We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Ardtorna B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ardtorna B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Barcaldine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Calder, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Quality throughout,from the welcome on arrival through to the decor, finishing touches and fabulous view, made even better by the weather. What can I say, excellent. We would definitely recommend this little haven. Karen and Sean are great hosts and make you feel very welcome. We will definitely be returning and have all ready recommended Ardtorna to friends. Ina & Jim

Room Tip: No tip as all rooms have a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehouseconnel, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. it was a delight to meet you both and to chat to you during your brief stay.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you have told your friends about your ' Ardtorna Experience '

I do hope it will not be too long before you are back up here again, perhaps on your next visit with some friends as you had mentioned in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    25
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
434
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Located approx. 0,3 km off the main road on a little rise the modern building is welcoming with a warm character. Scandinavian in design, with large windows and lots of wood, there are spacious rooms and bath rooms. All the rooms offer stunning views over the loch. The interiors are once again modern and very well equipped. Lot's of little friendly gestures and complimentary hospitality items make the guests feel welcome and appreciated. Each room contains a well compiled info-set with relevant information and recommendatioms. And a particularly welcome feature is the large communal breakfast table, where the guest can interact whilst enjoying the generous and excellent breakfast which also comprises some very well created and prepared options. This is B&B at it's best!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin_ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehouseconnel, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. It was a delight to meet you both and to chat to you during your 3 night stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope to had a good journey back to South Africa, and should you be back over in Scotland in the not too distant future that you manage another trip back to Ardtorna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My partner and I stayed two nights at Ardtorna and loved it.

Breakfast was the best I have had in a B&B for years, choice, quantity and quality.

The bed was mega comfy, the views good, the toiletries were what I would use at home and the little extras were welcome and generous.

All in all, worth the price paid.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeepers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehouseconnel, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us at Ardtorna. I am delighted to hear that you both enjoyed all the luxuries we like to offer our guests while staying with us.

I do hope you will manage another trip up our way in the not too distant future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moray
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

What can I say. Just spent two nights at Ardtorna with my husband my two sisters and their other halves. We knew we were expecting something special but I have to say it was beyond excellent. It was so clean and very very welcoming. Karen and Sean were as always very helpful. The beds are so comfortable. I struggled to leave mine. You are greeted with scones, clotted cream and jam. In the evening there is Baileys and whisky and also a great coffee supply. Breakfast is fantastic and if you need to leave early Sean is there to make sure you leave on time. We were there to celebrate our pearl wedding anniversary and Karen very kindly helped with photos and even offered to supply extra nibbles. Well beyond what she really needed to do. I look forward to returning to Ardtorna. Well worth more than a five rating but you don't do ten.

Room Tip: all these rooms are fantastic and all have great views. all on ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeepot46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehouseconnel, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us to celebrate your pear wedding. It was lovely to meet all your lovely family, and to be able to chat to you during your stay.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and I look forward to welcoming you all back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

First of all we were not staying here as guests but were visiting so that I could have a private archery lesson from Shaun, who owns and runs the B&B with his wife Karen. Karen did give us the tour though so we are able to comment on all of the rooms and facilities. What a place! The rooms are modern and airy and cleaned to within an inch of their lives! The fittings and bedding ooze quality and the bathrooms are just stunning. The extras such as the complimentary drinks and cream tea on arrival are wonderful touches. The archery session was great fun and Shaun is very good company and he must be a good teacher as he had me hitting the target in no time. My wife came to watch but Karen's infectious hospitality meant that the two of them spent the whole time chatting and drinking coffee on the outside decking area which commends views over the simply breathtaking surrounding scenery.

If you want to try something different than get yourself along for an archery session and if you feel like being pampered in luxury surroundings than book a room. Either way you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TillnLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your private archery lesson up at Ardtorna. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the lesson. Sean did say that you shot extremely well.

It was a pleasure to meet you both and I loved my chat with your wife over coffee while you were having your archery lesson. It was such fun !

Glad you liked the property when I showed you round . You are correct the views are amazing from every room. We are most fortunate to live in such a wonderful location. It too is lovely to be able to share it with our guests who stay with us.

I look forward to catching up with you both next year when you come back to our area for your self catering break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Looked forward to this trip for ages and we weren't disappointed. If only Karen and Sean could have made the weather 5*!!. We stayed for 2 nights and had a jacuzzi room. Everything was excellent and the hospitality and cleanliness second to none. All the lovely little touches made it a lovely, relaxing anniversary break for us. Karen recommended the Isle of Eriska hotel for us to eat on the Saturday and it was also exceptional. Worth a visit if you have time. Sean makes the most excellent breakfast and we were spoiled for choice. On our last day we had a longbow archery lesson from Sean. It was the first time either of us had tried it and Sean was so patient and such a good teacher. It was fascinating to hear the history of it too.

It's not a surprise that you have won all those awards, you deserve it. Hopefully we will be back soon and enjoy one of the lovely sunsets you keep posting on Facebook!!

Thanks again for a wonderful stay. Lesley & Steve Wilson.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catfourwinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Lesley and Steve,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on your 2 night stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you both and to be able to chat to you during your stay.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at Ardtorna. The dinner at The Isle of Eriska Hotel is amazing, it is most certainly our favourite place to dine in the area. They fully deserve their recent award ' Scotland's Best Hotel Restaurant '. We are in a very fortunate position here to have priority booking for dinner reservations. Not only is it fabulous, it is tremendous value for money too.

Great too to hear that your traditional archery lesson went down well. Sean enjoyed teaching you and was most impressed with how well you both did !

Glad you enjoy seeing our sunset photographs we post on our facebook page for Ardtorna. We have had some fabulous ones this month.

I do hope to be able to welcome you both back to Ardtorna in the not too distant future. Lets hope too that the weather will be a little warmer for you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

A great thanks to Karen and Sian for an amazing stay. We were here for one night and from our arrival (with gorgeous home made scones and clotted cream - what a welcome) to the equally fantastic breakfast before we left, (amazing choice not forgetting the array of cereals, toast, homemade smoothie, homemade soda bread......) everything and more was thought of. The nespresso outside the room if you fancied a 'posh' coffee, the wonderful bed, complimentary sweets and tablet along with a baileys or whisky, to which you can help yourself to in the hallway. The location, the views and the hospitality were everything you could hope for. This is somewhere to treat yourself to something special and just enjoy every minute. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The upgrade was worth every penny! Phone them direct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your short stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to meet you both , and I do hope it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you both back to Ardtorna.

I was delighted too that you enjoyed your upgrade. It is always more beneficial to book directly with ourselves than through a third party.You may want to sign up to our newsletter to receive any current offers we may be running. This can be done through our own web site on the home page, it is next to the facebook and twitter icons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcaldine
2.7 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
3.6 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
3.5 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
15.4 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
13.6 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardtorna B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardtorna B&B

Property: Ardtorna B&B
Address: Mill Farm, Barcaldine PA37 1SE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Barcaldine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barcaldine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ardtorna B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardtorna is a purpose built eco friendly property. It is Scotlands only 5 star gold bed and breakfast with the AA. In 2013 it won the best ' Guest House / B and B for Scotland with the AA, Visit Scotland and The Scottish Hotel Awards, making it the first time in history that all 3 organisations picked the same accommodation ! It picked the title again of " Best Guest House for Scotland ' in 2015 from The Scottish Hotel awards. All the deluxe bedrooms with vaulted ceilings are en-suite with either a spa bath and a high powered shower or a colour changing wet room. Each bedroom has spectacular loch views. Each room has full sized Molton Brown toiletries, TV, I pod docking station, DVD player,fresh flowers, Hand made chocolates, fluffy bath robes, gigantic bath towels, hospitality tray, etc are a few of the items for you to enjoy while staying at our amazing property. Scones straight from the oven are served with clotted cream and home made jam between 4 and 6 pm on the day of arrival. Each bedroom has a fridge with complimentary items such as nuts, sweets etc.During a stay at Ardtorna guests can help themselves to complimentary Malt Whisky and Home Made Whisky Cream Liqueur. Spa and golf passes are complimentary for any 3 night stays ( This must be arranged at the time of booking , and is subject to availability ). Please contact us directly by booking on our own web site or by e mail - this is always the cheapest option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ardtorna B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardtorna Bed And Breakfast
Ardtorna Hotel Barcaldine
Ardtorna B&B Barcaldine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing