We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must be the best B&B in Scotland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ardtorna B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ardtorna B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Barcaldine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Must be the best B&B in Scotland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We only stayed one night, and were delighted by the wonderful warm welcome, the beautiful surroundings, the spotlessly clean and very comfortable room, and the fabulous breakfast. Well done +++. We will be recommending you to everyone, and hope to return ourselves.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14alexpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you very much for posting a review on your 1 night stay with us at Ardtorna.

I was most pleased that you enjoyed your time with us . Many thanks for passing our details on to your friends etc.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    25
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
429
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My fiance and i spent the night in the stunning, purpose built Ardtorna B & B. Welcomed by the most lovely of couples Sean & Karen. As soon as we stepped inside we were blown away by how pristine and spacious dining area and the long, well-lit hallway. Every little detail in here made it feel more and more homely for us. The vast choice of food and drinks for breakfast was astonishing. When shown to our room it got even more blown away. Everything was immaculate. The bed just ate you up when you lay in it. The bathroom was stunning with a rather powerful jacuzzi spa bath. And the view from our room was exceptional. 5 stars doesn't really do Ardtorna justice. It is simply beautiful. We will for sure be returning for a longer stay next. Thank you Sean & Karen for making us feel so welcome and at home x

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning but you must get one with a spa bath :) it is like heaven
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil_allan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your brief stay with us at Ardtorna.

Many thanks for your kind comments about the interior design of the property. I was pleased to read that you were able to enjoy the wonderful view from your bedroom.

May we say that it was a delight to meet you both, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

My partner and I spent 2 nights at the Ardtorna B&B, Friday night and Saturday night. We absolutely LOVED staying here and will be recommending to our family and friends. Gorgeous building with lots of little luxuries in the room. Breakfast was delicious both days and the owners Karen and Sean were very helpful and honest in recommending local restaurants and things to do.

Thank you! =]

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and unique with an amazing comfy bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreigandSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your 2 night stay with us.

I was most pleased to read that you enjoyed many of our little extras that we offer our guests, and great too that our gourmet breakfast went down well on each morning.

It was rather nice to see the photographs you took while staying with us, thank you for sharing these with Trip Advisor.

We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Amazing, purpose-build 5* chill-out heaven! The room, the spa bath, the lovely little extras and the breakfast were all fantastic - as was the hospitality!
One night was not enough!! We will definately be back :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieK9579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your one night stay with us at Ardtorna.

I was delighted to read that you were able to enjoy many of the little extras that we offer our guests during a stay. I was also pleased that our gourmet breakfast went down well too.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you both back for another stay in the not too distant future, possibly for two nights on the next visit !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have just returned from our wee break in Oban...a fantastic place in itself but it says so much about a B&B when you actually LOOK FORWARD to coming in at the end of the day!

Sean and Karen (the owners) are the loveliest people and made Erin and myself feel relaxed, special and welcomed. I have always found B&Bs are a hit or a miss as you can sometimes feel intrusive but this was never going to be the case from the first moment we were greeted with warm scones, cream and homemade jam! If we could rent a room to stay there permanently we would!!!

Location was first class, facilities were first class, hosts were first class, attention to detail was first class, breakfast, I don't think I need to go on! Amazing! A choice of cereals, fruit, juices, and a choice of a hot breakfast which was excellently cooked by Sean (he did say Karen cooked a better one but we'll have to judge that next time!) ;-)

So sad to be back home but we will be back next year without a shadow of a doubt. Thanks again guys for making us feel so welcome! Truly. John and Erin x

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jp1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your 2 night stay with us in November.

Many thanks for your kind words with regards to the hospitality received. We are both very fortunate to love what we do. We look forward to welcoming guests to stay every day, and sharing our home with everyone.

It was such a delight to meet you both , and super to chat to you during your time at Ardtorna.

We both look forward to welcoming you back to stay sometime in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

On the occasion of my husbands birthday we spent 2 nights in this fabulous place. The owners Sean and Karen welcome you with good champagne and beautiful scones a real treat. The breakfasts have to be seen to be believed a wonderful choice all served in Villeroy and Boch tableware. This establishment is very like the 5star B&B found in Cape Cod called the Captains House at a fraction of the price.The fixtures and fittings are of the highest standard not counting the fluffiest robes ever plus towels that are the size of a king size sheets.We cannot recommend this place high enough an absolute delight.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms have a wonderful view of the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnestaitbarrhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us while celebrating your birthday.

I was delighted to read that you liked many aspects of our place from the rather large towels to the gourmet breakfast.

We both look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My Boyfriend and I stayed at Ardtorna on the 25-26th October. We arrived a little later than expected due to traffic, but that did not deter Sean from Welcoming us in and showing us around. You can tell that Sean and Karen take pride in their establishment as soon as you drive up to park. Everything is literally perfect from the bedrooms, the amenities to the homemade whiskey liqueur and scones. I also noted the details during breakfast and in our room. Only the best products are used and this shows whe staying here.

Breakfast was lovely, the choice is great and Sean cooks and presents the food to a very high standard. Ardtorna really is a 5* service.

Both Sean and Karen are so friendly and welcoming, I have recommended the B&B to my family and friends and would most certainly come back.

Ps if you like seafood, then visit the sea food temple...it is delicios

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us in October.

I was delighted to read that you liked the design and style of the property.
Great that you liked the home made Whisky Cream Liqueur , and that the warm scones served on the day of arrival went down well too !

Many thanks for recommending Ardtorna to your friends.

We both look forward to welcoming you back for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcaldine
2.7 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
3.6 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
3.5 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
15.4 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
13.6 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardtorna B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardtorna B&B

Property: Ardtorna B&B
Address: Mill Farm, Barcaldine PA37 1SE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Barcaldine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barcaldine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ardtorna B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardtorna is a purpose built eco friendly property. It is Scotlands only 5 star gold bed and breakfast with the AA. In 2013 it won the best ' Guest House / B and B for Scotland with the AA, Visit Scotland and The Scottish Hotel Awards, making it the first time in history that all 3 organisations picked the same accommodation ! It picked the title again of " Best Guest House for Scotland ' in 2015 from The Scottish Hotel awards. All the deluxe bedrooms with vaulted ceilings are en-suite with either a spa bath and a high powered shower or a colour changing wet room. Each bedroom has spectacular loch views. Each room has full sized Molton Brown toiletries, TV, I pod docking station, DVD player,fresh flowers, Hand made chocolates, fluffy bath robes, gigantic bath towels, hospitality tray, etc are a few of the items for you to enjoy while staying at our amazing property. Scones straight from the oven are served with clotted cream and home made jam between 4 and 6 pm on the day of arrival. Each bedroom has a fridge with complimentary items such as nuts, sweets etc.During a stay at Ardtorna guests can help themselves to complimentary Malt Whisky and Home Made Whisky Cream Liqueur. Spa and golf passes are complimentary for any 3 night stays ( This must be arranged at the time of booking , and is subject to availability ). Please contact us directly by booking on our own web site or by e mail - this is always the cheapest option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ardtorna B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardtorna Hotel Barcaldine
Ardtorna Bed And Breakfast
Ardtorna B&B Barcaldine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing