We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Healthy, fresh and original” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffetteria Torinese

Caffetteria Torinese
Ranked #3 of 36 Restaurants in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, Wine Bar, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Healthy, fresh and original”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

On our way from Slovenia to Milano it was lunch time and the question: Where to go. We trusted the Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed: Peaceful Piazza (Friday lunch in May), wonderful terrace, delicious open white wine and even more delicious light, healthy food: Erbe sott' olio is an unexpected surprise that I never had before (I won't tell you, you need to try it) and light and tasty; the Branzino carpaccio with olive oil, lemon and salt simple and insuperable. Attendance by la cucinera - and probably owner - personally and extremely friendly. And do not forget the homemade ice cream at the end (uncoloured, pistacchio tasting ice cream, my favourite).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaretha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    88
    32
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
502 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Eight-Pointed Star Shaped City and Piazza Grande”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We entered the town passing through the rampart via one of the four entrances, stopped in for a coffee and wine after a stroll through the city and Piazza Grande. We were able to watch the procession of a wedding taking place in front of the church in the hexagonal large central square while enjoying the afternoon breeze. Since the city is off the beaten path for tourists parking is easy and crowds are non-existent.

Palmanova is a town and commune in northeastern Italy, close to the border with Slovenia. It is located 20 km from Udine, 28 km from Gorizia and 55 km from Trieste near the junction of the Autostrada Alpe-Adria and the Autostrada Venezia-Trieste.

Palmanova is a pearl of military architecture from the Habsburg monarchy. It's built in the shape of eight-pointed stars, similar to the city of Karlovac in Croatia. The town is entered through the rampart.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best aperol of the Italy weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

we had an Aperol spritz in the evening and a cappucino the morning after- it was full of Italian atmosphere, nice people, great position on one of the most beautiful places in Italy - on the main sqare of the ancient city of Palmanova.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank groholova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Enjoy Your Meal in the Best Caffetteria of Italy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The best Coffee Bar in Italy according to Italian cult culinary magazin Gambero Rosso is situated at one of the sides of an unbelievable empty and large pentagonale square in the centre of a small town, currently known mostly for the major outlet stores nearby. Finding a parking lot within quarter of a mile is feasible. Beware to find the right place, as several line this strange space.

A lot of people truly come for coffee – and it is indeed excellent. But this the less relevant side of the place. The owner is crazy about top level simple food from the best possible ingredients. We were recommended the place by a similar minded colleague, and we had a relatively brief session going through the cured meat and cheese offerings, I need to explore the rest during my next visit. Interior ambient is modern – of course you can seat outside in the square, if you prefer. Restrooms could be a bit cozier.

I was shown the most remarkable gin collection I have ever seen. Yet as a sworn wine lover, I strongly missed a wine list, so we chose our wines from the bottles that the kind owner Nereo brought to show us at the table. I can not say the selection was formidable, but wines we tried were unquestionnably good – note that the gentleman has a large choice of both Italian sparklers and Champagne. Menu – I understand that a vast majority of dishes is served cold. We tried a selection of cured meat, excellent, with truly unforgetable culatello (a cured muscle of pork hind leg, specialty of Parma) approaching in taste and appearance the best Cinco Jotas jamon iberico. But the key tasting was of various Italian cheeses as base for several astonishing dishes and served in heat processing glass vessels... I was knocked off my feet. Not to mention the extremely wide choice of small lovable desserts seen behind the glass when entering the caffetteria. It is hard to evaluate the kitchen based on cold dishes alone, even when they are perfect, so I shall do this when I complete my experience next time. Service was optimal, except for the fact that we had to pour our wines ourselves a couple of times, boss was serving us personally with a nearly full house of guests, explaining elaborate details of each dish. A true fine food & wine fanatic.

Beware though – I was misled and then came a hundred miles for a late breakfast on a longer journey to stop and further investigate the charm of this marvelous eatery. But before noon they only have desserts and toast…

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZahtevniGost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
Level Contributor
203 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A quality experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Neither really a wine bar or a restaurant but a special place to eat and drink. The wine selection is big enough to allow a serious tasting of the wines of the area. As the range is large so is the price range and inevitably one gets seduced by the better wines. The basic house white, a Tocai makes for a pleasant afternoon whilst the Refrosco is big and bold enough to fill an evening. The foods are a little intimidating as the Slow Food movement is well represented on the menu and thus not necessarily well understood. Investigation is well rewarded and the tastes offered are sophisticated and exceptionally well presented. The proprietor is friendly and affable and also keen to discuss his obvious passion for proper foods. A delightful evening that I look forward to repeating.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBillWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffetteria Torinese also viewed

Palmanova, Province of Udine
Palmanova, Province of Udine
 
Palmanova, Province of Udine
 

Been to Caffetteria Torinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing