We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Super!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ardtorna B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardtorna B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Barcaldine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

What a great location , view and lovely hosts. This place was made for unwinding and such attention to detail made for a delightful stay. This place is well worthy of its 5 star status but will make other B and Bs pale in comparison!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewartshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us at Ardtorna.

I was delighted to read that you found it to be a relaxing place, and that you liked many of the little extras that we like our guests to enjoy during a stay.

I look forward to welcoming you both back for another stay sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    25
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
425
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Forfar
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our 3rd trip to Ardtorna and it just gets better and better. Karen and Sean are wonderful hosts and it was such a lovely evening to sit outside drinking wine and eating our nibbles. So relaxing. We have now stayed in 3 of the 4 rooms so will be back to try the last!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catfourwinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your 3rd visit to Ardtorna.

It was so lovely to welcome you both back again , it is always delightful when people chose to come back to stay with us .

It was such fabulous weather during your stay, you were rather fortunate.
It was super that you were able to enjoy your canapes and Chardonnay on the decking watching the sun set in front of you, and not a midge in sight either.
This is helped hugely by our ' midge machine ' , and the slight breeze we often get by being in an elevated position overlooking the loch.

We both look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Ardtona is more like a Boutique Hotel with 4 luxurious rooms than a Bed and Breakfast.
I agree entirely with the many previous reviews and am not going to repeat everything again but I will add one or two comments that I hope are useful.
Deciding where to eat dinner and getting reservations can be a problem when you are traveling, but not so when you stay at Ardtona. Karen will happily discuss the local restaurants with you, and she was kind enough to make reservations for us on both nights. She is extremely well connected and we were warmly welcomed on both occasions, enjoying the food and ambience in two very different places. Two excellent evenings, thanks to Karen
Sean will tell you all about the local area at breakfast which is superb, and served in the delightful dining room. He sent us off on a great trip through the countryside to Armaddy Castle where there is a truly lovely garden to walk around, and the last traditional archery practice field remaining in Scotland. No other tourists, just black faced sheep, (not in the garden of course). We really enjoyed this excursion and I highly recommend it.
Sean is not only a very good host and breakfast chef, but also a former Longbow World Champion of the Wand (2006), and full off fascinating information on the history of archery if you are interested.
In 2013 Ardtona won the AA's Best Guest Accommodation in Scotland Award, the Scottish Thistle Award for Best Guesthouse or B&B, and the Scottish Hotel Award for Best Guesthouse of the Year, making it the first time in history that all 3 organizations picked the same accommodation!
There are many very good reasons for this and my advice is that you go and see them for yourselves. It's easy to understand when you're there.
It's a pleasant scenic two hour trip from Glasgow airport and a perfect place to start or finish a trip to the Scottish Highlands.
Ardtona is an outstanding B&B run by a charming couple and I very much look forward to staying at there again in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was "Armaddy" which has a Spa shower/bathtub but all the rooms and bathrooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falsecreekwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your 2 night stay with us at Ardtorna.

I was delighted to read that you liked the design and style of our place, and that you were able to enjoy many of the little extras that we like our guests to sample during a stay with us from the romantic packages to the unlimited Home Made Whisky cream Liqueur !

Many thanks for your kind comments with regards to our awards received in 2013. It was a truly fabulous year for us, and winning these accolades was a truly amazing experience too.

I am more than happy to help our guests with dinner reservations. We are most fortunate to have 2 fabulous restaurants that are both under 5 minutes from Ardtorna - The Isle of Eriska and The Hawthorn . We have priority booking at these places, so we are always happy to arrange a table for our guests.

Great too that the gourmet breakfast went down well each morning, helped by the dinning room i setting which has fabulous loch views through the ceiling to floor glass windows.

It was such a delight to meet you both and to chat to you during your stay.
We do hope that you will be able to make a trip back to Ardtorna should you be back in Scotland for another holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

After reading the many positive reviews of Ardtorna, we were looking forward to spending our 35th wedding anniversary here. We were not disappointed. From the moment we set foot in the house, Karen and Sean made us feel very at home. The extra touches, including home made whisky cream liqueur, complimentary malt whisky, Molton Brown toiletries, olives, blinis, chocolates, not to speak of the wonderful breakfast, etc. etc. etc., all made for the WOW factor. We would love to stay here again-truly treated like 5* guests!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank auntieanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with at Ardtorna to celebrate your 35th wedding anniversary.
I was delighted to read that the stay exceeded your expectations.

We are both very fortunate to love what we do, and each day we always look forward to sharing Ardtorna with guests.

It was such a pleasure to meet you both, and to chat to you during your brief stay.

We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here in July 2014 and had an absolutely wonderful room with a lake view. Karen and Sean were so incredibly hospitable during our stay, and helped us with our itinerary for the next day, and the dining recommendation at Hawthorn Restaurant was top-notch.
Have enjoyed the wonderful amenities, bright rooms and top class service. The special select malt whiskey provided by Sean was superb, and the Whiskey after-dinner liquor was very tasty (but probably not low calorie).
A great place to stay after a beautiful drive through the hills and lochs from Pitlochry.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David-Tripolot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your brief stay with us at Ardtorna.

It was such a delight to meet you all, and to share our home with you. We were only too happy to help with your itinerary with suggestions etc.

I was pleased to read that you liked the design and style of our place, and that you enjoyed many of the little extras that we offer guests during a stay such as our unlimited single Malt Whisky and Home Made Whisky Cream Liqueur .

We do hope that you enjoy the rest of your time together in Scotland and we hope to be able to welcome you back for another stay in the not too distant future.

We may even manage to meet up with you on our canadian trip !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This place is a real find. and easy to find too.
Very smart, very tasteful and spotless. View from room is magnificent - if its not raining, and was glorious weather during my stay.
Owner is really hospitable and great cook for breakfast.
Calling it a B & B is a misnomer, its a special B & B.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are first rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dfraser314x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us at Ardtorna.

I was delighted that you were able to enjoy many aspects of our place including the bonus of glorious weather.
Our ceiling to floor windows in each bedroom work well to take in the view and the watch the wonderful sunsets that we have up here.

We do look forward to welcoming you back for another stay sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Second visit to Ardtorna this year. Karen and Sean must have the best Bed and Breakfast establishment in Scotland.
First class in every way.
If you have never been you don't know what you are missing.
Have stayed in many premises over the years and Ardtorna is better than all 5 star "hotels" we have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
John and Maureen,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on your second visit staying with us this year , and thank you for your kind words. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us.

It was so lovely to be able to welcome you both back for another stay, and to chat to you during your brief time with us.

We do look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcaldine
4.3 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.7 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
3.6 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
15.4 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
11.9 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardtorna B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardtorna B&B

Property: Ardtorna B&B
Address: Mill Farm, Barcaldine PA37 1SE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Barcaldine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barcaldine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ardtorna B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardtorna is a purpose built eco friendly property. It is Scotlands only 5 star gold bed and breakfast with the AA. In 2013 it won the best ' Guest House / B and B for Scotland with the AA, Visit Scotland and The Scottish Hotel Awards, making it the first time in history that all 3 organisations picked the same accommodation ! It picked the title again of " Best Guest House for Scotland ' in 2015 from The Scottish Hotel awards. All the deluxe bedrooms with vaulted ceilings are en-suite with either a spa bath and a high powered shower or a colour changing wet room. Each bedroom has spectacular loch views. Each room has full sized Molton Brown toiletries, TV, I pod docking station, DVD player,fresh flowers, Hand made chocolates, fluffy bath robes, gigantic bath towels, hospitality tray, etc are a few of the items for you to enjoy while staying at our amazing property. Scones straight from the oven are served with clotted cream and home made jam between 4 and 6 pm on the day of arrival. Each bedroom has a fridge with complimentary items such as nuts, sweets etc.During a stay at Ardtorna guests can help themselves to complimentary Malt Whisky and Home Made Whisky Cream Liqueur. Spa and golf passes are complimentary for any 3 night stays ( This must be arranged at the time of booking , and is subject to availability ). Please contact us directly by booking on our own web site or by e mail - this is always the cheapest option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Ardtorna B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardtorna Hotel Barcaldine
Ardtorna Bed And Breakfast
Ardtorna B&B Barcaldine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing