We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well-deserved success” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ardtorna B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardtorna B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Barcaldine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Well-deserved success”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Karen & Sean have worked hard to create beautiful accommodation at Ardtorna. Not only are the rooms stylish and comfortable, but the atmosphere is very welcoming and relaxing. They have gone the extra mile to ensure that guests leave with the best possible memories of their stay. Warm scones on arrival, a room fridge with nibbles and a whisky nightcap. Fresh flowers in your room, beautiful bathrooms with high quality toiletries and everywhere spotlessly clean.
Breakfast is served in the dining area with views over the loch. The breakfast menu was extensive, cooked to perfection and beautifully presented.
Karen & Sean deserve the success they have had, and continue to maintain the high standards they have set themselves. Sometimes a website can give a misleading impression of a place, but Ardtorna was every bit as impressive as we were hoping.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank izziemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us at Ardtorna.

Many thanks for your kind comments.

I was delighted to read that you were able to enjoy many of the little extras that we like our guests to enjoy during a stay, and that you liked the design and style of the property.

We both look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    25
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
426
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband Martin & I are just home from an overnight stay at Ardtorna and it was just amazing, such a beautiful haven to chill out in which is just what we were looking for. The rooms are sheer luxury and you could sit at the picture postcard windows all day enjoying the fantastic views over the Loch. Sean has the perfect personality for running a place like this, he was an excellent host & we were spoiled for choice on the breakfast menu. Unfortunately we didn't get to meet Karen but you can tell from the attention to detail that they are a brilliant team, well done you two. Would highly recommend this little taste of Heaven.

Room Tip: All rooms are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your one night stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed many aspects of our place, and that Sean looked after you well.

Sorry I never managed to meet you. I was in Glasgow for a business meeting. I look forward to your return visit and meeting you both .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Ardtorna has been awarded 5* accommodation as well as many awards, and deserves every one of them. This is genuinely one of the best overnight stays we have ever had, including many top rated hotels throughout Scotland. The rooms are immaculate with attention to the smallest of detail with quality bedding, furniture and toiletries. Sean and Karen are so enthusiastic to make your stay memorable and certainly succeed. The view from each room is spectacular and offers privacy with no overlooking properties. The additional touches include complimentary whisky, liquer and nibbles, including handmade chocolates. The breakfast was cooked to perfection with excellent choice and the cooking only started when you actually appeared at the table, making it as fresh as possible. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kengolf12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Ardtorna.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you were able to enjoy many of the little extras that we like our guests to enjoy during a stay from the complimentary drinks during the stay to the freshly cooked gourmet breakfast in the morning.

We do hope that you will manage another visit to Ardtorna in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Ardtorna in April 2014. It was extremely beautiful and comfortable. Karen and Sean are wonderful hosts, and have thought of every detail. Breakfast was delicious. I definitely recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aleisha2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your first visit to Ardtorna.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us.

We both look forward to welcoming you back for another visit in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

This was our first time at the Ardtorna it was a truely wonderful stay attentoin to detail spot on my husband and myself would definatly stay here again well done Karen & Sean to your highland haven Xxx

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank weebee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for your review on your stay with us in March. i was most pleased to read that you liked your time with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back for another stay sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

This was our second visit to Ardtorna and we were not disappointed. Karen and Sean have managed to maintain their very high standards in terms of the quality of the accommodation and the wide variety of yummy breakfast choices on offer. They continue to be excellent, welcoming hosts providing superb advice and information. Guests are in their own ground floor wing and it feels like a small high quality hotel rather than being in someone's B&B house. Good luck with the Scottish Awards. You certainly deserve to be up there again with the winners.
Ken & Jane Dunblane

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Putharjhora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on your second visit to Ardtorna.

Thank you for your kind word. We were both delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you felt that we are continuing to maintain our high levels of customer service.
We are both very fortunate to be able to enjoy what we do, and we always look forward to welcoming guests to stay with us at Ardtorna.

We will be attending The Scottish Hotel Awards in Edinburgh on April 27th , so we shall keep you posted via our social networking sites if we are lucky enough to win an award this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at Ardtorna B&B just over a week ago and it was a very much needed two night break away from it all. We had chosen the B&B based on the excellent reviews and the location just north of Oban.
We were lucky enough to arrive on a sunny afternoon and were warmly greeted by Karen on our arrival. Our room was stunning and as my other half is a fan of design he was in heaven checking out the décor and colourful touches and quality furnishings. The view from our bedroom was simply stunning. Made even better by complimentary afternoon tea served by Karen to our room.
We both slept very well on the extremely comfortable beds and awoke refreshed to a delicious home cooked breakfast made by Sean. We enjoyed a visit to the Sea Life Centre nearby which was made even better by a voucher that Sean shared with us for a reduction to the admission price. Sean and Karen were also happy to discuss the varied options for restaurants in the area that we had at our disposal for lunch and dinner.
It was those little touches that made Ardtorna worthy of its 5 star B&B label, such as the complimentary home made irish cream and whisky served in the evening, the nespresso machine and the delicious handmade chocolates on our arrival. Also for me the array of herbal and quality teas at breakfast, were just fabulous.
Thank you Sean and Karen for you great hospitality and we hope to come back and visit you soon. Thanks so much for making us so welcome. Gillian and Neil, Glasgow.

Room Tip: We had a colour changing wet room which was lovely, but if we hopefully go back it would be lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gill61uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your 2 night stay with us at Ardtorna.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed many of the design aspects of our place from the colour changing wet room to the ceiling to floor windows overlooking the loch.

It was super that you were able to enjoy some of the little extras that we offer our guests during a stay, from the warm scones etc served upon arrival to the unlimited complimentary home made whisky cream liqueur.

May I say that it was a delight to chat to you both, and we both look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcaldine
3.5 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
2.7 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
3.6 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
13.4 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
13.6 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardtorna B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardtorna B&B

Property: Ardtorna B&B
Address: Mill Farm, Barcaldine PA37 1SE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Barcaldine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barcaldine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ardtorna B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardtorna is a purpose built eco friendly property. It is Scotlands only 5 star gold bed and breakfast with the AA. In 2013 it won the best ' Guest House / B and B for Scotland with the AA, Visit Scotland and The Scottish Hotel Awards, making it the first time in history that all 3 organisations picked the same accommodation ! It picked the title again of " Best Guest House for Scotland ' in 2015 from The Scottish Hotel awards. All the deluxe bedrooms with vaulted ceilings are en-suite with either a spa bath and a high powered shower or a colour changing wet room. Each bedroom has spectacular loch views. Each room has full sized Molton Brown toiletries, TV, I pod docking station, DVD player,fresh flowers, Hand made chocolates, fluffy bath robes, gigantic bath towels, hospitality tray, etc are a few of the items for you to enjoy while staying at our amazing property. Scones straight from the oven are served with clotted cream and home made jam between 4 and 6 pm on the day of arrival. Each bedroom has a fridge with complimentary items such as nuts, sweets etc.During a stay at Ardtorna guests can help themselves to complimentary Malt Whisky and Home Made Whisky Cream Liqueur. Spa and golf passes are complimentary for any 3 night stays ( This must be arranged at the time of booking , and is subject to availability ). Please contact us directly by booking on our own web site or by e mail - this is always the cheapest option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ardtorna B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardtorna Hotel Barcaldine
Ardtorna Bed And Breakfast
Ardtorna B&B Barcaldine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing