient and friendly. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice.
Our room on the 3rd Floor was very large but a dingy, and smelt a bit musty, (think the room had had a bit of a water ingress from rain the previous week ) with only a small window for light and the bedroom and bathroom were upstairs in a mezzanine area. Large comfortable bed and beautifully clean bathroom.
Overall, good value for money

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerSS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    90
    98
    30
    28
See reviews for
98
99
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed at the Solucar for our recent visit to Spain (Seville, Cordoba and Malaga). We weren't expecting much judging by the other reviews but it was much better than expected and good value for money. The room was satisfactory, nice public areas, lovely pool (with life-guard) and very helpful, polite reception staff. There is a bus stop immediately outside the hotel and it takes approximately 40 minutes to Seville (which itself is lovely) so it was great for us. There is not much nearby but that didn't really bother us although other restaurants may have been useful. Fridges are provided in rooms which really helped.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool area would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TartanScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The swimming pool was excellent.

Only the front desk personnel can speak English. Xavier was very friendly and helpful giving us a lot of information.

The breakfast was OK, there are warm and cold food. The coffee was a bit like instant coffee. The staff at the breakfast can't speak english. The breakfast costs about 7 euro.

The hotel is not 4 stars at all. should be 2-3 stars hotel.

The hotel is basically located at....what to say...in the middle of nowhere.

The dinner at the hotel was the worst I have ever had. The menu a la cart was 12 euro for 3 dishes. The starter was without salt and tasted like plastic vegetables. The main dish was a moderate piece of pork and little bit of french fries. The desert, don't want to talk about it.
The menu a la cart was written by hand and hard to read with spelling mistakes. The paper was half of A4 page and ripped of by hand.

The staff was not so good with speaking English and seems like to rushing us after every dish. The staff was like an trainee inside the restaurant business. Not very professional!

The hotel is located in a very dirty and dusty and not so developed town, sorry to say. It doesn't feel safe there. During september, the good restaurants are closed for vacation for about one month, so basically nothing we could eat except at the hotel, which we highly recommend not to eat. The restaurant should be 1 star.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lundaboende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sanlucar la Mayor hotels

Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My very recent experience of the hotel Sol-Ucar,was quite pleasant and I must say that the reception area was administered with the utmost politeness,although dont rely on a pre booked
early morning call as mine never materialised.The main annoyance was the bar staff,who whilst in the middle of serving you with an order would suddenly wander off,either to serve someone else or dissapear through a door while one was left waiting to pay.also there was a severe shortage of large beer glasss.which led to many customers fuming.
When I Mentioned to another guest that I was going to report the complaint by E/mail one of the
bar staff who overheard me started to laugh as up to that point he had proclaimed he knew no English whatsoever obviously this was an untrue statement.
Kindest Regards,N L Wilkinson.

Room Tip: room overlooked pool very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We spent two nights here at the end of May on a 14 day trip. We were driving, so the location being a bit remote (20 K from Sevilla) didn't particularly bother us. It is isolated. The eatery across the street has closed down and other than a bar around the corner, there isn't much else nearby. There is a grocery within a five minute drive that supplied a picnic. Hall carpets are badly worn, it needs a coat of paint, and it primarily serves tourist buses. The room was clean and comfortable. There is free and ample parking. The young lady at the desk was both helpful and very excited about Sevilla. Her love for her hometown was infectious making this otherwise unremarkable hotel an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SH461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed in Gran Hotel Solucar in April 2012. My biggest problem with this hotel was that it was too far from the train station. It cost almost 40 Euros by taxi to reach the hotel from the train station and it cost me another 40 Euros to travel to Seville's main attractions. I should have invested those 80 Euros in a more expensive room close to the city center.

Another serious problem I had with this hotel is the location of the lobby. When you enter the hotel you will not see the lobby. The lobby is one floor below the entrance. You have to either drag all your suitcases down the 30-40 steps of stairs or you can take a TINY elevator to the actual reception. The elevator is so tiny that it holds one suitcase and a person per trip. I went with my parents and we had to make three trips just to get to the reception. There were other hotel guests so it took us 30 minutes to reach the reception.

The hotel is old and run-down. The furniture in the room is very old and dated. The carpet outside my room had a HUGE ripped off patch. But the bathroom was brand new and beautiful. It was a safe area and the room was large and clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STRAY SOUL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

This hotel is situated about 20 km from central Seville. You can drive in about 20 minutes or take the bus (40 minutes) very close to the hotel.

The hotel is very standard, it has a certain business feel to it. Staff is professional, but not too personal, rooms are clean and offer what hotel rooms usually offer. Breakfast costs an extra 8€, and I wouldn't advise readers to take the offer. Go instead to the nearby restaurant just 50 m away, which offers more for the money.

Wifi works fine in the rooms.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joaadr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanlucar la Mayor
1.8 mi away
Abades Benacazon
Abades Benacazon
#1 of 1 in Benacazon
245 reviews
6.5 mi away
Apartamentos ATH Domocenter
6.7 mi away
Hotel Vertice Sevilla Aljarafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel TRH Alcora
Hotel TRH Alcora
#1 of 1 in San Juan De Aznalfarache
774 reviews
1.4 mi away
Leflet Sanlucar Hotel
Leflet Sanlucar Hotel
#3 of 3 in Sanlucar la Mayor
14 reviews
11.7 mi away
Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exe Gran Hotel Solucar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Gran Hotel Solucar

Property: Exe Gran Hotel Solucar
Address: Carretera Sevilla Huelva a-472 s/n, 41800 Sanlucar la Mayor, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Sanlucar la Mayor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sanlucar la Mayor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Exe Gran Hotel Solucar 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Eurostars, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Exe Gran Hotel Solucar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Seville
Exe Gran Hotel Solucar Province Of Seville, Spain - Sanlucar La Mayor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing