We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average sleeping place”
Review of Motel Marine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Motel Marine
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An average sleeping place”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Tammisaari is a small town on the road from Helsinki to Pernio. The motel is one of the few places where one can stay in the town. Unfortunately I got a room on the 1st floor of the new block and chugging the luggage up was an ordeal. The bed was small and the blinds in the room was not adequate to keep the sunlight out in the night. Could not sleep well and the Wifi signal was not strong enough to work also. Seen better places

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blpsimha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    11
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

After biking from Kirkonummi I arrived at my goal, Motel Marine in Tammisaari. Check-in worked very easy, and the room was exactly what I needed, a bed, shower and television. Maybe not a place for romantic getaway, but it is well worth its price, only 55 €.

The dinner at the Motel was excellent, I ordered a caesar salad with crayfish as a starter. A lot of crayfish and a good portion. I don't think it was any romaine lettuce in it, but the salad that had replaced it was really good. Nice dressing too.

As a main course I hade a shrimp sandwich. It was gigantic with a lot of shrimps, even though I had been biking for 70 km I had a struggle to manage to finish it. After that there was no more room for dessert, so all I had was a cup of coffee. Throughout the meal all service was given in my native language Swedish, which is not so common in Finland. The restaurant had a good amount of happy customers, singing swedish drinking songs which is always nice. The wienerschnitzel they had a the table next to me looked nice, I think I will go for that next time.

Breakfast was good as well, all you need to get back up on the bike. Porridge, eggs, yoghurt, bread, jam, cheese, coffee and ham. No fruit if you want that, but that is not needed for biking. I could even make some sandwiches to bring.

Room Tip: My room was towards the main road. That was a bit noise, I think the kids of Tammisaari like street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Tammisaari is probably not a place were you go for a longer hoiday, but a very charming small town (nowadays a part of the huge Raasepori). Due to weddings and birthdayparties in the town I have stayed overnight in Tammisaari a couple of times. I have tested both the hotels in town, but absolutely prefer Motel Marine.
Marine is more like a hotel. The rooms are basic, but very spacious and clean. Last time I stayed in a 'Small SIngle' room and my expectation was that the room would be of minisize. But NO, it was bigger than many single rooms I've stayed in at large hotels!
Breakfast is modest, but it helps you start the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snorkfroken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Even though this is called a motel, doesn't really do justice to it. This is a very nice hotel (IMO) just next to the Tammisaari (or Ekenäs, as it is locally known) beach and piers and thus very centrally located. As this is a quite small but idyllic and romantic coastal town, distances within the town are very small and it's ideal for walking around.

The hotel properties, as others have written, are indeed in a slight need of renovation as they have aged, but I consider it to be in context with the surroundings, really. I wouldn't even want a 5-star hotel in Ekenäs! Staff is friendly and helpful and while the breakfast is the usual continental fare but you get a great oceanfront view in the summertime - and even if it was raining, the dining lounge isn't too bad either.

Rooms vary, but generally are good for the price. They also have larger "family suites" which are more like small apartment rooms. We stayed at one of these, and were very pleased. The only thing really missing was air conditioning, as the rooms get really hot if it's a warm summer day.

All in all, this place is on the money. I have stayed twice and never really been disappointed - and will most definitely return if I was staying overnight.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lars R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This was the second time we stayed in the Motel Marine. We chose it again because of the location and price. Best value right in the center of Ekinäs (in Finnish--Tammisaari). Reception and room are modest but very clean. Free parking and fast, free wifi (something the Hilton chain does not offer). Breakfast buffet (included in room price) is small but adequate. They have an restaurant. We had after-dinner drinks and an ice cream sunday on the outside terrace--a delicious treat with memorably creamy vanilla ice cream.

Room Tip: Request room on ground floor if you can't walk a flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eclipsegroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This motel feels very run-down and old and is in desperate need of renovation. There was no mirror in the bath-room, and everything in the room was a bit filthy. The breakfast coffee was not drinkable. The staff was nice and the free wi-fi worked ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hipnonni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tammisaari hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This is an old American Style Motel, very old inside & out & ready for a renovation. The room hadn't been cleaned properly & the sheets did not even cover the stained mattresses. There were no curtains in the shower room & the bedroom & residents in the adjacent Hotel would have a clear view into the shower room. A previous guest had used Blu-tac to attached a covering to the bedroom window frame. We had to use black plastic garbage bags to cover the bathroom & bedroom windows. The WiFi did not work in the room. The rates are very expensive for the quality of the Motel. The Motel is not star rated, but a two star rating would be appropriate. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPlanner2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tammisaari
19.3 mi away
Hotel Regatta
Hotel Regatta
#1 of 2 in Hanko
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sea Front
Hotel Sea Front
#3 of 4 in Tammisaari
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Slottsbadden
Slottsbadden
#1 of 2 in Tammisaari
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ormnas Camping and Ekenas Summer Hotel
10.4 mi away
Eden Billnas
Eden Billnas
#2 of 2 in Billnas
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sillen Ekenas Guesthouse
Sillen Ekenas Guesthouse
#1 of 2 in Raseborg
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Marine

Property: Motel Marine
Address: Kammantekijaenkatu 4 6, Tammisaari, Raseborg Municipality 10600, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Raseborg Municipality > Tammisaari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tammisaari
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel Marine 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Motel Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Marine Finland/Tammisaari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing