We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very good”
Review of Ardtorna B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardtorna B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Barcaldine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed for one night in mid-August. We arrived well into the evening (in off a ferry), but scones were kept for us (good scones, too) and there was no problem with our breakfast order being late. Spa Bath was great for unwinding at the end of the evening, and the malt whisky (of which there was plenty) didn't hurt either. Small touches like the chocolates showed great attention to detail.

Bed was wonderfully comfortable and good size - we slept very well. Breakfast was very high quality, great choice, and very well presented.

Underpinning this all, a warm welcome, great service, and a lovely setting. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nwfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your one night stay with us at Ardtorna.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our warm scones served upon arrival, and that you were able to enjoy some of the little extras that we offer our guests ranging form our Home Made Mango Chilli and Lime chocolates to the Malt Whisky.

Great too that you liked the style and design of the property, and I do hope that we are able to welcome you back for another visit in the not too distant future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
There are newer reviews for Ardtorna B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Sorry, I have removed one star due to the restricted supply of Whisky during our visit.

It is indeed a beautiful and clean property and very pleasant owners. Slight niggle at remoteness and lack of clear directions but having found it after a long drive was looking forward to an evening admiring the view and a few drams. Scones were served shortly after arrival and although warm and well presented were, I suspect, baked in a batch and frozen as texture was a little inconsistent. Nevertheless a very nice touch and the Nespresso machine, although pods,produced first class coffee. A glass of Malt each and a freshen up and we headed back into Oban for some dinner. On our return we found there was barely enough Whisky in the refilled decanter to have a small one each. Much later the decanter had been refilled with even less and I gave up on the "free Unlimited Malt" and retrieved a bottle from our car to enjoy in our room. I am sure you will respond by saying we could have knocked on your side of the property to request more but, we decided you knew the Whisky was being consumed and instead of filling the decanter we were of the view that you were tightly controlling same. May I suggest that you re-phrase this from "unlimited Malt" to a complimentary dram?
Moving on, the bed was indeed very comfortable and the rooms new and spotless. Sound does still raise small concerns as the clean tiled rooms do not enjoy the sound deadening of a carpeted room. That said, the room is certainly more hygienic with their absence.
Breakfast has to be ordered by 1900 the day before even though their is a maximum of eight covers? Sean, brilliant presentation and very well cooked. You obviously enjoy your daily task.

Well done and good luck to you both.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodiesRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your one night stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you liked the design and style of our property.

Sorry if you feel that you did not enjoy enough of our complimentary Malt Whisky during your stay. I top up the decanter frequently during the evening when required.
Obviously if it is consumed after we go to bed I am unable to refill it during my sleep !

You paid reference to the fact that we ask guests to order their main course for breakfast the previous evening. The reason being it enables us to offer such an extensive menu offering 12 dishes.

I do hope that you will be able to manage another trip back up our way in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

A wonderfully luxurious and exquisite B&B steeped in quality
Sean and Karen are the perfect hosts and have considered every detail in an effort to make your stay as perfect and enjoyable as possible
The rooms themselves are beautifully decorated and little touches like a complimentary homemade whisky-cream nightcap (or distillery whisky if preferred) make this an unforgettable experience
The breakfast choice is unbelievable - 12 gourmet options including the full breakfast platter (with haggis if desired)
The view of the loch is perfect, and with Oban only 10 miles away, the choice of places to eat are vast
Sean and Karen are only too pleased to offer advice (which we followed) and I can tell you that we were not disappointed. Our meal at EE-Usk (a fish restaurant) was fantastic
If and when we return to the west coast of Scotland, Ardtorna will be first on the list
It's not cheap but it's worth every single penny!!!

Room Tip: Every room is great!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with.

I was delighted to read that you both liked the design of our place, and that you liked the hospitality offered too !

We are both most fortunate to enjoy what we do and always look forward to welcoming guests to stay with us.
We like to assist where possible from booking restaurants to day trips and offering travel advice during a stay.

May I say that it was a pleasure to meet you both and to chat to you during your stay, and I do hope that we are able to welcome you both back for another stay in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Do you like modern design and art deco style? Then you must book this exquisite five-star B&B.
Airy and bright rooms, no yucky carpets (halleluja!), everything squeaky-clean, fantastic breakfast (best we've had), not only the ubiquitous tea-making facilities but also a Nespresso machine that you're free to use, and last but not least a lovely view. The owners go out of their way to make your stay at their place a memorable one.

Room Tip: They are all excellent, doesn't matter which one you choose.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schnusizh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us at Ardtorna.

May I say that i was delighted to read your very kind comments about the design and style of our property, and I was most pleased too that you were pleased with the service that we gave you too.
Great too that you were able to enjoy many of the little extras that we like our guests to use during a stay with us.

It was such a pleasure to meet you both, and to chat to you during your time at Ardtorna.
I do hope, should you manage another trip back to the UK that you will be able to stay at Ardtorna again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

You walk into your room and notice the fresh cut roses, chocolates, spa tub, lots of light coming in through the window and sky light. Then you have a conversation with the owners, Sean and Karen and think, these are great people. They really give 100% to make your stay enjoyable. It is more along the lines of friends than business owners. We fell in love with Scotland staying at Ardtorna and fell in love with the people staying in Sean and Karens home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susancmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us at Ardtorna.

I was delighted to read that you liked the design and style of our property, and that you were able to enjoy and appreciate many of the little extras that we like our guests to enjoy during a stay.

We are both in a very fortunate position to be able to look forward to welcoming people into our home every day.
We enjoy the interaction with guests and it such a pleasure to be able to share our home with all.

I do hope that should you be visiting Scotland again that you will manage another stay with us ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This was a wonderful sunny afternoon that helped to make our holiday in Argyll special. We were a little apprehensive about taking four children and three adult novices for archery lessons, but if you too are hesitating whether to book or not, don't hesitate. Ardtona is a magnificent location, and the summer views were matched by the warmth of our welcome. John (hope I have your name right) has a perfect manner matching enthusiasm with knowledge and authority. Our party had great fun, with the young and old alike stimulated and educated as well as entertained. We felt inspired to do more archery as well as to visit Ardtona again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank withnail1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your archery lesson up at Ardtorna.

It was a delight to teach you all, and great to see that you all shot well too !

I hope that you enjoy the rest of your holiday in Scotland.

Perhaps we will be able to welcome you all back again for another longbow session should you be in the area again ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We can only repeat what previous reviewers have said about Ardtona. An amazing place!! So to make this review worthwhile for others reading it and for the owners who were so friendly and obviously value and act on feedback here are some suggestions-
For potential guests-
1. Get there between 4-6. We went on the ferry to Tobermory and didn't get back until 6.15 and arrived at 7 so missed out on the Scones!!! Judging by the quality of the breakfast, the Liquor and the chocolates in the room we were kicking ourselves that we missed out on the scones!!!
2. Careful with satnav postcode. We arrived at a local farm and were welcomed by a scowling farmer who was not impressed by our encroachment into his property.Look out for the signs don't just rely on the satnav.
3. Careful with the huge towels. It does sound a bit churlish and we were offered smaller ones but the towels are amazing but too big. I realised too late after I had opened it up after my shower!!

For Sean and Karen

1. I know you said that there were signs but I could not see one coming from Oban. There was definitely one coming from Fort William so maybe a sign on the left pointing up the hill would alleviate any visits to the nice farmer we met.

2. On your website it states that you can buy the Molton Brown toiletries and the Toppas mattress but that wasn't possible. After sleeping on that bed and smelling so sweet I was disappointed but will just have to go to John Lewis I guess.

Anyway we thought this place was fantastic. Sean was extremely attentive at breakfast and Karen could not do enough even though we arrived late!!! The best hosts we have ever encountered in our travels!!

If you ever wanted to run your own BnB then this would be the one to aspire to!!

Tremayne and Ena

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tremayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Tremayne and Ena,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your 1 night stay with us at Ardtorna.

May I say that I was delighted to read that you liked the design and style of the property and that you were able to enjoy many of the little extras that we like our guest to enjoy during their time at Ardtorna.

Such a shame that you missed out on our warm scones that we serve each day from 4 - 6pm on the day of arrival.

You mentioned about Sat Navigation directions. We all have the same postcode within a mile of Ardtorna.
We do indeed have a fairly large ' Ardtorna ' sign on the main road as you approach from the Oban direction.
Sorry that you missed it ...

You paid reference to our jumbo bath sheets ...
They are indeed rather large. That is why we always offer an alternative for those who do not like an extra large towel.

We do indeed state in our room folders that you can purchase our mattress toppers. The company that we buy them from are unable to sell us any more for the next few weeks as they are completely sold out.
They are awaiting another delivery soon. Please feel free to pop us an e mail if you are interested in purchasing one. We can arrange this for you.

You also mentioned about purchasing the Molton Brown toiletries through ourselves. We do indeed state this in our folders.
Molton Brown now have a fabulous web site , and offer free postage and packing - so we now suggest to our guests to order directly from the company .
We shall be removing this information from the folders shortly when they are updated with the new additions we are adding to Ardtorna.

Once again thank you for your review, and I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to stay again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcaldine
2.7 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
3.5 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
523 reviews
4.3 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
137 reviews
11.9 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
890 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardtorna B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardtorna B&B

Address: Mill Farm, Barcaldine PA37 1SE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Barcaldine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barcaldine
Price Range: £165 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ardtorna B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardtorna is a purpose built eco friendly property. It is Scotlands only 5 star gold bed and breakfast with the AA. In 2013 it won the best ' Guest House / B and B for Scotland with the AA, Visit Scotland and The Scottish Hotel Awards, making it the first time in history that all 3 organisations picked the same accommodation ! It picked the title again of " Best Guest House for Scotland ' in 2015 from The Scottish Hotel awards. All the deluxe bedrooms with vaulted ceilings are en-suite with either a spa bath and a high powered shower or a colour changing wet room. Each bedroom has spectacular loch views. Each room has full sized Molton Brown toiletries, TV, I pod docking station, DVD player,fresh flowers, Hand made chocolates, fluffy bath robes, gigantic bath towels, hospitality tray, etc are a few of the items for you to enjoy while staying at our amazing property. Scones straight from the oven are served with clotted cream and home made jam between 4 and 6 pm on the day of arrival. Each bedroom has a fridge with complimentary items such as nuts, sweets etc.During a stay at Ardtorna guests can help themselves to complimentary Malt Whisky and Home Made Whisky Cream Liqueur. Spa and golf passes are complimentary for any 3 night stays ( This must be arranged at the time of booking , and is subject to availability ). Please contact us directly by booking on our own web site or by e mail - this is always the cheapest option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ardtorna B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardtorna Hotel Barcaldine
Ardtorna Bed And Breakfast
Ardtorna B&B Barcaldine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing