We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find for food”
Review of Miramar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Miramar Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Llanelli
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Went here on the weekend as it is near the railway station and we had a couple of hours to kill before our train back to Cardiff after visiting the races. We were so surprised at the quality of the food. We were a mixed party and had a variety of food all which was excellent. One had the Sunday roast, which had thick slices of beef, lovely roast and boiled potatoes and a good selection of vegetables, all piping hot. The gravy was tasty, the only gripe he had was there was only one yorkshire pudding (but he's greedy!) Someone had the gammon with chips which was delicious. The rest of us had the baguettes which were huge, served with fries, onion rings and coleslaw. Astonishingly the meals were just £5 each. We would have paid twice as much in a restaurant in Cardiff. Would definitely go there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank msna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

Poor v. Poor this hotel was dirty, dated and in a dire state. The rooms where very unsavoury to say the least all bedroom furniture was damaged and falling to bits, the carpets were thread bare and in need of replacement several years ago. The beds were the most uncomfortable I have possibly stayed in. The shower water pressure was low, door broken and didn't close, toilet handle hanging off and bathroom light inoperable. The room smelled strongly of stale damp and musk. Tv in operable.This goes for many of the rooms having moved over 4 different room none an improvement on the last.I work all over the uk and feel this is the worst I have in countered and had to put up with.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

Went for my birthday meal. Been there three times and excellent every time. Service. Food. Atmosphere. Perfect. A* would highly recommend. Would definitely be more than happy to take my family and friends there when they visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taznbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Stayed here twice now and found it to be good both time's, in total nearly 4 week's and stayed in 3 different rooms. Clean, comfortable and never had noise problem's like other's. I don't care if furniture does'nt match, i'm there to sleep. Staff are excellent, Restaurant or sit in bar, food is superb. Breakfast is great too. Regular's are great laugh as well. Would stay here any time and have no qualm's recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeatlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

this hotel does not deserve the awfull reviews it been given stayed for two nights with friends recently hotel may be dated but it clean comfortable and warm food in restaurant was loveley with so much choice on menu there got to be something to please everyone friendly staff and a really nice breakfast served in morning by a very nice portugese lady sorry forgot your name would most definitley stay again in fact we av already booked for a party of twelve of us

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enidWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Like manyothers I would call this cheap and no frills. It was OK for one night but I dont think I would have liked to have stayed for much longer. The room was reasonably clean and tidy, but the furniture was a little mis matched. The bed was OK, but needed the additional pillows I found in the wardrobe. No lamp on my side of the bed, and no way of turning on the shaver light, just for a little background lighting while the wife was asleep.

The ensuite had paint falling off thewalls, and the bi foldshower doordid not close fully,it would not have taken a lot of time or money to make it look so much better.

There was a lot of noise in the morning, but we were on a main street, thebreakfast was one of those where the bacon and mushrooms were quite nice, but the beans, sausage and toast was definitely "Happy Shopper". We were offered additional portions with our breakfast, and I must admit I did have more bacon. The orange juice was nice and cold, but instant coffee, that you had to make yourself was unexpected, and really not wanted.

The outside is a little grim, and there are a couple of take away food places across the road, which can get a little noisy.

All in all a place to stay for just the one night, if pushed, personally I would look for somewhere else if I had to go that way again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that is not in the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surveyor47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Cheap No Frills Accomodation,Room 4 A Little Poky Room,Quite Dark,In Need Of Modernisation,Bed Uncomfortable,Short Supply Of Hot Water!Staff Friendly Enough,If You Want Reception ,See Them Of an Evening Not There In The Morning!Breakfast Was Good,Plenty Of Tea n Coffee,Hot Toast Jam Etc.Can Be Noisey Of An Evening With The Apple Tree Pub Over The Road Playing Music And Customers Shouting Outside In The Street!We Had Booked For 2 Nights But Stayed Just The One!Offered To Change Our Room,But Would Not Give Any % Refund!Hope This Is Of Help!

Room Tip: Not Room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert8wolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanelli
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Central
0.4 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llanelli
108 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ashburnham Hotel
Ashburnham Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pembrey
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Llanelli
887 reviews
9.0 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Cross Hands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Hotel

Address: 158 Station Road, Llanelli SA15 1YU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Llanelli
Price Range: £48 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Miramar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently under-going a wide range of renovations. We offer a great selection of rooms with en-suites, free parking and free guest wifi! Also accompanied by our Cabana Grill restaurant and bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Miramar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Llanelli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing