We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location without the Swiss charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lakeview Le Rivage
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lutry
Certificate of Excellence
Weybridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful location without the Swiss charm”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed four nights in late August 2013 with my partner, paying approx. £136 per night for a standard room.

On the positive side, the hotel has a great location, overlooking the lake, in the pretty village of Lutry. Great for lakeside walks! And the rooms have been refurbished to a high standard.

On the negative side:
a) the usual Swiss hospitality was completely lacking, without any warmth or charm. We did not feel welcome.
b) the standard rooms are very small in size, without any proper place to put clothes - we had to live out of our suitcases
c) room 222 backed onto a courtyard, with a noisy wind turbine/ pump going on and off throughout the night, and we were subjected to occasional unpleasant smells of stale cooking oil
d) the Housekeeping was not up the usual high Swiss standards
e) the room maintenance is poor; out telephone did not work and took 2 days to fix; one of the bedside lights did not work; the bathroom sink was partially blocked; and internet access from this room was too slow to be useful.
f) the hotel has no car park, so it is very inconvenient for people travelling by car; there is a small unloading area, but otherwise you have to leave your car on the street (blue zone limited to a single hour) or a car park 5 mins away costing 0.80 Swiss Francs an hour
g) we did not have breakfast in the restaurant because we found a local café that provided a good breakfast at half the price; we had two meals in the restaurant: evening dinner for two, when the food was good and beautifully presented, with great service; then later we had lunch with extended family; this was less good - the food was disappointing and the service lacking - we had to pour our own wine

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor facing the lake are the best (much larger than standard rooms, and with ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    69
    26
    9
    5
See reviews for
24
74
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barga, Italy
Level Contributor
393 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stopped overnight in this lake-front hotel; traditional building, yet renovated and with all the modern facilities; our room was very large, the bathroom also extra large, incredible view on the lake, balcony, TV, and all the rest of it; excellent breakfast, and excellent restaurant where we had dinner; I'd recommend it any time; we paid 220 CHF for the room with breakfast, later we found out that if we had booked via internet we could have probably got the room for 180 CHF; even so, it was good value for money!

Room Tip: get a room with balcony and view on the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pietro b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Le Rivage in Lutry. Just 30 minutes from Geneva Airport, Lutry is a lovely small village set on the banks of Lac Lemon (Lake Geneva to you and I!).

Hotel Le Rivage is a perfect boutique style hotel right opposite the lake - traditionally designed from the exterior, the rooms are really well designed with fantastic bathrooms. Ask for a Lake view room and you can wake up to the sound of yacht masts clanking - perfect restful stay. A double room is normally around £170+ - however, go through the 'Tripadvisor' bookings system and the later in the day, the greater the discount - we paid £125 instead!

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake view room - its a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed at Le Rivage 5 years ago and it was terrific. But on a recent stay in July, the hotel had seriously declined. Front desk was disorganized with bits of paper everywhere. I asked for a wake-up call knowing I wouldn't get it. Pillows were huge, hard-foam filled. Asked for a soft pillow and was brusquely told "these are what's available in this hotel". Brown-carpeted hallways dark, with unvacuumed crumbs, and strong nauseating floral scent. Bathroom towels and toiletries not freshened or replaced 2nd night (small bar of soap gone). One expects so much more from a Swiss hotel. Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieTornado30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemasse, France
Level Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

They wer eno more hotels free in Lausanne and we were offered that hotel at Lutry."it is a nice and small old village along the lake shore. Intimacy vilalge I ouwld say with a lot of charms.
A nice little room. View on the lake and on the mountains. But perfectly cosy. Well refurnished and new. Bathroom wtih shower is what we need. The restaurant was a surprise and nice plates presented. The waiter professional but friendly as example went on terrace at the end for a cigarette.... well took the decision himself to bring the dessert and coffee to us. Exactly what we expect from a professional place. If we had to find a problem?.... hummmm well if you are not used to the church bell ringing all night oyu could get tired of it.. .but it gives a sense of rural charm ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Confmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Great location. The hotel is beautiful. I was there with my wife for our second honey moon and it is very romantic. The restaurant is good too. My wife enjoyed specially the breakfast. They have good coffee. The rooms are modern. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piggy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

This location is the best in medieval port city of Lutry, except for parking (nearby square). The food is of consistenly high quality, fireplace in winter, lake-side terrace in summer, views all year around. Fine dining as well as bistro style. High-quality menu changes regularly, fresh and imaginative, fish is very good here too. Lake-side rooms in the hotel have best location in town.

Room Tip: Lake-side rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamZu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutry
2.8 mi away
Hotel Lavaux
Hotel Lavaux
#1 of 3 in Cully
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
2.4 mi away
Auberge Du Raisin
Auberge Du Raisin
#2 of 3 in Cully
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.7 mi away
Auberge de la Gare
Auberge de la Gare
#1 of 1 in Grandvaux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
2.7 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Prealpina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lakeview Le Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lakeview Le Rivage

Property: Hotel Lakeview Le Rivage
Address: Rue du Rivage 1, Lutry 1095, Switzerland (Formerly Hôtel Le Rivage)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lutry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lutry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lakeview Le Rivage 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
32 Beautiful rooms next to Geneva Lake with the "Vieux Port" of Lutry. The "Place to Be" to relax and to share a nice time with friend, family, or for your professional meeting. Only 10 minutes from Ouchy-Lausanne by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lakeview Le Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Restaurant Le Rivage Hotel Lutry
Hotel Le Rivage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing