We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best bed and breakfast facility in Scotland.”
Review of Ardtorna B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardtorna B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Barcaldine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Second visit to Ardtorna this year. Karen and Sean must have the best Bed and Breakfast establishment in Scotland.
First class in every way.
If you have never been you don't know what you are missing.
Have stayed in many premises over the years and Ardtorna is better than all 5 star "hotels" we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

John and Maureen,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on your second visit staying with us this year , and thank you for your kind words. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us.

It was so lovely to be able to welcome you both back for another stay, and to chat to you during your brief time with us.

We do look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Best B&B we have ever stayed in !
Karen and Sean are amazing hosts in sharing their beautiful home
So many extra little touches. Complimentary snacks, chocolates, whiskey and homemade whiskey liqueur ! Flowers in your beautiful tastefully furnished bedrooms and a delicious breakfast cooked by Sean. We will be back

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Sharon,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on your 2 night stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you were able to enjoy many of the little extras that we offer our guests during a stay at Ardtorna.
Great that you liked the design and style of our bedrooms.

It was a pleasure to meet you both, and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We spent two nights at this wonderful establishment, It truly is a five star experience from the moment you walk through the doors.
We were greeted with hot scones and unlimited coffee, they were still hot and the clotted cream was to die for.
After letting us settle in the Owners (Karen& Sean) brought us a tray with belinis and Olives just right to tide us over til Dinner.
The fridge is well stocked with wine, snacks and sweets it really is a great wee touch.
The bedroom was huge with a beautiful sea view, jacuzzi and extra large bed.
What can I say about the breakfast apart from top quality so many choices.
If you are looking for a quiet place to take in the views then this is a must!

Room Tip: All rooms are sea views we were in tioram and it was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie19860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your 2 night stay with us at Ardtorna.

I was delighted to read that you found us both to be friendly !
We are both very fortunate to do a job that we both love, and each day we always look forward to welcoming guests to stay with us at Ardtorna.

I am pleased that you were able to enjoy many of the little extras that we offer our guests during a stay from the warm scones served on the day of arrival to the extensive gourmet breakfast.

Our Blini / Smoked Salmon Pate platter with Chardonnay has proved to be rather popular this season. It has been so lovely to see so many guests enjoying it outside on the lawn in the glorious sunshine that we have been experiencing of late.
Delighted that it went down well with you both too.

We do look forward to welcoming you both back at some other future date.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Excellent accommodation, excellent hosts definitely worth a stay, shame only had a night. Thank you Sean and Karen. You have an excellent home and we thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast choice and other complimentary delights

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments on your 1 night stay with us at Ardtorna.

I was delighted to read that you liked the design and style of our place and that the gourmet breakfast went down well too.

We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was a cut above any other B&B, there was just nothing missed, no detail left out.
Definitely not the only time we will be here, you really should get along.

Not to forget the breakfast in the morning, we had so much choice and was a great start to our day

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davyHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your Ardtorna experience, and we both look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

In June 2014 we booked a long bow archery lesson at Ardtorna b &b. Fantastic location. So helpful and had great fun firing arrows. Highly recommend, even for beginners (like us) we even got a few ones to hit the bullseye. He knows the history as well as the practise of longbow archery

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Yvonnne0963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on your archery lesson at Ardtorna.

Sean said that you were both a delight to teach, and that he was most impressed with your shooting skills.

We do hope that you both enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Scotland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Had an overnight stay and have to agree with all the excellent reviews.

Beautiful rooms with all amenities and wonderful views. Top notch breakfast made with quality ingredients.

On offer are complementary whisky and liqueur. My husband had a wee dram from the half full bottle of malt and the next morning the bottle was empty. It is such a pity that some people take advantage of this generosity.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your 1 night stay at Ardtorna.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the gourmet breakfast in the morning.

We do look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcaldine
4.3 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
494 reviews
2.7 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
3.5 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
179 reviews
15.4 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
363 reviews
15.0 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardtorna B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardtorna B&B

Address: Mill Farm, Barcaldine PA37 1SE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Barcaldine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barcaldine
Price Range: £182 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ardtorna B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardtorna is a purpose built eco friendly property. It is Scotlands only 5 star gold bed and breakfast with the AA. In 2013 it won the best ' Guest House / B and B for Scotland with the AA, Visit Scotland and The Scottish Hotel Awards, making it the first time in history that all 3 organisations picked the same accommodation ! It picked the title again of " Best Guest House for Scotland ' in 2015 from The Scottish Hotel awards. All the deluxe bedrooms with vaulted ceilings are en-suite with either a spa bath and a high powered shower or a colour changing wet room. Each bedroom has spectacular loch views. Each room has full sized Molton Brown toiletries, TV, I pod docking station, DVD player,fresh flowers, Hand made chocolates, fluffy bath robes, gigantic bath towels, hospitality tray, etc are a few of the items for you to enjoy while staying at our amazing property. Scones straight from the oven are served with clotted cream and home made jam between 4 and 6 pm on the day of arrival. Each bedroom has a fridge with complimentary items such as nuts, sweets etc.During a stay at Ardtorna guests can help themselves to complimentary Malt Whisky and Home Made Whisky Cream Liqueur. Spa and golf passes are complimentary for any 3 night stays ( This must be arranged at the time of booking , and is subject to availability ). Please contact us directly by booking on our own web site or by e mail - this is always the cheapest option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ardtorna B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardtorna Hotel Barcaldine
Ardtorna Bed And Breakfast
Ardtorna B&B Barcaldine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing