We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class accomodation in a first class location”
Review of Ardtorna B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ardtorna B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Barcaldine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First class accomodation in a first class location”
Reviewed 2 April 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a mini-break in February and thouroughly enjoyed it. The B&B is just outside of Oban on a hill overlooking a Loch. Large floor to ceiling windows look out from your room and the breakfast area. Breakfast was excellent, with special treats like homemade bread, muffins and jams. Loads of choice and top notch.
Homemade tablet and shortbread in the rooms was especially lovely.
The room was very clean and well decorated along with that really comfortable bed! The bathroom was also lovely and the extra large towels and bath robes were excellent.
I've stopped at many top hotels and this is definitely one of the best, even though it's a B&B! It's nothing like the traditional stuffy B&B's though and the owners couldn't be more helpful and friendly.
I'd definitley recommend a stay here and think we may start making regular yearly trips!

Room Tip: Ring for the best deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pencapchew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehouseconnel, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Ardtorna. It was lovely to meet you both , and I hope it will not be too long until you manage another visit.

Karen Webster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    25
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
436
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
falkirk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2011

From the moment we arrived we felt very welcome.The whisky was a big bonus.

The location is fantastic

Thanks Karen and Sean

Love Claire and Lewis xxx

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewisburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehouseconnel, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 2 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Ardtorna. We are delighted to hear that you both enjoyed your stay with us last weekend.

Glad the Malt Whisky went down well !

It was a pleasure to meet you both , and we do hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Sean and Karen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2011

I booked this B&B for my 10th wedding anniversary and was really looking forward to it. I'd read all the reviews and just couldn't wait to get there. It did not disappoint. The view from the bedroom was amazing and sitting looking out over the Loch at breakfast was incredibly relaxing.
Jacuzzi bath is not to be overlooked, great way to end the day.

Should maybe have asked Karen while we were there but addition of some thin pillows would be an advantage, whilst I like a nice big pillow my husband prefers a thin one so in the end didn't use a pillow.

As stated in other reviews the breakfasts are amazing. Even the quality of cereals and accompaniments is fantastic. We were a bit sceptical about all sitting at one table but actually it was a great chance to share experiences and things to do in the local area. We followed the advice of another couple and took a trip to Tobermory.

If you go to Tobermory there is a fish and chip van on the pier serving freshly cooked catch of the day. We had a Mackerel and Haddock Supper and they were fantastic.
We ate in Coast and the food and service was excellent,

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilkisef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehouseconnel, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted to hear that you both enjoyed your stay with us while you were celebrating your 10th wedding anniversary.

Since you have pointed out about our plillows being on the large side we have since ordered some thinner ones for each room that we will leave in sealed bags should anyone have a preference. I do apreciate it when people point these things out to me. Many thanks for that !

It was a pleasure to meet you both , and I do hope to be able to welcome you back to Ardtorna in the not too distant future.

Karen Webster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We visited Ardtorna for our five year wedding anniversary, we've never been to this part of Scotland before but the pictures of the hotel on the website looked fab so we booked for two nights and what a great decision that was! The hotel itself is beautiful, the attention to detail in every room is amazing and we loved the little touches like home-made shortbread in the room and home-made tablet. The breakfast was the best I've ever had left us both full until tea time and the choice was superb. Karen and Sean the proprietors were both lovely, really friendly and welcoming and made our stay very relaxed which is just what we wanted. The hotel has a working relationship with the Isle of Eriska hotel and Karen was able to book us in for dinner there the night we arrived, the meal was outstanding, every single course was without fault and the cheese trolley has to be seen to be believed! The following day we took advantage of the spa passes offered by Ardtorna and went back for a day of pampering which left us both thoroughly relaxed! If we could go back again tomorrow we definitely would as we were blown away by the landscape, the accommodation and most importantly the service given to us by Karen and Sean. Thank you both for making our stay so memorable!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joellebremner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehouseconnel, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Ardtorna. I am delighted to hear that you both enjoyed your stay with us , and you were able to take full advantage of all the spa and dinner package we have on offer too.
Dinner at The Isle of Eriska is a wonderful experience , and of great value at the same time. We are already counting down the days to our next visit there !

It was a pleasure to meet you both , and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Karen Webster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Having referred to Trip for many years as our "travel bible", this is our first review, so Ardtorna must be very special! Hubby and I enjoyed a very relaxing couple of nights at the truly wonderful Ardtorna - Karen, Sean and Fiona made us feel very welcome (more like friends) and their hospitality is second to none - nothing is too much trouble for them. The accommodation is very contemporary - gorgeous rooms, with breathtaking views from every window - luxurious bathrooms with jacuzzi baths and Molton Brown toiletries. A lot of thought and effort has gone into making guests feel "special" and we thought the little touches of a welcome tray with tea/coffee and Fiona's home-made shortbread and tablet were just superb. There is a coffee machine located in the hallway, with decanters of Whisky and Baileys should guests wish a nightcap - again a lovely touch. Breakfast is a very relaxed affair, taken in the chic dining room with wonderful views over the loch. The food is very fresh, a good choice, and cooked to perfection by Fiona (try her home-made banana loaf and muffins!) There is a Room Service menu (again good selection) which we chose one evening and would highly recommend the antipasti platter - amazing!

We urge anyone visiting the west coast of Scotland to stay at Ardtorna - you will not be disappointed - sheer luxury! Karen, Sean and Fiona are extremely passionate about the service they offer to guests.

We will definitely return to Ardtorna ... hopefully soon .... but in the meantime, we would ideally like to keep this amazing 5* B & B a secret, but will spread the word to all our friends and family as we would want them to have a truly delightful stay!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnF55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehouseconnel, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 27 March 2011
Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was pleasure to meet you both ,and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Ardtorna soon.

Sean , Karen and Fiona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Karen and Sean and Fiona made our stay very enjoyable and we felt very welcome. Our room was spotlessly clean and all the little touches such as the homemade shortbread and tablet, powerful hairdryer, giant bath towels and fluffy robes, as well as the Molten Brown products which made us smell wonderful, were all very appreciated. The bed was very comfy and to wake up to such a wide selection of cooked breakfasts was fantastic! They are very accommodating to special dietary requirements too. Stunning views and great access to the islands of Mull and Iona from here.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi_1234_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehouseconnel, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
Thank you for you review. I am delighted to hear that you both enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you both ,and we enjoyed chatting to you . I do hope you will be able to visit us again in the not too distant future.
I hope your 11 hour car journey back home went okay...

Karen Webster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

My fiancé and I stayed at Ardtorna last weekend and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. The view from the room was lovely, looking out over the loch and to the hills. It really was stunning.

The room was finished to a very high standard, and really lived up to its 5 star rating. Everything about the room and the rest of the accommodation was flawless: from the spotless decor to the amazing design. The B & B (calling it that does it a disservice) has some very nice touches for guests; from a free dram (or Baileys if you prefer that as a nightcap) to complimentary tablet in our room. The Molten Brown products in the immaculate bathroom (with Jacuzzi bath) were indicative of the high standard of Ardtorna.
The food was excellent. There was a good choice and the breakfasts we had were cooked to perfection.

As soon as we arrived we didn’t want to leave, and we are already planning our return. We somehow managed to drag ourselves from the uber-comfortable bed (matched only by the bed in the much more expensive Wynn Las Vegas!) and go home, but did so with a heavy heart and a promise to return.
The proprietors, Karen and Sean, were most welcoming and very attentive (but without being overwhelming). They clearly take a lot of pride in what they do; and so they should, because it really is an awesome place to visit. They couldn’t have been nicer to us, and we are looking forward to coming back as man and wife!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda_k_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehouseconnel, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Ardtorna. I am delighted to hear that you both enjoyed your 2 night stay with us.
It was a pleasure to meet you both , and I particularily enjoyed chatting to you about all of your wedding plans , as we have our wedding coming up this year too !
I look forward to welcoming you both back later in the year as ' Mr and Mrs'
All the best with your big day , and I look forward to welcoming you back some time in the not too distant future...

Karen Webster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcaldine
2.7 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
3.6 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
3.5 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
15.4 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
13.6 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardtorna B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardtorna B&B

Property: Ardtorna B&B
Address: Mill Farm, Barcaldine PA37 1SE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Barcaldine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barcaldine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ardtorna B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardtorna is a purpose built eco friendly property. It is Scotlands only 5 star gold bed and breakfast with the AA. In 2013 it won the best ' Guest House / B and B for Scotland with the AA, Visit Scotland and The Scottish Hotel Awards, making it the first time in history that all 3 organisations picked the same accommodation ! It picked the title again of " Best Guest House for Scotland ' in 2015 from The Scottish Hotel awards. All the deluxe bedrooms with vaulted ceilings are en-suite with either a spa bath and a high powered shower or a colour changing wet room. Each bedroom has spectacular loch views. Each room has full sized Molton Brown toiletries, TV, I pod docking station, DVD player,fresh flowers, Hand made chocolates, fluffy bath robes, gigantic bath towels, hospitality tray, etc are a few of the items for you to enjoy while staying at our amazing property. Scones straight from the oven are served with clotted cream and home made jam between 4 and 6 pm on the day of arrival. Each bedroom has a fridge with complimentary items such as nuts, sweets etc.During a stay at Ardtorna guests can help themselves to complimentary Malt Whisky and Home Made Whisky Cream Liqueur. Spa and golf passes are complimentary for any 3 night stays ( This must be arranged at the time of booking , and is subject to availability ). Please contact us directly by booking on our own web site or by e mail - this is always the cheapest option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ardtorna B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardtorna Bed And Breakfast
Ardtorna Hotel Barcaldine
Ardtorna B&B Barcaldine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing