We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Motel Marine
Nearby Hotels
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
    Hotels.com
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Bar/Lounge
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Beachfront
    • Fitness centre
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Reviews (25)
    Filter reviews
    25 results
    Traveller rating
    1
    11
    7
    5
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1
    11
    7
    5
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewshambreaddoorcheesebudgetfact
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    12 - 17 of 25 reviews
    Reviewed 10 July 2013

    Even though this is called a motel, doesn't really do justice to it. This is a very nice hotel (IMO) just next to the Tammisaari (or Ekenäs, as it is locally known) beach and piers and thus very centrally located. As this is a quite small but idyllic and romantic coastal town, distances within the town are very small and it's ideal for walking around.

    The hotel properties, as others have written, are indeed in a slight need of renovation as they have aged, but I consider it to be in context with the surroundings, really. I wouldn't even want a 5-star hotel in Ekenäs! Staff is friendly and helpful and while the breakfast is the usual continental fare but you get a great oceanfront view in the summertime - and even if it was raining, the dining lounge isn't too bad either.

    Rooms vary, but generally are good for the price. They also have larger "family suites" which are more like small apartment rooms. We stayed at one of these, and were very pleased. The only thing really missing was air conditioning, as the rooms get really hot if it's a warm summer day.

    All in all, this place is on the money. I have stayed twice and never really been disappointed - and will most definitely return if I was staying overnight.

    • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Lars R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 September 2012

    This was the second time we stayed in the Motel Marine. We chose it again because of the location and price. Best value right in the center of Ekinäs (in Finnish--Tammisaari). Reception and room are modest but very clean. Free parking and fast, free wifi (something the Hilton chain does not offer). Breakfast buffet (included in room price) is small but adequate. They have an restaurant. We had after-dinner drinks and an ice cream sunday on the outside terrace--a delicious treat with memorably creamy vanilla ice cream.

    Room Tip: Request room on ground floor if you can't walk a flight of stairs.
    • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Eclipsegroupie
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 August 2012

    This motel feels very run-down and old and is in desperate need of renovation. There was no mirror in the bath-room, and everything in the room was a bit filthy. The breakfast coffee was not drinkable. The staff was nice and the free wi-fi worked ok.

    • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Hipnonni
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 August 2011

    This is an old American Style Motel, very old inside & out & ready for a renovation. The room hadn't been cleaned properly & the sheets did not even cover the stained mattresses. There were no curtains in the shower room & the bedroom & residents in the adjacent Hotel would have a clear view into the shower room. A previous guest had used Blu-tac to attached a covering to the bedroom window frame. We had to use black plastic garbage bags to cover the bathroom & bedroom windows. The WiFi did not work in the room. The rates are very expensive for the quality of the Motel. The Motel is not star rated, but a two star rating would be appropriate. We would not stay here again.

    • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank TravelPlanner2000
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 September 2008

    A good place to stay in Ekenas/Tammisaari.
    Centrally located. It offers different types of accommodation, so, please ask the people there for your specific request before going there.
    The rooms are clean and located in two floor buildings just like classic motels (for instance as for the French Campanile's).
    In our rooms the shower in the bathroom had no box and this is was an annoyance (yes, not a big one, but I do not understand why in many hotels they do not have box for showers, being a good thing even for them while cleaning the bathrooms).
    The parking is free in the building area.
    The breakfast is good.
    We did not tried the restaurant, so we cannot say anything about it.

    • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check-in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
    2  Thank PirouetteLover
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews